Cebu Steemit meetup. Wow, are we ever growing!

in #cebu7 years ago


When I first joined Steemit, I was hard pressed to find any other Filipinos on the platform.


Especially some from Cebu.

This was just 5 months ago, and during this time I just started to make friends with foreign bloggers from other parts of the globe. After my first month, I met a few Cebuanos and was part of a few smaller events. Now, this small cafe could barely fit us all!

DSC_0890.JPG

There were over 30 of us in all, from all walks of life including some foreigner bloggers that were visiting or currently residing here in Cebu. If we are growing this fast, this quick- I cannot imagine the numbers we will be seeing in a year from now.

IMG_20180107_172637.jpg

There is a small bit of drama on Steemit, but overall everyone I have met in this local community has become some of my best friends. We all think alike, have the same goals, and even finish each others' sentences! The Cebu community is very positive, and I am glad to be a small part of it. One day, when its an uncontrollable madhouse of Cebuano bloggers, I will look back and feel proud that I helped (in a small way), to grow the provincial community into a full grown city of opportunists.

meetup1.jpg

During this event, we all met at Dolce Cafe', which luckily is just 2 minutes down the street from my condo. The last event had me traveling the entire city, getting lost twice before just giving up and going home sweaty :P I am not terribly familiar with Cebu still, even though I have lived here for the better part of 5 years already. And, it doesn't help that since I am not a native to the Bisaya's, I do not always find it easy to communicate with the taxi drivers.

This event was fairly formal, but with such a big crowd it wasn't always easy to stay on topic. Nevertheless, we all had a good time introducing ourselves, and of course, following each other on our respective blogs. Great- Now I have even more reading to do every day :P

DSC_0887.JPG

Before the event, my good friend @bonjovey suggested that afterwards we stop by her house, where we could sing karaoke and eat some food. So, that morning she pulled out some chicken to marinate, and her friend Mariann started making some of her favorite Filipino snacks. When we got to Dolce, and saw the huge crowd; I panicked, and called my boyfriend and told him we didn't have enough food. Of course, he came through and picked some of us up in the CR-V, with KFC and Krispy Kreme donuts for everyone. I didn't want to write it, but he is making me admit that he "saved the day". And I am sure @bonjovey is happy, that she didn't have to cook for a small army :)

DSC_0856.JPG

Leaving Dolce was pure madness. Trying to coordinate transportation for 20+ people for the after-party, to travel to a location that no one really was familiar with... Piling like ants into each taxi we could flag down. We were glad when we arrived, got out of the vehicles, and got to get a fresh breath of air. We are close, but not that close that we enjoy our faces in each others' armpits :P

DSC_0859.JPG

The after-party was much more productive than the first event, because we were able to sit down in smaller groups, and give each other tips and tricks on Steemit. Some of the people there understood a more technical side of Steemit- So to actually hear about how the backend works, with the rewards pool, witnesses, hardforks etc., was very helpful to all of us.

IMG_20180107_160833.jpg

I know I wrote a healthy blog just the other day, and believe it or not I only had one small piece of chicken :) But, since it was last minute- We were definitely not in the position to be choosy.

IMG_20180107_190008.jpg

Thanks to everyone who attended both events, and I am super excited to join you all during Sinulog 2018!



XOXO,

Gilaine

Sort:  

Nice photos! You have a sweeteeeeeeeeest smile!

Congratulations to you @justyy for a top commentor here on this lovely post of @purepinay

hi @purepinay gi add ka namo sa among group sa steemit davao sa facebook mesger.wafa, ok lang ba?

Madami na din pa lng Filipino na steeminians... Nakakamangha naman..

Thanks for always doing your best for the Cebu Community. Meetups will never be as happy as when you're not around. Thank you for your valuable efforts Gil :). Commended and Applaused.

Yayyyy, she's such a lovely and charismatic person. I really like what she's doing for the community.

congress...I am new , some time ago added to the steemit,,need your help. for that I can go ahead.

welcome to steemit, @nihalmahmud

hope you enjoy your time here

thanks you sis..Can I work with you, if you want, really benefited a lot, I know maybe you will not be of any benefit to me, say also..@purepinay

Can i join the team am akind of new here whatsapp me pls +2347033404861

Anything to help the whole Steemit community. Our success is everybody's success.

Thank you for having me. It was my pleasure to join all of you in this event. It was a lot of fun. ^_-

i follow u follow me back

Thank you so much for being so generous with your time, food(hehe!) and ideas about Steemit! It opens my mind to understand Steemit more! Didn't expect the meeting will end up so well because of you and Rob! <3

So happy to see you enjoying ate @purepinay. Congrats! Steemians.

I was reading the comments and then I happened to see you and I was like, "O, @gerel? That's my real name! haha!" I thought my name was unique and then I saw you! haha! Nice to see you here in steemit, sangay! ^_^

Hahaha.. Me too, I thought I'm the only one. 😍😁 I'm @purepinay younger sister,hehe
It's my palayaw (nickname) actually it is geryl but my sister insisted to spell that way .haha,
Nice to meet you,Sangay. Hope to join the next meet up, to see you guys in person.
Have a good one.
Much love& repsect,
@gerel

Hello dear @marysent your nice posts I wish your support me thank you

Thank you for supporting my sister @purepinay

How are you dear @gerel your nice posts I wish your support me thank you

Hello!!@cartooni, how are you? Me, I'm doing good. 😊😍 Yeah sure no problem, we need to support each other for have a better world 😊. Stay awesome! Thank you for mentioning my name 😁.. Keep steeming!
Love & Respect
@gerel

That was a full blast @purepinay. Thanks for joining the event. You and Rob were incredibly nice to all of us. Hope to create more of this soon. Thanks. Have a nice day!

And thank you to you and everyone who helped organizing the event. Keep up the good work! 😉

Thanks so much miss Gil! You are the inspiration to a lot of cebuanos. Please also extend my regards to sir Rob @rcarter. He was very helpful as well.

Thanks for the transpo. And for the "jumpy" attitude haha. Now I know why you are so active. Buts thats ok. Madebyou who you are now.

Hello My Sweet Friend @purepinay,

nice to see you here with your team #cebuSteemians. you realy do a great job for the promotion of Steemit and due to your efforts now much awareness of cryptocurrency here. That's a good sign for your City, your country and all over the world and a initiative you take is inspiring for all. now i will try to arrange a meeting with my friends and tell them the whole story about Steemit, and I hope they joined and enjoy.

Thanks for continuous Support.

Blessings of GOD on You.

STEEM ON..!

Enjoy Steemy Season.

Great Post!. Interesting Story. I want more of this. Keep it up

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh My Goodnesssss.....I am A Top Commentor Here:

Thanks a Lot My Sweet and Lovely Friend @purepinay, for this favor as well as always Supporting.

yes, you were unitl @justyy came along hehe ^_-

don't worry, you'll have your place back. Thank you for your support.

how's everything?

ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh , ok i hope so my friend.
everything is right here. thanks for your care.

enjoy steem great work
i follow u follow me back

Thank you so much, you take care @funlover1122. =)

Wow, what a great event! The Philippines have it going on!

Thank you, Mark. Yes it was fun meeting new steemians and seeing familiar faces :)

How are you?

Steem voter is down and am a little stress because it won't be back till a week. Hard to do manual voting for over 200 people and I have the only list on the steemvoter website :(

I'm doing great! I have gotten two more friends to start on STEEMIT. Yes, that would be a problem if Steem voter is down. Steem now wasn't working for about two days. I like to look at all the stats on that site.

Oh that's good, I hope to welcome them soon.
You can also use steemsupply to check the stats

Awesome!

I don't have to upvote all of them I guess but it was easier for me, saves a little bit of my time.

You smelled each other arm pits?

Boyfriend needs a present.

It's OK, one chicken won't hurt your sexyness.

Great job holding a meet. I know it's hard preparing for parties and such. Hence I like being the guest, not the host ahahha.

Not really haha maybe some haha

Me and Rob we're invited, he didn't stay though, too many people, even if was a little anxious but got through it, phew!

And oh I had one donut haha

Only one? I would probably have had the whole box.

Glad it all worked out.

hahaha oh I'd love too, hahaha! but I was good at will power (that night) haha

wait, omg, your wifey is preggy! Am so happy for you, when is she due?

Thanks! She is due soon! I'm like really scared!

Is it a boy or a girl? Why are you scared? Haha you should be excited!

i'm partly excited but majorly scared. It's a girl!!!

I am so glad I got the opportunity to meet you! Thank you for inspiring us and the other steemians, you are amazing and so pretty!

Love,
Sha

@xsasj your very nice posts steem I wish your support me Steemit thank you

It was my pleasure to meet you, Sha!

Aw! You are sweet, thank you for this thoughtful message.

Xoxo,
Gilaine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66436.09
ETH 3439.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65