English Corner meets Push-ups | 毽子 Jian Zi | How to fork your PlatesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #china7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170910_201236.jpg

Just like every week it's time for some cultural language exchange in the form of an English Corner in Changde's German Town.

Since university started again we switched the date of the English corner from Tuesday to Sunday and inspired by my 30-Day push up challenge today's theme was sports.

IMG_20170910_201321.jpg

As a little warm up and welcome activity we played some 毽子 (jian zi) with the shuttlecock I got gifted by my (not) all morning park sport club friends.

Inside and outside.

IMG_20170910_201500.jpg

Followed by some mutual push ups to reach my daily portion.

Pew!

IMG_20170910_202003.jpg

"What's your favorite sport?"

"Oh, I like football, the soccer one."

"Cool, I like Yoga!"

"Oh me too, and Tai Chi also!"

IMG_20170910_201900.jpg

After finishing doing and talking about sports we exchanged differences between the Chinese and German Education system in regard of today being teacher's day.

Main aspects included the different size of classes with Germany's being almost half the size.

20-25 in comparison to 35 with up to 50 students in China! Just imagine all the names to remember! Teachers are often also in We Chat groups with the students' parents!

Just imagine your teacher being friends with your mom on Facebook and telling her about your homework.

Sounds to me like Big Brother.

We then also talked about food and noticed that French people have very strange eating habits like snails and frogs and discussed the appropriate placement of forks and knifes when finishing a meal in Europe.

We came to the conclusion that in the end nobody will really care.


If you are in China and ever happen to visit Changde I highly recommend you to visit this cozy corner and inhale the magic of cultures exchanging themselves.


Edit: A new Steemian will soon join our ranks. A wonderful Chinese lady. Prepare yourself to welcome @lovelyrita soon!

You're still around? Dang, you're pretty awesome! Feel free to check out my previous adventures


JJ the Mollusca

The Shining of The Evergreen

Hitting the Ground 490 times in 7 Days

Say Hi to @foodflaneur

Older but golder


Wanna kiss some beautiful girls?! How I became a fuckboy at a Chinese KTV

❤ How the Milkyway and the Chinese Valentine's Day were given the gift of life! ❤

I almost DIED flying to China!

Hashgranny misses Granddaughter's Theater Performance - M4H

Thank you for being! (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

Sort:  

This post has received a 7.73 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @rootingrobert. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture competition. Good Luck

Thanks for initiating it!

That looked like fun, I love that education systems discussion :)

This post has received a 2.43 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @rootingrobert.

Pushing up ur push up game goooood

Aye. Every day a little better. Today my roomie said I need a bigger working shirt because it's getting too tight :D

Showing up them pecks😂

Keep doing the Push ups! Warrior, enoy the new semester

Hey hey! The new semester doesn't really affect me because I have no interactions with the university but I'm going to enjoy it nevertheless! :D I'll keep going.

It is really nice to hear about eachothers cultural habits, suddenly my home country can seem quite boring after exchanging these habits with cultures outside of benelux or europe.. haha..

Sounds like a very well rounded meeting, lots of different topics covered. Having that many students in elementary school would be really tough on the teacher, dont know how you'd be able to accomplish anything

Indeed, I guess chances are high for quantity to win over quality but maybe it's just a bigger mental challenge which makes teachers and students stronger in the end!

Looks like you're having a great time there! Nice cultural exchange.
Upvoted and following

Thanks my friend. Yeah, I quite enjoy my time here in China. It indeed is a cultural enrichment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43