RX7 FD3S Single Turbo Build - The Plan!

in #cars6 years ago

The Plan in motion

The single turbo build has officially commenced and a turbo has now been purchased! Thanks to @eggmeister and everyone who contributed to the Datsun 280zx fundraising posts I published in the past I was able to contribute a few US Dollars toward this build.

I'm essentially doing an entry level budget setup that can be built on over time with better parts. There is no rush to make this a hungry horsepower machine as my main focus is still on procuring other JDM cars for my collection and making my R32 GT-R awesome!

The turbo purchased was some what used and is manufactured by XS Power, which actually doesn't seem that bad! There are a lot of people who hate on it but all of the haters have never had first hand experience with it, it's always a friend of a friend who knows a guy who identifies as a horse, with a bad turbo.

IMG_0315-1-1 (Custom).jpeg

I've decided on this particular one for two reasons, one it's cheap. Two, I can swap it out later for something bigger and better, because it's cheap.

IMG_0314 (Custom).jpeg

IMG_0317 (Custom).jpeg

Here's the list of parts I'll be getting for my budget FD Single Turbo build.

  • Turbocharger - XS Power AR 0.60 / 0.85 (Bought)
  • Manifold - XS Power 3mm welded
  • 40mm Wastegate + 0.6b spring setup
  • HKS BOV
  • Custom Downpipe
  • Oil Feed
  • Custom V Mount Intercooler and Piping
  • HKS EVC EZ Boost Controller (Bought)
  • PFC Datalogit
  • Wideband
  • Fuel Pressure Regulator
  • Walbro 320lph pump
  • Vacuum Hoses

As you can see it's a pretty basic build, I'm not aiming for huge numbers and am only aiming at maybe maxing out 0.8 bar boost which should see me around 350-380hp on pump fuel if all goes well! This way my injector duty cycle should be well within it's limits and allow me to keep my stock 550/850cc injector setup. (For now..)

IMG_0310-1 (Custom).jpeg

So, I got to stripping this weekend and when pulling out my battery to relocate to the boot I realised that my one fan on the radiator shroud had completely snapped off and melted it's fins! I got to stripping out the rest and figured out this is exactly why my RX7 has been running temps of 100+ degrees celsius after a spirited drive!

IMG_0312 (Custom).jpeg

IMG_0313 (Custom).jpeg

And here she is sitting all lonely on stands, in a cluttered garage waiting for all the parts and the rest of the teardown to happen.

IMG_0324 (Custom).jpeg

Will keep you all in the loop!

Much JDM love! <3

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Discord Link

If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

Good plan man.

HOPE YOU INSTALLED THESE PARTS SOON AND HAVING FUN

UPVOTED & RESTEEMED
Build Threads Steemit 569x200.gif
PROMOTING CAR PROJECTS ON STEEMIT

Hey Man!! Thanks for the shout-out and you're more than welcome @nelkeljdm

:)

good luck buddy

It seems to be good project :) Wish you good luck and share someday how it works :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44