New Car's V's Old Car's

in #cars7 years ago (edited)

I've had a lot of new car's, but none of them comes close to my old Volvo 244 from 1977.

20130712_113612.jpg

I have had this car for 6yrs, and it has never let me down, the only thing I've had to change in all those years, are 3 light bulbs.
It is by far the coolest car I have ever driven, and it cost next to nothing to own, it's tax exempt and classic insurance costs peanuts.

About 4yrs ago we sold almost everything we owned and went travelling with our kids in search of a better Debt free life, but I could not bring myself to sell our Volvo, now when we come back to Sweden in the summers to work, we dust her off, start her up, and away we go. :)

My first post on how we sold it all and never looked back.
https://steemit.com/tinyhouse/@markwhittam/we-sold-it-all-and-never-looked-back

All the new cars I've had, have been nothing but trouble, once I had to tow my new Ford to the garage because the computer had a bad day, and yes I used my good old Volvo as the tow car.

At my summer job, we have new trucks with very little miles on the clock and once I was stuck at the side of the road for 5hrs waiting for a guy to come out and fix it, he did not bring a tool kit with him, he had a laptop computer, he plugged it in, pressed a button and vvvrrruumm.!

New cars are not built to last, they are built to milk you of all the cash you have left over, and it's not just new cars, everything nowadays seems to be made out of ticky tacky!
Don't you agree?

Sort:  

Old cars for sure! Easy to maintain and I prefer the styling of the classic.

Yeah right! And all the chrome trim on this car is actually chrome, not shiny plastic.

Kind of makes you wonder why new cars are so expensive.

How was the traveling with the kids? And I agree with every point on newer cars, appliances, and etc.

Yeah we love it, we live in our tinyhouse truck and in the winters we go south, and then come back for the summers.
4yrs later and we still love it, but after this summer we are going to buy land down in Portugal, and start an eco-communty so i dont think we will be travelling as much after that.

Hey @markwhittam I am talking to my husband about visiting Portugal one day. You never know.. are you any relation to @haphazard-hstead ?

No relation, but I am following now Thx for the tip. This is our vision for Portugal https://steemit.com/blog/@markwhittam/our-quest-to-find-or-build-an-eco-community

Oh wait you already know about this, sorry for the spam

In the future cars will be different. I want a car that goes back to the past where cars were cars.
future.gif

Currently I don't have a car, but Volvo 245 is on my list of "cars I might buy if I need one".

These cars are indestructible, built like tank's

I agree, older vehicles are much more durable and long lasting. I have quite a collection myself.
Portugal sounds interesting, please share some of the high points @markwhittam.

Yeah, old cars are often rock-solid and always fun to drive.
I'm pretty sure you can feel the road, the speed and the environment.
So , you don't excess speed-limit, for example !

BUT, some old cars are also boring : water infiltration, pollution, scarce spare parts, manual efforts to turn...

So, it's a way of life but it can help you sometimes for sure ;-)

Yeah you are right, some old English cars I wouldn't touch, but Swedish cars were made to last :)

I am with you on this one. Also now cars are so expensive and most people never really own their car, they lease them. My truck is really old now and has seen me through a lot. I hope it keeps rolling. I love it. :)

That's true, not sure why a lot of us think we have to have a nice flashy cars, keeping up with the jones's, all that glitters, ain't gold, nowadays it's plastic. Stick with your old truck as long as possible.

agreed... there is a lot of reasons to keep it that you already know since we think a lot alike. Thanks for the response to my comment .. :) googly eyes.jpg

LOL not sure how to make those googly eyes smaller.. :) Have a great day in your volvo

The new cars just lack in character that older cars have

Give me a older car any day

Heaps of character, and you get noticed in a car like this.

Couldn't agree more. Although I for myself do like some moderd designed cars especially from Mercedes. I really like the sturdy build the used to make cars with. All has to be light en environmentlly friendly nowadays. Your car will last for a few more years I suppose. New cars aren't made to last more than let's say 10 years. You can just feel it when you drive in it.

Yeah, my point is that new cars a made to milk you, you can't change a light bulb on a new car anymore, they want you to take it in to the garage. They charged my brother €80 to change a bulb on his new Mercedes.
The only new car I had which I liked was my VW T5 good strong car, and it pulled our big caravan like a dream, but It was very expensive.

They are trying to make cars to be for the elite again. I would totally freak out when a garage owner was trying to charge me €80,- for changing 1 light bulb!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61