Trevor’s first entry into Challenge 30steemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge308 years ago

Challenge 30 is a 30 day writing challenge issued by @dragosroua to write and post every day in January.
raining in Welington
image source

Check out the rules here.

I’ve also accepted another challenge due to @dragosroua – running a marathon. It’s all his fault and due to his book, Running for my life.

So today, January 1st, I had planned to be my first training run. And in true Trevor style, I planned on running a stupid distance (21 kms) to see just how badly that would feel.

I will report however that today I have run zero kms. This is because we have gale force winds and rain for New Year’s day in Wellington. So not really conducive to going out running.

If I were a younger man, and I did used to be a younger man, I would say – to hell with the weather, I’m going to do it anyway! As I have done so many times before.

But I am not a younger man any more, so that level of stupidity at least, has been fixed.

So we’ll see what the weather is like tomorrow, and maybe then I’ll be able to get my running shoes on and do some serious damage to my legs.

I’ll update you tomorrow with my progress, or lack thereof, if the weather continues to forget that it is supposed to be the middle of summer.

What challenges have you taken up this year?

How are you going to make your life better?


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Steem PowerCurationReputationPostsPowering up

Get your own badges from: https://steemit.com/@elyaque

Sort:  

Huh, call yourself a man? @sift666 & I did a 4kmish walk along the bike path to Rongotai College, then down to Lyall Bay, at about 6.30pm. Though I did wear my winter puffer jacket and my winter mohair and possum beanie.

Seriously though, are you sure Dragos says to run 21km on your first day? I suspect not. You could just run to our house, say hello and totter (or bus) back...

hehe. Dragos didn't recommend running 21 ks on my first day, but he did say it would be a good test of my recovery.
And it's not like I'm starting from blank. I have some form already, and I typically walk for some quite long distances. indeed I've walked the course I intend to run. So it should just be a test of - can I mentally push myself to run the distance?

As for going out now - thanks for the offer, but i think I'll be back in my bed pretty soon. My wife and I ended up at a friends house playing cards until the wee hours of the morning, so we are both pretty weary today (another good reason for not running today).
So we'll see what tomorrow brings......

Happy New Year to you and @sift666, and your cat too, obviously ;-)

Oh I didn't mean to run here now, jeepers, I'm not that mean! I meant tomorrow. If you've already walked the distance, maybe it's not as outrageous as it originally sounded!

But the invitation for you and skymaiden to come over for a bit of Xmas cake, if you've got any spare time tomorrow or Tuesday still stands.

I've been wondering this, if I reply to someone who is replying to someone else, do you both get the notification, or just the person I replied to? I guess I'll find out! @kiwideb and I are pals, I'm jealous you are in a position to run to her house and totter home haha! New Zealand is on my list of places I absolutely must visit in this lifetime. I will not be satisfied until I have ducked into a hobbit hole.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.27 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congrats for your first post of the challenge. As for not running, double congrats. First because you didn't run on nasty weather, second, because you didn't run 21km.

Please don't run 21km as your first run. Please, please, please.

If I were you, I would start with walks, let's say 5km walking each day, for a week.

Then I will start to throw in some running mileage. Like 1km walk, then run 4km, then walk again 1km.

Motivation is very good, but it's discipline that will get you there. I will keep an eye on you and I hope you will post your running logs here.

Also, thanks for the dose of kiwi humor, I really miss this :)

Hey @dragosroua, thanks for that.

I didn't think I'd get the full 21 km done, even on a good day. But it gave me something big (too big) to target.

Running 5km is no problem for me. I've already competed in one race (and our team came second to last!) Check out this insanity.

I'll be paying close attention to my feet and legs and trying to avoid injury. But I do tend to set big challenges. I dream big - always. :-)