Taking Care Of Very Old Cats - Kitty Hospice

in #cat7 years ago

Our 20 year old Siamese cat, Vincent Vega, is clearly reaching the end of his life. He is mostly blind, he has kidney disease, a terrible case of arthritis, and only a few teeth left. His condition has been declining rapidly over the past few weeks, he is losing considerable weight as he struggles to eat. It shows, and he is more thin now than he has ever been in his life.

We think he only has a few weeks left at most. Every day we wrestle with the decision to put him down and we ask ourselves, how much pain we would be able to tolerate ourselves before we would just rather be dead. Then we try to decide if Vega is there yet. We take notes about each day, how well he eats, and put a star by any day we consider a good day. We use a minus for any day that we feel was a bad day for him. So far, today is a star!

Today Vega had a few minutes of energy to climb on to my wife's shoulders for a quick cuddle as they have done so many times before. He grew weary very quickly, and is sound asleep once again on his heating blanket.

Why Am I Here?

Every day for 19 years, Vega was there for me when I got home and he was always happy to see me. So it is really hard to imagine what my life will be like without him. He was my alter ego and it feels like I won't even know who I am anymore. This has all caused me to ponder the ancient question...

WHY AM I HERE?

I discussed this question with family and friends quite a bit over the past few days and a co-worker said that he knows his time is limited, so he really just wants to spend the time he has, with the ones he loves.

That is when it hit me. I realized why I am here, right at that moment.

I am here to spend time with the ones I love.

My New Purpose

So my new purpose in life, is to spend these last remaining weeks giving this cat as comfortable a death as any cat, or any human, could possibly ask for.

Kitty Hospice

Our home is being turned into a Kitty Hospice for Vega, effective immediately. Extra blankets and padding is everywhere lined with heating blankets to help him keep warm. We feed him only his favorites. We stay close to him, watch him heavily, stroke him, say his name, and tell him everything is OK.

There was a major thunderstorm the other night too. He came to bed with us and slept under the sheets with my wife scared of thunderous lightning that literally lasted all night, and well into the morning. He only does that when he is frightened.

It warmed her heart to be there for him when he was scared. Which is great. That is exactly what I want both of them to remember.

Play on kitty cat... Play on... We will always be there for you.

Self Help

I am a huge fan of self help reading. Here is a book I have started and intend to finish soon on this subject. It is very good, very thoughtful, deep, and perfectly considerate for me at this time. Hopefully this post can help someone else like us someday.

https://www.amazon.com/Loss-Pet-Coping-Grieving-Process/dp/1630260797

Sort:  

I'm sorry for what you're going through. Your perspective is right, though. Enjoy and appreciate the time that you have left with Vega.

We have a 16 year old who's in a similar situation. My wife wrote about him here before we knew he was getting sick. He stopped eating on his own about a month ago. Probably cancer in the stomach or intestines, but the vet's not sure. We're giving him medicine and fluids under the skin once a day, and syringe-feeding him baby food or cat food pureed with goat milk twice a day. So far, he's still content and comfortable, so we stay the course for now.

My wife's parents owned a cattery, and we got many of the cats that they couldn't place, so we've had and lost quite a few cats over the years, but it's never easy.

Interesting story, it might seem strange but it feels good to hear such stories from other people. Thank you for sharing.

Enjoy the precious moments you have with Vega.
Maybe you want to pay hommage to him in a special way?
I'm looking for catlovers that want to join my #caturdaycollagecontest 😊.

Interested? Check it out:

https://steemit.com/caturday/@marcovanhassel/caturdaycollagecontest-2-hooray-for-caturday

Hi @marcovanhassel, thank you for your understanding. I can really appreciate what you are doing for the community. Great work! Keep it up. I have followed you. However, I am clearly going through the depression phase of Pet Loss right now. I am just not up for it at this time. Thank you for chiming in and I look forward to seeing you around more.

I understand. I wish you lots of strength for the coming period😺🐱🐈🐾

Poor thing:( Hope he'll be better soon

Vincent Vega dear may you live long , nice to see its pictures,

20 years is a very long time for a cat, for this, we are very grateful! He had a beautiful, long life!

why u dont take him to a doctor ?

The vet has visited our home, most of the things I am doing for him are under the vet's recommendation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15