Running Adventures Ep 19 - The race is getting closer - DAY 19 ( 30 days writing challenge)

in #challenge30days7 years ago (edited)

This is my 19th post in the 30 days writing challenge - If you want to know more about this challenge you can read about it here.

run backgroundmnnn.jpg

Today's run was more of a leg stretcher because tomorrow I'll be attending the last official training run before the race that I'm doing in a week's time. My schedule didn't allow me to attend the two previous training runs, but I'm glad I can make it to this one at least.

The race is set for the 27th of January and it's going to be a trail running event in the forest and hills near the town I live in: Cluj-Napoca. There will be at least 500 runners split between two events: a 8 km and a 15 km race.

33333.png

I'm going to take part in the 15 km race and I'm pretty excited that it is getting close because I've been training for it since the middle of autumn. The course itself will include a lot of forest trails, which I massively enjoy and a hard core uphill section that will be in the beginning part of the race fortunately (as you can see in the elevation profile) . They changed the race course since last time I wrote about it, almost two months ago, the hard core climb was at the end of the course in the previous version of the race and I was dreading running uphill in the last part of the race when I'm pretty tired. Now at least I don't have to worry about it.

1111111111.png
22222222.png

Because tomorrow I'm gonna give it all in the training session, I chose my usual 10 km route for today, for a more laid back run. I think I was pretty consistent even though I'm not where I would like to be fitness-wise. That being said, at least I wasn't slow compared to my usual times on this route.

IMG_20180119_140755.jpg

The ice kind of slowed me down especially on the descent, but I won't use that as an excuse, even though it is tempting :D.

IMG_20180119_144153.jpg

As a bonus, to make things even more slippery, it rained in the second half of my run. Good thing my windstopper, which I had as the outer layer, is somewhat water repellent.

I'll leave the link to the race's official website if anyone is interested:
Faget Winter Tour

Take care.

My name is Adrian a.k.a "The nearsighted traveler". I'm a running enthusiast who loves to spend time enjoying nature. I write mostly about running, the places I explore and the interesting stuff I learn here on steemit.
If you are new to this platform you might want to check out these posts:

5 Easy Rules for Navigating The Steem Ecosystem
The 6th Easy Rule for Navigating the Steem Ecosystem

And if you want a good laugh you can visit my other account @cmmemes where I fail at being funny but persevere anyway :)

Sort:  

Te invito a mi blog

Try to comment something pertinent and in the language of the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77