Irma, one year later

in #change6 years ago

These days are marking the 1 year anniversary after hurricane Irma wiped out the whole island of Sint Martin. I am getting a lot of reminders these days of all what happened before during and after this storm, and I have to say: it did leave some marks on all of us. This blog is an important to me, it defined a lot of choices that I made after experiencing this storm.



Unfortunately I don’t know the source of this picture but it describes so well how our island was exactly in the middle of the eye of the storm. Yes that lower blue dot is the island Sint Martin, the top one is the island Anguilla. Irma hit our island as a category 5+ hurricane with windspeeds recorded of 200 MPH. Imagine a formula 1 racing car of windspeed hitting into everything. No wonder everything broke.





Screenshot_20180902-155759_Gallery.jpg


Knowing that this storm was coming we were well prepared but I had no idea that this storm would have this long lasting impact. As you can see my house was boarded up perfectly. All of this did not matter: my front door blew out as well as these boards, glass sliding doors and most of the furniture. This sounds dramatic but was nothing compared to what other people went through. Friends of mine hided in their bathroom with a matras covering them, because the roof had already been pulled off in no time. Other friends were hiding in their closet while their roof was gone. I myself was in a hotel in the basement which was also not super chill, as you can read here.


My colleagues had told be beforehand: 'the hurricane will be bad, but the time after will be worse’. Initially I laughed about that, thinking on what could be worse than experiencing a hurricane, but they were right. The aftermath was way worse.

Looting



It was for me the most being disappointed in humanity experience that I have ever had. After surviving the storm when I walked out the first thing that I saw was a father with a child of about 6 years old. He was carrying a flat screen television, and the child was carrying a bag of jewels, freshly stolen. Most likely they didn’t even have a house anymore, but they were perfectly capable of stealing stuff, going to nowhere.
I worked in the local hospital and spend a tremendous amount of hours fixing up looters who got injured while they were stealing stuff. But naturally I still had to fix them, because that is what we do. I slept in the operating room for weeks which wasn’t a punishment because there was water and electricity there, as one of the only places on the island. Supplies went down fast, and people seemed not good prepared at all.

One of the things that shocked me most was also my own behavior. Beforehand I said to everyone, ‘just be careful’, and as fast as after 3 or 4 days I heard myself saying ‘if they come for you or your stuff, just stab them, I don’t care if you kill them’. I found it shocking to see how even I myself went from civilized behavior to survival modus. It made me see a dark side of myself that I didn’t like at all. Maybe keeping watch throughout nights with a manchete in the hand and sleep deprivation does that to you.




Tourism down



Naturally on an island that is tourism dependent the whole economy collapsed. Initially it didn’t really matter because everybody was so busy with clearing the roads and fixing their houses than a whole new chain of work was automatically provided. Construction workers were much needed and they also drove up their own prices robbing everybody else who wasn’t having any income.

Cost of living went up, unemployment rate went up, salaries went down, criminality went up. I decided to leave.





Screenshot_20180902-164840_Facebook.jpg


Now all of this is now as I said a year ago but it has marked us. I find myself thinking back a lot this week about a year back. The Sunday before the hurricane we were sitting with about 15 friends on the beach having like a last drink together the days before the storm would come. From all of those 15 people only two are still on the island, everybody else left for different reasons after the storm. We all took different paths.

I really miss my old life on the island, but Irma had changed our lives there forever, and because of that we change. Thanks for nothing Irma!





Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Did you have the Steemit Airdrop of Gbyte already?Hit me up after downloading the wallet
and I will send you the starter fee

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karinxxl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I can't believe that it was a year ago already. Drastic situations change people drastically. I may not have gone through a +5 hurricane, but I am living in a civil war zone, and I can tell you from first-hand experience it definitely changes you. It seems that the worst of humanity crawls out of the cesspools of society. You do come across some courageous acts of bravery but they are overshadowed by the need to survive. Kudos to you for recognizing a part of you that you didn't like because it means that you can change. I also am aware of changes in my attitude and I work very hard not to let it come to the forfront.

If think honestly your civil war will bring up the same behavior in people as the aftermath of a hurricane. Survival beyond all.

And yes, I also experienced fantastic stuff and people stepping up, working together and helping each other but indeed it is overshadowed by the nastyness of what you also see.

Its not bad to have some reflection on ourselves to see what we really are doing and contributing

Reading about this feels really eye opening, the impacts that a disaster such as this have in the short term really seem quite savage but at the same time so understandable. The long term affects will surely be with you for a long time and will (hopefully) be a once in a lifetime experience. I’m glad you got out alive K, I’m sure many weren’t so lucky. I’d love to hear more about this one day.

Once in a lifetime indeed man, that was enough for me to experience once.

The thing is...I also understand savage behavior in that kind of way. You end up that way and really fast. Life preservation that is what it is all about. But that looting of luxury products, that got my blood boiling so much, that is totally different than searching for food and water

I can only imagine what it must’ve been like , I’m sure you’ve come out a stronger person for it and in the field you work in it’s probably some valuable experience.

:( I am really very sorry @karinxxl that you had to leave your home because of the Storm. I can't even imagine being in such a situation. Your post gave me chills while I was in the middle of it. Life is definitely not fair and takes such sharp turns without even asking us.

I am glad though that you moved on. Wish you lots of good luck and love from my side. <3 Cheers to the good times!

Thanks so much man.! Yeah it does make you realize what you have and what is important in life you know. Stuff is just stuff, its the people around you to share it with what is important, and to have a place where you feel safe.

Life isnt fair, and I must say I am fortunate enough to make choices on IF I would experience something like that again. Not everybody has those kinds of options.

Celebrate life man!

I can't imagine how it must be. Lucky for us these storms are rare in Holland. I can totally understand you are going into survival mode, it's not nature I guess but despite the hurricane others take their chance of robbing stuff... Great story..

Those storms are nothing like we ever experienced in Holland dude. Seeing concrete roofs getting ripped off and ending up hundreds of metres further away is totally crazy.

yeah others had totallly different agendas on what they wanted to do after this storm and it was crazy to see. Survival is natural but there was also so much ordinary robbing, and that disgusted me so much

The only way I can relate to your experience is that of time I served as a infantry commander. The devastation of any warzone, and the direct survival mode of "normal" everyday people is so familiar to the impact of this natural disaster.

For sure these experiences grow us and there is no undoing the insights we gain. However my hope is for the others, the mixed feelings I have for those who are left behind. Who are not able to relocate and face a intense life of struggle ahead.

Your post touched me too, has me thinking of all those faces. Wondering if they managed and were able to stay strong enough to find their way and happiness again. Phew. Deep feels.

Thanks for sharing this Karin, you know one thing you can always feel good about is that you helped fix people up and gave them hope to healing and at least a tomorrow.

Medics and care givers are true angels on the earth. Bless you.

Thx so much KS for these kind words. Infantery, that is also a whole other story. I read a book a while back from a scrub nurse (as what I also am) who was working in an active warzone and eding up with an PTSD on that. I think many of the experiences from warzone woud be extremely similar as to what we all went through.

Indeed I also think al lot about the people who are still there and if they are happy with the current situation. But the cool thing is what I also experienced, people have so much love for the island that they are working so hard to get everything back on track. They want to see SXm thrive again and that is super cool to see.

Human resilience is a wonderful characteristic of our kind eh.. now if only we would all get the message about taking care of our home. To appreciate and love our environment for the good of the whole. To help and share with each other, yes you're right a lot of good comes from the struggles and for that I am ever thankful in my life.. for my life even more so.

Thanks again for my wonderful gift from you this week, I'm still rolling around in joy with all the love, opportunity and excitement there. Will be posting intro soon as I come down lol 😂

🤖 Congratulations! You've been featured in our new @SMG co-curators digest. Thanks for being one of our cherished authors. See how much we love and appreciate you here: https://steemit.com/walkwithme/@smg/smg-digest-or-poetry-book-review-nm-newsletter-military-service-and-irma-1-year-later

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00