Steemit Challenge #behindthecurtain: Sharing Our Personal Steemit Work Spaces

in #challenge6 years ago


I was thinking recently about how we use steemit and what we are expecting from it. I read an article by @yallapapi about how lots of people are engaging with steemit only for monetary gains, and this in turn is effecting how welcoming the platform is for non-creators.

I want to be a creator, and I like the idea of being able to make money through blogging or writing, but that's not really why I like steemit. I really appreciate the full open content, the opportunities for worldwide economic interaction, and the block-chain system is revolutionary in my books.


Fellow user @freedomtowrite is hosting a steemit challenge called #behindthecurtain.

I was nominated by fellow steemitblogger @borrowedearth to share my space behind the steemit curtain.

Since there have been so many signs today for me to take this step, I am going to change up how I interact with our beloved Steemit

(and hopefully y'all won't burn me for it)


So far I have tried to only post when it is heavy and meaningful and deep and that's really not all my life is. I am hoping to share a little bit more of my regular everyday fallible self with you all in shorter posts-- semi-similar to how I utilized instagram for a long time.

So here you go: this is my favorite spot to write up steemit posts.

0304181603f.jpg

Right beside the fire to keep this cold coyote toasty warm. Lounging (my specialty) in a supreme stripey chair we scored from goodwill for five bucks. This spot has a nice view out the dome, as well as windows across from me allowing a nice view of the mossy woods outside.

Everest%2F13 (3).jpg

This challenge timing was basically meant to be and totally woke me up to the idea that if I am trying to engage my true self with this community, I can't be constantly editing to make things so streamlined.

I want to feel welcome to share shorter moments of the day with y'all. Simple photographs with little bits of inspiration or momentary whispers of whim.

This is my was today's inspiration station, in the eastern hemisphere of the yurt.



0304181547.jpg

Today it included a plant journal from my mama, whose natural magic has always been inspiring. I tore out a page from my own doodle book to keep around more visibly as a reminder to be sweet. Frida holds my poetry and songs yet to be sung. Buena Vista Social Club, tarot and well-tended buds helped me kick-start my imaginative creative self this morning.

So far today I've drawn, danced, cooked + cleaned, tended the fire AND got super sweaty on the mat after a hiatus of practice.

giphy.gif

Now that I have shared a bit more about my world here, I will flex my social skills in nominating five users as requested by the challenge rules. Don't feel anxiety or pressure to participate if you don't have the time or desire,my dear nominees, y'all are just who I thought might share space well!

@spellmaker
@goldendawne
@jaynie
@kimmiecfields
@chrismccron

If you would like to join this challenge, here are the rules:

--Take a picture of yourself working on Steemit, or what you see while you work on Steemit.

--Tag 5 Steemians in your post.

--Use the #behindthecurtain

EASY.


After I attempt to be social up at the house with a group dinner, for the rest of my evening I plan on curling up with some note-taking worthy books by the fire. I think Doogan has the same idea.

Everest%2F13 (4).jpg


Homesteaders Online

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Sort:  

Your post was fantastic! Thank you for participating!

It does seem like it came at a great time to usher in the real, simple, but still thought provoking you! You remind me a lot of my husband,
@freedompoint, yoga and all! He never wanted to put himself into a box, so I really tried to encourage him to make small or long posts and vlogs that show all of his colors, and this is the best platform for that!

I loved your gif at the end, and your beautiful home!

I tend to dabble in a lot of things and I want to try and focus my energy more, so I'm trying to just direct my dabbling energy into creative dabbling on steemit. Hopefully it all eventually rolls together into a nice neat presentable little coyote pack.

Thanks for the great challenge idea @freedomtowrite, looking forward to following you and your fella's posts!

Haha that sounds great! I'm excited to see all your posts!

I will have to do this too! Thank you for tagging and nominating me!

And thanks @freedomtowrite for starting this!

I LOVE your area and your yurt!!! SO cozy

I'm excited to see your #behindthecurtain challenge @goldendawne!

I am really loving that yurt! I have considered one several times but when it comes down to it I am a do it myself-er, not a buy-er, and I have not yet figured out the DIY yurt building!

Thank you for participating...I'm looking forward to getting to know more of the whole you!

Hugs!

I too am a DIY-er over a buy-er. This yurt was purchased by a man who worked hard to make money his whole life and wanted to spend more time close to nature in his resting years. The day the yurt was being delivered he was hospitalized with a left-hemisphere brain tumor. My father was able to take care of him while he lived in the yurt for some time, but the landscape around him wasn't easy for his mobility nd he has since moved into the house.

My love and I were offered the opportunity to live in the yurt and make it a livable space. We feel very blessed to have this opportunity and we hope to share it's serenity with others in the future.

I have seen some folks build yurts with great success. I think that the construction of the lattices and roof rays is simple enough to grasp. The whole thing is just simple weight distribution and tension My only concern would be sourcing or creating a quality covering for the structure.

What a beautiful, peaceful home you have!!! This is such a beautiful space! I am so happy to see this :) I love all of it. The plant journal, the rainbow keyboard, the variety of colors and textures, all blended together into such a fantastic cohesive space.

This is a great challenge as well, a good way to show another sides of ourselves. I like reading the small things, the little peeks into people's lives. Thank you for sharing. I may take on this challenge as well!

I really like the idea of making steemit really community engaged and i think sharing personal sides of our world can really spring that forward for us. 😊
I think it will also be fun to look back on later down the blockchain to see how my workspace has changed 😉

your hair! that keyboard! the view! 💚💚💚

thank you for sharing your real life space here in the virtual world. i enjoy your mega-deep posts & am sure we will all love the fun glimpses still to be shared.

cheers for branching out! it is almost spring, after all. time for GROWTH.

Thanks so much! Isn't it a lovely spot? I wish I could clear it out in summertime and make it a writing workshop or little meditative retreat. Such a sweet structure to be in.

I think that if more folks start utilizing this as a main source for networking as well as creation we can have a real pie.

beltane is coming, the leaves are unfurling and the daffodils are coming up!

Sounds like you need one more yurt!! Haha
Our next building projects are wedding-centric with uses after...my studio to be building will first be a like a park pavilion ... Just the roof!!

I love your space! Your yurt is amazing! 💜

Thank you, we are very blessed to have the opportunity to call this hOMe.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by coyoteom from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Such a beautiful and amazing idea! Thank you for sharing with all of us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58