Rider on the storm - micro-fiction

in #challenge6 years ago

Beach rider
Source: Pixabay image by Simon

Rider on the Storm


The probate decision came. Mother’s beach house would go to Aunt Beatrice, Mother’s tormentor.

Dire visions came to mind — murderous ones — dear old Auntie tumbling off cliffs, poisoned, drowned.

I took Stormy out on the beach, galloped for miles, chased seagulls. Then I rode on, turning away from my memories.



This is my micro-fiction story for this week's 50-Word Challenge. The prompt word is "chase."

I love how a story comes together sometimes. This one was a weirdly organic process that went something like this:

  • I thought about the word "chase." I imagined someone watching clouds chasing one another across the sky.
  • Then I thought of storm clouds, and storms as a metaphor for the trials and challenges of our lives.
  • I remembered the old song by The Doors, Riders on the Storm. I knew I was closing in on something that would inspire my story, but it hadn't come into focus yet.
  • Finally, I went to Pixabay and looked for images of horseback riders. When I came upon the image above, the story came to me. I thought of a young woman riding off anger and sadness. I thought of the drama behind her pain — her mother passing on without leaving a will, perhaps from the stress of a lifetime of being tormented by her own sister. And the result of that lack of a will means the beach house she loves will go to the aunt.
I hope you enjoyed the story. Thanks so much for reading!

Animated signature


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/09/22/rider-on-the-storm-micro-fiction/

Sort:  

A very powerful story, @jayna. Sometimes we feel so powerless that the only ideas we have are the "murderous" ones. Luckily the healing forces of nature (wind, beach, horse) stop us from going that way.
Reading your lines made me thankful that in Romania the kids are favored when it comes of inheritance. Even if a person express his/her wish via a will, it might not be considered. Children will always inherit the parents.

Thank you for your comment, @roxy-cat. Inheritance does cause a lot of issues here. It can tear even happy families apart!

This is so sad. Our laws do protect kids from being "robbed" by their relatives but cannot do much if the siblings decide to fight between them over inheritance.

Congratulations @jayna! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I really like your story. Feels whole and balanced with an inspiring ending.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks very much, @goastrighter!

Love the picture and feelings you got across in this one @jayna

Ah, what a sad outcome, and all too realistic...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks for coming by, @creatr! I always appreciate your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29