In stark contrast

in #challenge6 years ago

Sunset, storm and boat

(Source: Pixabay image by jplenio)

In stark contrast: A 50-word short story


The sea fell placid during a break in the storm and an unnatural silence settled between them. “A pregnant pause,” her father had called it -- that moment when something must be said but nothing is said. Here, in the lovely golden dusk, the ugly reality blossomed that they must part.

This is a 50-word short story for the #fiftywords challenge. The prompt for this challenge is "break."

Thank you for reading!

Animated signature


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/07/12/in-stark-contrast/

Sort:  

Great job, @jayna. You packed a full story into 50 words, even with the "pregnant pause," which allowed the reader's imagination to create their own ending and a sequel.

Thank you, @pyemoney! I appreciate the thoughtful comment!

Lovely little story @jayna... so much packed in there, that I feel as though I've read 200 words, not just 50.. I'm not sure I've read a better one this week, so I'd like to nominate you for a mention in your own round up.

Oh aren’t you the dearest! Ha ha, no, however, I will not highlight my own story. I’m just here to support and inspire. 😊

And support and inspire you do! Ok then, i'll show my appreciation with a resteem instead :o)

Thank you very much, @ablaze!

Well done! So much raw emotion and imagery in 50 words. I really enjoyed it. I imagined them sitting in a smaller boat than they should have been in for the stormy conditions.

Yes, I think so too! Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts, @papacrusher.

I love the picture on your post and that moment of words held back to devastating consequences in your story.

Thank you for your kind words, @gmatthe2!

Get More Upvote - FREE

Steem(DOT)Link/Premium

Get 0.1 Steem free on signup !

Great post. It doesn't seem like you are getting the likes it deserves though. Have you checked out the upvote communities? You should check out steemengine. or steemfollower.com.

Thanks @cryptoindex. I enjoy connecting with people in several communities. My main problem is one of extreme time limitations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76