The weirdest cats on earth! IT'S CATURDAY ๐ŸฑsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #caturday โ€ข 7 years ago

IMG_5075.jpg

Bald as a monk's shiny tonsure, these cats are unquestionable the strangest looking breed around.

These particular cats belong to a cousin of mine in Palm Springs.

IMG_9616.jpg

Known as 'Sphynx' cats they originate from Canada where by a freak of nature in 1966 the first of their kind was randomly born (named Prune) and due to it's unique appearance was cross-bread with another almost-hairless cat to produce this bizarre looking breed of animal.

IMG_9618.jpg

Due to their lack of hair they are very susceptible to the cold and must be tucked in at night under covers to keep them warm and would not fair well in a country like Iceland!

I was lucky enough to be given the duty of tucking them in myself when I stayed with my cousin.

As the owner of a long haired tabby who would NOT appreciate being under a cover, I found this bedtime routine most entertaining ๐Ÿ˜†

They were particularly friendly and cuddly despite their strange appearance.

For those of you confused about my opening statement regarding monks...

The tonsure is the shaven bit at the top of their head, providing clearer access to the divine GOD WAVES ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป

287px-Tonsure_fx_tr.png
Source

Sort: ย 

Extraordinary breed. I didn't know that they had to be tucked in at night. I learned something new today๐Ÿ˜Š, thanks for that.

I'm also wondering if you might be interested in joining or supporting my all new #caturdaycollagecontest .

Interested? Read more about it right here:

https://steemit.com/caturday/@marcovanhassel/caturday-collage-contest-win-sbd

Happy Caturday!!
@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @samstonehill to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Cool! Thanks for this ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป

Thanks for putting on to your #caturdaycollagecontest

It's great to cats slowing gaining popularity here on Steemit :)

I wish I had more time in my life to do wonderful things like put together cat montages. As a film maker I am rather busy on other projects currently with only a little time left for Steemit. But I will certainly keep an eye out for this and have already upped & resteemed your post ;)

Thanks a lot for the support @samstonehill !! I will be hosting this contest weekly, so I might see you enter somewhere in the future?
Good luck on your projects๐Ÿ‘.

funny looking animals :P

They sure are!

I like sphynx cat, So different :)

Me too. LOVE them ;)

They are really weird looking, but I do like them. I have hairless dog - Chinese crested, so I am aware about the bedtime routine. ๐Ÿ˜€

Great that you know this bedtime routine! It made me think of them more as members of the family... and I loved it :)

Pharaoh's cat and great post
Nice cats
Good luck @samstonehill ๐Ÿ‘
Keep it and Write up๐Ÿ˜‰

Thanks ;)

Thanks ;)

They are lovely thanks for sharing @samstonehill

My pleasure. Cats are amongst my favourite creatures here on this spectacular playground. And I am grateful to the Egyptians for domesticating them all that time ago!

If it's not furry and fluffy, I don't want to touch it ๐Ÿ˜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70971.83
ETH 3830.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41