She Is Finally On The Road!

in #cars4 years ago

20200209_125305.jpg

After a year and a half, stalled by two unexpected overseas trips for funerals and two boat restorations, our 1973 Series Landrover is on the road. Complete with a full engine restoration, and new or reconditioned everything, she is running sweet, bar a few tweaks as we go.

The fun bit for me was designing and making the centre console with a bit of sasssafras we had bought in Tassie about 10 years ago. I do like our SAAB seats which make for a more comfortable drive.

IMG_20200205_143048_471.jpg

20200205_142855.jpg!

20200207_172425.jpg

Here are a few pictures before we put the roofracks on. So much fun taking her down a riverroad.

IMG_20200208_084220_632.jpg

DSC04956.JPG

The side windows were a nightmare. It took us weeks to source the rubber and the guy send us the wrong ones three times. They also are NOT easy to put in!

We took her for a longer run this morning, resulting in a long list of things to adjust and fine tune, which is to be expected.

Oh, we also put a table on the backdoor. We have lots of interesting ideas for the interior but we don't have time or money for that now. We will use our cookbox set up, which I have posted about before - more pictures to share after our camping trip next week.

received_526274774906722.jpeg

I am pretty proud of this man for working his was off to get this done before we head overseas.

DSC04978.JPG

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine

Sort:  

I remember this vechicle from a movie called 'Ace Ventura' with Jim Carrey. You just got me to want to watch that movie again!

Oh and also, awesome project. I love how tall this Landrover is and the wheels are so thin haha :D good job, man

Oh cool, was it the same colour? The new James bond film has a blue one!!!

Oh cool, was it the
Same colour? The new James bond
Film has a blue one!!!

                 - riverflows


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Yeeeaah booyy

that looks like fun! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha, glad you like it!!! It is fun. Oh and by the way, glad you found that recipe too.

That's a nice looking classic thanks for sharing enjoy your trip 👍🏾🍻 !BEER @tipu curate

Oooh, thanks for the beer and the tipu! xxx Thankyou!

No problem 👍🏾


Hey @riverflows, here is a little bit of BEER from @kgakakillerg for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Woohoo back on the road awesome well done 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Yay! Yes, very happy. A bit of fine tuning but gee I'm stoked it's finally on the road! And the man is happy too. In fact he's out there tinkering now still lol....

😀👍

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks like a fun car to drive.

It's tricky to drive, but yeah I guess you could call it fun! I spend my time freaking out - like - AAAAH YOU AREN'T GOING DOWN THERE ARE YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU...............

I'm not sure what's more impressive - the suspension or the central cup holder!

Last time I camped a couple pulled up in one of those with a full-on tent system on top, which I thought was pretty cool!

Oh we have a roof top tent too, that'll go on tomorrow I think!!!

I had to show Jamie your comment, he was quite chuffed xx The suspension is probably handier for the roads but hey you need a coffee too right?

And I guess the better the suspension the less likely you are to end up swimming in coffee!

Haha never truer words were spoken!!!

The cup holder caught my eye first... LOL but my off-roading Burmese border self was utterly smitten by the suspension & the lovely high chasis. LOL.

GREAT job! Let the adventures begin.

It'd eat up the Burmese border roads, that's for sure!!! Thanks honey x

It'd eat up the
Burmese border roads, that's for
Sure!!! Thanks honey x

                 - riverflows


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Awesome, looks absolutely great. I’m a bit jealous. Hope you’ll have lots of amazing adventures in it. 🤙

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm jealous of us haa!! Thanks - I'm sure we will, that's the plan!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20