How Fear of Heights helped me deal with Risk-Taking (#challenge30days DAY 5)

in #challenge30days6 years ago (edited)

For tens of years I was pretty sure I’m afraid of heights. No matter if it’s one meter above the ground or much more – I start to feel dizzy and feel like losing balance. I don’t prefer those words that end with “–phobia” but guessed it’s something like that. Sometimes it’s even hard to stand on a balcony.

I feel the same way now. Except I don’t think it’s kind of a phobia, rather just, hm, let’s say a vestibular issue.

I’m flying high (keep reading ↧)

para1.jpg

It was a gloomy autumn day when I found an offer for paraglider flights on the web. I was a bit sad and it looked like fun. I told all my colleagues I assume to do that crazy thing. But I never took the step and a few days later the idea was forgotten. Well, lucky me - my Birthday is in the autumn. And the birthday gift from the crew was… Yes! A paraglider flight voucher.

I procrastinated, tried to forget until that voucher expires… It didn’t work, of course.

So I booked that flight.

That morning was foggy but my memories are so clear. I was afraid. Not because of the flight. I was afraid that I’m gonna be afraid when the moment comes. Basically, I was afraid of the potential fear.

But when we took off the ground there was actually NO FEAR. It’s funny to think you’re acrophobic and to discover, that flying over the clouds equipped with nothing but a helmet (and… gloves) can be even boring (after the first 10 minutes)!

Now I was really dizzy. There were lots of questions without answers. Questions I never asked myself. Like “How many of my fears are real?” or “How many of my prejudices are a lie?” Not even the big ones, the small, everyday ones?

That’s how I found the beauty of taking risks. By questioning my fears.

Every time I have to make a decision (like those you feel right but the logical part of you argues), I remember that feeling and state of mind. It helps me like a kick in the ass:

”If you can do paragliding then you can do this too.”
Inner Voice

If I tend to lose connection to the feeling, I trigger it again. Once in a year, I repeat the step. Since now I’ve bungee jumped and I rode ATV (way harder than it looks, hah).

How are you dealing with the fear of risk-taking? Tell me in a comment, I embrace any suggestions! :)

Note: What I did is called powered paragliding, also known as paramotoring – according to Wikipedia.

This post is part of the writing #challenge30days – an initiative of @dragosroua (more HERE).

This week my topic is “Risk” and this post feels like 50, not like 5th. : ) I’ll appreciate high even a good word!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56