A leap of faith towards a more promising future - DAY 23 ( 30 days writing challenge)

in #challenge30days7 years ago (edited)

This is my 23th post in the 30 days writing challenge - If you want to know more about this challenge you can read about it here.
leap-faith.jpg
source

Today I made the decision to stray from the beaten path and do something that I wouldn't have even considered doing only 6 months ago. I took the first step in getting more free time to invest in the steem ecosystem and in the crypto world in general. That means changing the field in which I work; now I admit it doesn't sound very life changing, but is still something huge for me. I've spent most of my adult life working towards the point where I am now, only to find that stress gets to me more and more and I feel less and less motivated each day that goes by.

If I continue down this path of "career is the priority" I know that I would end up very unhappy and dissatisfied with my life. It's ironic how you grow up being told that if you work hard you will get to college and get a good job and then have a nice life.

I found out it doesn't work like that; working hard is a constant even though the rewards, financial and emotional are anything but constant, they are always in the hands of other people if you work a "normal" job. I hate having my fate in the hands of others, there are very few people on this planet to which I would give such trust.

So hard work and sacrifice is guaranteed but the rewards are not? Well.... I told myself that I didn't sign up for this. And until I found crypto and steem in particular I felt kind of lost, being forced to carry on even though I didn't really want to.

But now I have very clear objectives: to explore the world and do all those things that I didn't have enough time before, only this time they will be my "job" through blogging about them. Even as I write this, it sounds kind of crazy.

But I don't want lay in bed when I'm 70 and think every night about "what if". The opportunity is now, and I'm going to go after it with both hands. Today I took the first step. More are about to come.

My name is Adrian a.k.a "The nearsighted traveler". I'm a running enthusiast who loves to spend time enjoying nature. I write mostly about running, the places I explore and the interesting stuff I learn here on steemit.
If you are new to this platform you might want to check out these posts:

5 Easy Rules for Navigating The Steem Ecosystem
The 6th Easy Rule for Navigating the Steem Ecosystem

And if you want a good laugh you can visit my other account @cmmemes where I fail at being funny but persevere anyway :)

Sort:  

I am happy with your idea, keep going blogging on steemit.

Buna Adrian,
Am nominalizat-o pe ''ananuaremere'' in aceasta competitie.
https://steemit.com/stsl/@stsl/win-sbd-and-upvotes-for-60-days-stsl-share-the-steem-love-competition-no-14-is-now-on-get-your-nomination-in-here
Daca esti de acord, rog un vot pentru propunere.
Multumesc frumos si scuze daca par prea insistent!

Ana e fata faina, cum sa nu o sustin :)

I feel you :)

I started to understand bitcoin and blockchain in august last year and saw the fantastic potential. I got mt first bitcoin in October, immediately I found out about steemit and invested in some steem as well. And now, at the beginning of January I quit my job and went full on crypto. I hope it works out :)

The best of luck!

Wow, I'm not ready to go all in just yet but you are way braver than I am :)
Looking forward to your adventures in crypto then, and wish you all the best.

Looking forward for more! congrats on your decision!

The most successful men work smart, not hard
― Bangambiki Habyarimana, The Great Pearl of Wisdom

You can congratulate me when I'm climbing a remote mountain somewhere, living of blogging on steemit :)
Until then I may just be a dumb idealist, we shall see :P

Baby steps! If you can dream it, you can achieve it!

Kind of change that feels like jumping without a parachute. Still, I've heard if you are focused enough on the new thing you can find a parachute, or even better, a new plane, in your flight. Good luck!

I always have a parachute on me, and back-up parachute, and a back-up to the back-up... you see were I'm going with this :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59926.69
ETH 2622.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38