Earn free STEEM by joining the new Mathematics X Programming Competition!

in #chainbb-general7 years ago (edited)

Introducing the brand new


Mathematics X Programming Competition!


Photo source: https://www.cmu.edu


Previously I have held some mathematics challenges and I received quite a lot of positive feedback. Among these feedback there is one very special and constructive idea from my dear friend @adnanrahic - he suggested me to add the element of programming into my mathematics challenges!

Indeed mathematics is closely related to programming, and quite a lot of mathematics questions can be solved by programming. Therefore, in the upcoming challenges, we would not specify whether the problem is best solved mathematically or programmatically. We will leave it for you to decide! The ultimate goal is to get the answer as quick as possible!


Rules

  • The next competition will begin 24 hours later (that is GMT 14:00 15/6/2017, please convert it to your own timezone :) ) By that time, a new post containing the question will be published.
  • In order to avoid cheating, you are required to submit your answer through a provided link to Google Form. Only the final numerical answer together with your user name has to be submitted.
  • Each participant can only submit once. In case of duplicated submission, the latest answer will be considered.
  • Participants who typed the answer in the comment section would be disqualified.
  • You have to upvote this post AND the question post in order to be eligible for the competition.

Prizes

  • The final SBD payout of this post would be added to the prize pool. The prize pool contains 0 SBD at this moment.
  • The first participant who gave the correct answer will get 75% of the prize pool.
  • Other participants who got the correct answers will enter a lucky draw. Those who resteemed this post will have 400% higher chance to win! 5 winners will be chosen and they will share 25% of the prize pool.
  • If not all prizes are given out, they will be accumulated for the next competition!
  • Please note that the payout of the question post would not be included in the prize pool. So if you want to support me please upvote with a high power on that post :)
  • @kenchung reserve all the rights to disqualify any suspected cheating players and decide the distribution of prize among the winner(s).

Special thanks to @adnanrahic for generously offering his help to this competition! In particular he has provided lots of useful information in the programming aspect, as I am more familiar with maths than programming. Make sure you take a look at his blogs to learn some very useful programming knowledge! :)


Let's resteem this post so that more people are aware of this competition! This will also increase the prize pool! I would be more than happy if any whales are willing to sponsor our prize pool ;) If you wish to directly sponsor the prize pool instead of upvoting this post, please let me know, I can arrange for this.


The upcoming challenge will have a difficulty level of 4 out of 10, which means it won't be too difficult so please have a try :) Meanwhile you can have a look at the previous challenges first :)

Previous challenges

Math challenge #1 - Find the remainder!
Math challenge #2 - Find the value of these recurring square roots
Math challenge #3 - Find its length!
Math challenge #4 - Probability of slapping your Chief Executive?


Upvote, resteem and follow me at @kenchung if you like my posts!

Sort:  

I voted and resteemed already. It is always good to see this kind of interactive post around. A competition will gather steemians with same interest to react with each other. Nice! 👍👍👍
I may not be anle to join as I haven't done programming for long time, very likely forgot everything but I am still looking forward to seeing your next post.

Oh you can still join if you are not good at programming! Our problems can be solved by both maths and programming method!
Thanks for supporting anyway :) Hope to see you in the competition. I set it to relatively easy this time :)

hey man, voted your thread and I am exciting with your maths challenge. hopefully I will have idea about a challenge soon!

I swear I won't spoil your fun by our super intelligence.

The Martian

I dun believe you, join my competition next time and show us what you got

Congratulations! You were nominated for this contest by @helloworld123 and have won 100 whaleshares. Reply with your bitshares or openledger username to claim your prize!

Thanks so much @jphenderson and @helloworld123 ! My bitshares account is ken-chung

Will this competition be held often? It is really a great scheme, I wish to nominate other friends as well!

Nice trick though upvoted

look forward to your math Question!!!

Nice work, Bro!

thanks man :)

wow it's a very interesting topic! I don't even think of holding a competition in steemit!

Unfortunately I am not free during the competition. Wish you all enjoy this time and I will join the next time!!

Never mind, you can still check it out at a later time :) see you in the next competition!

I failed maths, but i think this kind of post stimulates us

Glad that you like it!

Since this is limited to the numeric answer I am assuming we will not be required to explain how we got to the said solution? Or at least not in the google form.

Yes you are not required to state the method. Feel free to use any methods to arrive at your answer, maths or programming as you like :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86