If I'll Get 1000 STEEM Tomorrow, What Would I Do With It?

in #challenge30days6 years ago (edited)

A 1000 Steem is allot of Steem.

....I have this crazy dream of quitting my job and living in a van.  Seems strange I know, but there is allot you can do in a van.

First of all you can access the internet with your laptop and do posts on Steemit hehe..Imagine all the classic Steemit posts you could do, traveling around, living a full life and blogging about your experiences.

So crazy as it is, I'm exploring this dream and asking myself - why is it not possible? 

...of course the biggest issue is money or some other means of living.

I mean, I want to live in a van to travel and this costs. To take a year or two and just travel around my backyard (Australia) and let go of the stress for a while and have a break after 22 years of full-time working for someone else....do something for me! seems selfish...maybe?

I did some searches on the internet, asked some people and really thought about it and I've found 3 passive incomes which would work nicely to help me realise my dream of living in a van - the only thing I would need is wireless internet.

So I recently hired a van to learn more and drove it down to the riverlands

I decided If I get a van I would leave the bed permanently made up. This one converts into a lounge, it's a bit of a hassle each day and you end up out exploring or sitting in a chair outside anyways :)

Anyways, back to the 1000 Steem...

I'm currently building  all 3 of my passive income stream methods until they make me enough return for this to work and so I may live in my van. I will of course need to draw down on each as well as living on the interest/profit each makes, until such time my super kicks in and then I can officially retire.

To help make ends meet,  I'll just pickup casual work from place to place and travel all around Australia. The key is to make sure my combined passive income streams can deliver me a minimal base wage per month for supplies, petrol etc. I have a figure in mind I need and I need some level of consistency from my Streams and hence why Steem Dollars will be important, but likely one of the smaller streams.

SBD is great cause I can convert them to fiat once a month for a bonus each month and add it to my other two streams....hehe well in theory anyways.

For this to be effective I need several more 1000 Steem, but an extra 1000 would power boost this so much I might think this doesn't need to be just a dream, it maybe possible...it seems so far right now!

Still, what exactly would I really do If I woke up tomorrow and found a 1000 extra Steem in my wallet.

  1. I would be stunned, like speechless..
  2. I would probably send a message back to the person and say, "errr you have accidentally transferred me Steem, I'm happy to give it back to you as mistakes happen" 
  3. I would then wait a few days to make sure it wasn't a dream, cause shit like that doesn't happen to me :)
  4. If I had a reply or there was a comment with the transfer that said something like "I'm giving you 1000 Steem!"...I would be stoked. 
  5. I would powerup 100% of it. I would then delegate some of it out to a responsible group and the rest I would keep for upvoting etc until I made enough Steem to really bring in the Steam dollars for when the time is right 
  6. I would then convert my Steem Dollars into cash to contribute to my other major passive income streams and have a great something extra in the pay check each month. 
  7. I'd then blog on Steemit how I quit my job and now live in a van and use Steem Dollars as a way to survive and thrive.



Sort:  

Upvoted you because this sounds like a really desirable dream.

How much did the van hire cost per day?

Not a cheap experiment, It was a bit over $100 a day with extras...but I needed to be sure!

Do it. I have a caravan that it sometimes seems like I live in. I have hauled hay, goats,chickens and lumber in it. I've camped in it. It has served me well.

Nothing like living in a van down by the river.

All joking aside it seems like a great dream to have. If you want to do it make it happen.

Good luck,I hope you will make your dream true! Can you tell more about what are your ways to earn passive income online? I love the way you look at life-you love nature,want to be free....I share the same love,I would love to live somewhere in the nature,by the river or in forest and to earn money online

There are many different ways, my two work for me and are manageable by having internet access - 1 is low interest, low risk, low effort. The other is medium interest, medium risk, much effort and the third is Steemit, all fun!!.

You can search the internet for passive income streams, it's a process you need to work out for yourself and your situation...has taken me months; think about your situation, what do you own in life, what do you have going for you and apply your mind. Then test it on a Micro level, then gradually increase your investment to see if it stands up as you think it would. It takes time and I suspect it will be a couple of years yet before I can confidently and successfully implement.

I wish I knew an easier way..

Sounds like a good plan, I wish you luck on your journey, living in a van definitely is a lot better because you're more connected with the nature, but solitude can be addictive :D Do you bro!

Thanks mate - these days wit internet and mobiles, people are just a click away.
Also plenty of people to visit and places to park :)

Yeah definitely :)

Sounds aweomse man! Travelling in a Van! You'd be surprised just how possiblenit can be. I'd suggest reading "the four hour workweek" by Tim Ferriss and "Vegabonding" by Rolf Potts. Both amazing and inspiring reads if you want to try to live a lifestyle like that, it's easier than you think.

Sweet! -Thank you, I will check those reads out

The van sounds like a lot of fun. When I was in high school, my biggest dream was to get a van to travel in and live in. Now, I think it would be too expensive and I'm no longer very interested in traveling in my country.

Have you given much thought to simply moving to a cheaper country? Especially now, when finances are tight. You're a short flight away from some of the best cheap countries in the world.

I'm sure a van would save you a lot by eliminating your rent, but food, gas, and activities are still pretty expensive in Austrailia, aren't they?

I'm trying to work out my living situation to where I can leave my country for a few months every year and use that time to drastically reduce my expenses (as well as get photos and stories to post here for income).

Yep, this is a good point. Allot of people do buy places in neighbouring countries etc. I guess I have two goals though:

  1. Fully explore my own backyard
  2. Be free...have a mobile house for awhile!

Once I've explored 1, 2 years living in neighboring country or even retiring in a country town in Australia are both cheap options and part of the plan :)

Sounds like a well thought-out plan, and one heck of a dream. Good luck with it!

Cheers - still a bit to go in the planning, but like anything it needs money, so if i get the funding sorted, the rest is a good simple life :)

I really wish that your dream comes true really soon brother :))

Me to bro! it's just not happening fast enough, but like everyone else I have to do my time - work a bit longer for someone else to get what I want.

Cheers

I like it. Drive around Australia in a van, earning and learning and living as you go. I'd do that exact same thing (hoping for something a little larger than a van, though), if my wife would come with me. I'd end up going by myself and that might be fun for a while, but then home I would go.

Anyway, sounds like you're pretty serious about this, so I hope it all works out for you.

As for what you would do with the STEEM, that all sounds good to me, too. :)

I could go larger, but the van has benefits...like you can still park in a regular spot in towns. One variation I am looking at is a troop carrier with pop top - this also opens up remote places :)

Thanks for your comment/support :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69122.82
ETH 3737.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68