A Steemer needs our help! Let's support!

in #charity7 years ago (edited)

Image source

This afternoon, my husband opened a big bag of chips for us all to enjoy during our Saturday afternoon. With three children aged 4, 5 and 6, you can imagine the kinds of fighting going on in this house when they all have to share a bowl and do not get individual packets.  Before the chips reached the bowl, big brother and middle sister started fighting about who gets the honour of putting the chips into the bowl. Each of the two started pulling the packet in 2 opposite directions. It eventually tore and the chips lay all over the floor.  Both started pointing fingers at the other and even blamed little brother for being the one at fault (and he wasn't even nearby).  They had to clean up the floor and ended up without getting to eat any chips.

Image source

Angry at one another, they spent the next hour pulling faces at each other and telling all kinds of stories just to try and get the other one into trouble. I didn't give any attention to this as I knew they were just trying to get back at each other.

Later, I told them about homeless people who doesn't even have a home or any other nice things. I showed them a picture on my phone about children who doesn't have anything to eat, drink and certainly no luxury of chips and sweets and explained to them that they are very lucky to not be in a situation like those children and to be thankful and have respect for food, to be kind to one another, love one another and to share. 

Image source

This was just to teach them a lesson about being thankful.


This was what my post would have been about until I sat down at my computer now and one particular post caught my eye. 

It was a post by @discordiant trying to help an author who recently became not only jobless, but also homeless. My heart dropped. I remember reading a post yesterday that was shared by @steemwizards from @venuspcs about homelessness, but I though it was just ABOUT homelessness and I didn't realize that he was ACTUALLY homeless.

I upvoted and resteemed the post from @discordiant but with the little Steem Power I have, it would not have made a difference.  That is why I decided to combine my story with his in an effort to give my fair share as the upvote from me alone, couldn't do it.  I also know that I am only a minnow and that this post would probably not get much attention, but I am going to share all the SBD that I am able to make from this post, and donate it to @venuspcs.  

My husband @ghostgtr is going to do the same tonight and then I will come back to link his post in here too.

Edit: https://steemit.com/charity/@ghostgtr/let-s-support-venuspcs

The post by @discordiant: https://steemit.com/charity/@discordiant/help-a-friend-in-need

I truly hope that whatever donation we can scrape together between us, would be of use to @venuspcs to make his journey a little easier.

Image source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67015.44
ETH 3247.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64