You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nutrition series: How sugar is damaging your health (part 1) - DAY 3 ( 30 days writing challenge)

in #challenge30days7 years ago

Well done on your experiment . I went off sugar for 10 full weeks last year. Not just sugar, but everything sweet. No fruit, no fake sugar; nothing sweet at all. I kept to less than 5grams per 100grams sugar in all food sources, which is about what whole milk has. So yes, some small amounts of sugar virtually impossible to avoid, but nothing that I'd consider sweet.
I hoped for a clearer head, better focus, less AD issues, weight loss, energy, vitality, perfect skin etc.... I expected withdrawals and extreme cravings. But I got none of it! It was virtually no effect more than the basic cravings I always have for crap food.
(I did probably make up for the calories in satisfying myself with lovely fats like cheeses and such.)
However, even though I'll always be craving sugar, I did come away with one thing, and it's more powerful than everything I hoped for. I came away with realizing that I do have control, and that I'm not a total slave to sugar. I still want sugar in my coffee for example, but I really am able to enjoy it without.
Take away my cream though? Not a chance!

Sort:  

I didn't do an experiment myself because I try to avoid sugar for a couple of years now, these series focuses more on explaining why sugar is bad. And when I say sugar I mean table sugar or sucrose. Not all sugars are bad. If you want to learn more read the previous articles carefully.
Good job on quitting sugar. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72