RX7 FD3S Single Turbo Build - #2 Progress and Parts

in #cars6 years ago

Hey All,

It's been a while since I've been able to update you all on the progress of my big single turbo upgrade on my RX7 FD3S.

If you would like to take a look at previous posts and videos you can use the below links.

https://steemit.com/cars/@nelkeljdm/rx7-fd3s-single-turbo-build-the-plan

https://steemit.com/cars/@nelkeljdm/rx7-fd3s-big-single-turbo-teardown-and-talk-video-part-1

Admittedly the progress has been rather slow due to time constraints and family commitments only allowing me an average of 3 hours per week, working on the tear down.

I ran into a major stumbling block over the last week or so, there is a turbo inlet pipe which connects to the rear turbo charger that has little to no wiggle room to remove. After a load of research I found that this is a common issue on RHD FD models due to the heater pipe being in the way and of course the vehicle firewall too.

I found that there were three options

  • Support the engine and gearbox and loosen the mounts to lower the engine
  • Remove brake boost setup to allow wiggle room
  • Cut studs on rear turbocharger

You can all guess which option I went for. I lay down on the cold hard floor for over an hour with multiple hacksaw blades and cut through the two studs to allow the inlet pipe to be manipulated.


Source Image

Once I was able to move the pipe off of the studs I had enough space to access the bolts on the rear section of the Efini Y pipe, once that was out I was able to remove it, eventually get through to getting the heat shields off of the downpipe and start loosening the bolts.

I am now at a point where I am an hour or two away from getting the twin turbo setup removed from the car.

In the interim, I've picked up the following for the build.

  • XS Power TurboCharger 0.63 AR / 0.84(exhaust) AR
  • HKS EVC Boost Controller
  • Battery Relocation Wiring Kit
  • OBX T4 Single Turbo Manifold (Waiting on arrival)
  • AEM Wideband (Waiting on arrival)

There is still a whole shopping list of parts I am needing for the build but am doing things piece meal for the time being as I may change plans down the line but for the most part, new V mount intercooler setup (Once turbo is in I'll work on piping and space), datalogit for Apexi PFC, new fuel system (undecided) and any other supporting modifications.

This is an exciting yet scary build for me as I am way out of my comfort zone but cannot wait to see, feel and hear the big single turbo roar!

Here's two photos I took prior to removing the rear inlet pipe and the rear of the Efini Y Pipe.

IMG_0563 (Large).jpeg

IMG_0562 (Large).jpeg

I will keep you all posted on further progress, I'm hoping to drop the twin turbos sometime this week and start the clean and prep.

Thanks again for the support

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Discord Link

If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

It's a Mazda

Both.jpg

Congratulations @nelkeljdm! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 8.44% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @nelkeljdm!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55