Stinky the Cat Learns To Post On Steemit ~steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cats7 years ago (edited)



I Guess These Things Really Do Happen

I wouldn't have believed it, if it didn't just happen to me. I have heard about people occasionally dialing their friends, or worse, 911, the White House, or some other number they DON'T want to dial on their phones, utilizing only their gluteus maximus muscles.

I've never had the pleasure of experiencing this myself, though I suppose the fact I use a vintage, Model-1910 flip phone helps. But I've heard friends discuss the classic "Butt Dial" that sometimes occurs at the least opportune times.

Things Were Going Along Swimmingly, For Awhile

Well, Stinky the Cat, the cat that lets me live with her, has now taken this faux pas of the Socio-Technilogica Era a step further. Last night, I was preparing my next post, the one out right now on Steemit, about Valentine Cards of Old , and things were humming along quite nicely, as usual. Typing away on my Comfort Keyboard, touching things up here and there 'just so', with the intent of putting the post out 12 hours later. This morning!

Stinky had settled into her usual position as 'official office helper', draped across my shoulders like a mink-stole of old, supposedly fast asleep, knead-preening away on my shoulder and snort-purring away with her clogged-up kitty nose.

Time To Change All THAT!

Soon, she tired of this major leisure, and started wandering down my arm. Not conducive to typing or editing, but I tolerate it for a time. Yes, I do like my cat. Besides, I was just finishing up a few more final touches before heading to bed. She messed about in my lap for a bit, settled in, and I soon forgot she was there.

OK, I Think This Thing Is Done

I discovered a few small errors, got ready to fix them, when the screen...the one displaying my beautiful post...blinked twice, then suddenly went BLANK. First, black as an inky-squid, then the thing burst back on, white as a snow-driven snowstorm. "What The...?"

Alarmed, I looked down, only to see her mucking about on section 3 of my keyboard. Butting away on the plastic corner with her hard little head. Section THREE! The one with all the numbers, and the ever important, extra ENTER key. I muttered some loving endearments down in her general direction concerning this new activity, then focused back on the monitor.

It was obvious, she had erased the entire, way-too-many-hours of work, post. All in one, kitty fell-swoop. She looked up at me, as if to say, "I think it was done...oh, and I did a bit of editing on the title too", then she jumped down and trotted out of the room, looking very pleased with herself, no doubt heading off to the food dish in the kitchen.

I stared at the blank screen in disbelief. "She deleted the whole thing!" I was BUMMED. I sat and stared at the blank screen some more. It did not help. I hit the space key, poked a couple more halfheartedly, and wanted to cry. I stared some more, hit the space key again, and after a moment or two, my screen blinked a couple of times, then opened back to its precious, normal blue color.

And there, on the now-open Steemit site, at the top of the 'New Posts' list, was my POST. Stinky the Cat had head-butted it straight from my computer, out into the world of publication and beyond, and onto the list. And, upon closer look, I noted that she HAD done a bit of editing.



EXHIBIT A.

Hey, THAT'S Not Supposed To Be There

Scanning the first page, I noted that Stinky had actually added a .3 to my title! (See Exhibit A. Above) How in the world she managed to hit the (.) key, the (3) key, then move the cursor over to POST, and then hit ENTER, is way beyond me. I was running the mousepad! Maybe she hit a FUNCTION key as well. Yes, The Stink is truly an amazing cat. And I'm not just saying that, like all those other parents out there.

Ooh, We Can Put That Out On Steemit

This morning I awoke, wishing I had taken a picture or two of the events of last night, so I could post about it today. But I was WAY too busy freaking out while losing my post, to even think about snapping a few photos while she was' busy' posting my post.

I briefly pondered tossing her back on the keyboard last night, to snap a few photos before I went to bed, but she had already gone to bed herself. Let's face it, no one wants to see pictures of a grumpy cat on the Internet.

So, I did the next best thing. This morning, I set up a true-to-life re-enactment of this event to photograph. She was still not all that enthused to participate, but in the end she relented and helped out.* Who knows, maybe she felt a little guilty for adding a bit of stress to my life. Somehow, I doubt she lost much sleep over it. We took several pictures, one of which can be seen below.



Realistic Re-enactment of Last Nights Events



~ *Poste Script ~ Photographers Tip: I hate to admit it, but I had to use a bit of coercion to jump-start Stinky's interest in the project this morning. Amazing what a spot of bacon grease in just the right places will do, to pique a cat's interest in an early AM re-enactment. I suppose one must occasionally grease the wheels of progress, even if it is with a bit of pork fat.


§

§

§








Self-Actualized ~ Multicolor 33 1/3 Award for Number of Followers




Self-Actualized ~ Multicolor 66 2/3 Award for Number Of Followers




Please Check Out My Other Posts, If You So Desire
~ALL ORIGINAL CONTENT~

Sort:  

I enjoyed reading about Stinky, and so I must share with you my cat story! :)

How I Was Captured by a Surprisingly Unusual Cat

Thanks for the view and read. I appreciate it. Enjoyed your story as well. Let's hope the kitty ended up at someone else house, and not with Mr. Coyote. Cats do tend to work their way into your life pretty well, that's for sure. Have a good night.

Thank you! :)

I loved your story dear friend @ddschteinn, excellent, pets are amazing. Congratulations on this beautiful material

Wow, thanks for the wonderful compliment. Glad you enjoyed it. They are so very much fun to create. And yes, pets do add a real dimension to our lives. Have a good night, or day, whichever the case may be ( :

Good night to you too dear friend

Haha-- I laughed out loud at that. Cats have their way, that's for sure! I'm glad she didn't erase your post. That would have been the worst!

I'm sure Stinky's posts will get more upvotes =・ω・=

Thanks so much for the complement and read. I appreciate it. We can always hope she gets more votes. This is the fourth Stinky installment on the site...she's becoming a real celeb ( :
I love your homemade ASCII kitty, very creative.

Oh wow, do I know that horrible feeling of having lost something you spent hours working on. Glad it wasn't really lost.

I had a cat who prank called one of our friends in the middle of the night. We had a desk phone with a speaker button and a redial button. I woke up in the wee hours to my friend's voice saying, "Hello? Hello?!" And there was my cat standing proudly on the phone, with a look on his face that said, "Don't mess with me, or next time it's the ASPCA."

My friend didn't believe me when I told him the cat did it. You can only blame so many things on the cat before people get suspicious.

I hate losing things. Be it in the road, or on the computer. Sounds like you've had that experience.
And I knew your cat was a classic, but this is a whole new level. Never heard of a kitty-dial before. "Whaaat?.... Maybe he/she was lonely in the night. And blaming the cat just won't do. They find out, and more un-explainables of the absurd occur even more often. Self-induced kittykismett. Thanks for the reply, nice to hear from you... hadn't seen you about for awhile. Full Steem Ahead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63345.39
ETH 3130.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48