You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is, In Your Opinion, A Worthy Post On Steemit? A Post That "Deserves" Its Payout... | Are Ulogs worth it?

I guess I have some mixed emotions about this, which means it's a thought provoking post.

Quality, obviously, is subjective. One man's trash is another man's treasure. And quality does not equate to rewards. Visibility and what people want to read about do have more to say about rewards. You can throw your circle of friends into the mix, too, because unfortunately that happens.

That said, it seems to me that there's still a minimum standard that must be meant for posts. I have no idea what curie or ocd standards are. I know I've been hit by them a combined five times now, and I still find it to be rather random. That's not to complain, that's just an outside observation.

Again, these minimum standards can be subject to interpretation, too, and what I'm getting from your post here is that quality is secondary to need or necessity, or at the very least, quality is not the only factor if need is one.

If I've read this wrong, please correct me.

I don't understand why some people need to be so judgmental. You see it everywhere on this platform, which shouldn't be so surprising because it exists in all places. These statements like, why do they let in such and such because they're all this, this and that are always erroneous statements to begin with. Not everyone is any one thing. It's impossible. A majority, a minority, too many perhaps, but it's impossible for everyone to be whatever it is. Once that statement is made, for me, credibility is lost, and I pretty much stop reading or listening after that.

Maybe there are a higher percentage of bad actor accounts from a certain segment of the population. Could be. I don't have any evidence for or against. In my own less than scientific observation, there does seem to be a greater tendency for those with poor English writing abilities to appear to be spamming or doing other things, but that doesn't make it true, and since I've never looked at where people are from or performed any study on that, I have no idea if it's concentrated in one or two places or widespread.

However, with anonymity being king here on Steemit, anyone from anywhere could claim to be from Nigeria, or the Philippines or any place else, and no one would really know. If these bad actors were truly smart, they wouldn't divulge where they were from anyway.

So, I just left another post sized comment, but there was a lot for me to cover here. As always. Thanks for another thought provoking post. :)

Sort:  

The people from The Philippines and Nigeria are not the ones hiding their identity on this platform. You are describing most of the Top 500 Steemers who do hide behind aliases. The poor people from the 3rd world are the ones who are posting their honest lives.

I wish I had never read this post today. Ulogs give me hope for steemit. Whales give me fear as they have:

  • most of the money
  • time on their hands to bicker continually
  • unknown priorities
  • no desire for any of the rest of us to be here.

They just want the smt's so they can reap the reward and not have to talk to anyone "beneath" them.

I will just go upvote some more ulogs, and then maybe I will feel better.

I have to agree that there's plenty of anonymity to go around here, and a lot of it is toward the top of the SP mountain.

I'd say if the Ulogs give you hope, then stick with them.

I've found all of the people I've ran across so far on Steemit who are from Nigeria the Philippines or points in between to be quite nice to interact with, yet just like everyone else, no one person is the same as any other. That's why a prejudicial comment like, "All "fill in the blank" people are all "fill in the blank" is just false and should be treated as such.

I'm doing my best to ignore whales, just like they seem to ignore me. For the most part, I think it's working out. Probably doesn't help much but I think the only thing the rest of us can do is to continue to bring to light what's going on, look for ways to affect change, but find as much satisfaction out of what we personally have and what we can personally do, and live our lives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 60616.50
ETH 2911.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46