The "Jimmy CheeseSteak" (like a Philly Cheesesteak... but better) - A BraaiBoy TV Recipe

in #cheesesteak6 years ago (edited)


The first time I heard of a "Philly Cheesesteak" was back in 2013 when we toured the US representing South Africa in several BBQ competitions. Essentially a Philly Cheesesteak is "just" thinly sliced steak (usually rib-eye), quickly browned with some onions, and then topped with cheese. Peppers and mushrooms are often added as well. Once the cheese has melted it's scooped up and shoved into a roll. Easy, Simple... but, OH SO GOOD!



A cheesy steaky piece of heaven

Originating (according to most people) in Philadelphia, in this episode of BraaiBoy TV, I bastardise the original recipe, aka make it better/more South African, by adding some Jimmy's Sauces (a South African top seller) to the sliced-up steak. Total blasphemy if you suggest any deviation from the original to some of my American friends 😃

I got the idea when a mate of mine, Cobus on facebook who did a "Jimmy Cheesesteak"... but he went totally blasphemous by replacing the steak with mince and adding bacon etc. My mates in the States (sorry couldn't resist that :P) are probably swearing at us mad South Africans right now... but I think that would actually taste epic 😃



Oh My Soul... THAT'S GOOD!

Anyway... please check out this take on a Philly Cheesesteak, and let me know what you think.

Please give the video an UpVote if you enjoyed it, and please remember to follow me on Steemit (https://steemit.com/@braaiboy) so that you don't miss the next episode of #BraaiBoyTV.

P.S. More printable recipes on my website : http://braaiboy.co.za/braai-recipes/


in case you had trouble viewing the @dtube version

All UpVotes, ReSteems and Comments are held in high (e)steem :P

Do you have any recipes or ideas that you would like to see me try out? Let me know in the comments below and if I use your idea there will be a reward in it for you. I don't know what that reward is just yet... but there will be a reward, and it will be cool ;-)

Connect with me on Social:

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@braaiboy
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BraaiBoy
Twitter: https://twitter.com/braaiboy
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/braaiboy/

Some recent posts that might also interest you:


BraaiBoy TeamSouthAfrica Footer.png
footer by @bearone for #TeamSouthAfrica


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yeah man! Jimmy cheese steak all the way! I think I'll do that next time instead of a gatsby :)

Do it! You won't be sorry.

The only reason I am here is because, Jimmy's Cheesesteak saved my ass in Age of Empires plenty of times :)

OK... you're going to have to elaborate on that one please?

It's a cheat code to get more food in the Age of Empires game. It's pretty much the only time I have heard of Jimmy's Cheesesteak, as we prob don't have it in the UK. :( looks scrumptious though.

No ways!!! I loved AoE... missed that cheat code though... and I thought we were being original:p

I do remember having soldiers with lazers though :-)

Cool video @braaiboy looks yummy!

Thanks for watching... unfortunately I don't have any recipes with beetroot in them... but I can look around :p

Aww thanks @braaiboy definitely looking foward to that 😊 Since we are an acquired taste it is rather difficult lol Goodluck 🙄😉

A super simple yet tasty beetroot warm side dish. Freshly boiled/steamed beetroot (salted), cube, crumble feta over and lightly drizzle with balsamic :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BraaiBoy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I'm starting to think my health will benefit from me NOT reading or watching your stuff...

hahaha... no man... who wants to be the best looking corpse anyway :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59