Inspiring and Motivating Individuals

in #castellano6 years ago (edited)

Fuente

What can I do to improve in inspiring and motivating individuals?
I ask to one subordinate and one peer this same question in order to address that issue and improve my leadership skills.

Feedback and source from subordinates and peers was summarized as follow:

  1. You may be a better communicator. More clearly explaining your ideas (subordinate)
  2. Be more flexible and avoid punishment for my colleagues (subordinate)
  3. You may do more employees recognition in meetings, and offer more reward when employees achieve goals and expectations (Subordinate)
  4. Show more empathy (Peer)
  5. Be more patient (Peer)
  6. Always smile (Peer)
  7. You are a very good team member but sometimes hard to change your thoughts or mindset when we discuss any topic (Peer)
  8. You can be a better communicator, express with enthusiasm your ideas (Peer)
  9. Not all people are like us. Be more comprehensible. (Peer)

I could obtain several conclusions from all about my subordinates told me in a good way. Therefore, I outlined a plan to develop a better leadership skill for my professional career. These are my points:

• Have clarity communicating our goals and objectives as well as our department and company vision. Hence, always respond the three key questions when the vision is communicated to the staff. These three questions are: Why do we do what we do? What does success look like? And how must we act to ensure success?

• Use stories, anecdotes, metaphors and analogies, express moral conviction and using always inclusive words.

• Also, apply the benefit of using effective nonverbal communication. Smile, maintain an open body posture and vary my intonation, volume and pitch when I explain any subject.

• Avoid any trap, specially “Social Projection” or assume that people are like me.

• Apply positive reinforcement and avoid punishment.

• Create a variable schedule reward system as method to motivate employees.

• Act proactively in providing critical performance feedback and focus on keys behaviors rather than in personalities.

I think that get feedback from employees and shareholders about you leadership skills is very important if you want to improve your leadership skills. Therefore, I encourage you to apply this technique to finally communicate your vision about the company in a better way.

Thank you very much!
@leovidalm

Sort:  

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @leovidalm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83