You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is The War On Drugs A Dangerous Lie? - An Informal Steemit Survey!

in #cannabis7 years ago

"The war on drugs has created profits without measure for government agencies, law enforcement, the military, the media, the producers and the biggest profiteers the world wide of smuggling bosses." - this is right; However, there's no denying that drugs are the things that destroy life. I think the problem is not drugs being illegal, it is the corrupted dishonest people who sits on the top and using the law for their personal benefits. I support the illegalization of drugs, but the law has to be enforced properly.

Sort:  

Thank you for your thoughtful comment I really appreciate it! I have travelled all over the world and worked with those who suffer from addiction on 3 continents. I have a different view to yours now after all I have seen. Still I love the fact that we share different opinions and can do that here in a free, open and loving way on Steemit! I will gladly address your comment in my coming post about my beliefs and why I hold them. Thank you again! UPvoted and followed with pleasure! 😃

that is so nice of you :) thank you very much

You are most welcome! It's very nice of you too! This is what I love about Steemit! Yay! UPvoted again mate! 😉

I am just speechless :)

No worries buddy! Warm regards from Cambodia! 😃

same from Bangladesh :) :)

Why do you support laws about what you can do with your own body? I do not get that.

well, for starters, let me tell you a story in very short: My best friend in high school got addicted firstly to marijuana, which lead him to heroin and Yaba. His father died when he was only 14, and he was the only son with a younger sister and mother. we did everything to get him out of the addiction and he said the same thing "i'll do whatever i want with myself" - and now he has become a good for nothing, and his family is suffering so much because of he did what he wanted to with himself. You see, your body is not only yours, it belong to your loved ones as well. but there are people who don't understand that simple fact, they destroy themselves along with their loved ones in the process. and if someone doesn't understand the value of his life, it's the duty of the others to make him understand. Moreover, I live in a third world country, and i can see with my own eyes what it's doing to our younger generation. It destroys society and generation - and thus, i am for the law against drugs.

  • ps: If it was harsh, i apologize for my tone. I got emotional writing that paragraph. it's just that I've lost a lot to drug addiction and i know what pain can it cause.

Oh honey, I know it is hard. I have lost loved ones to addiction also. Laws did not stop it, did it? I wish you the best, but I hope you will watch this little video, and maybe reconsider your belief that laws are the answer to this. I watched my father die of a heart attack, probably due to his glaucoma drops. His entire life, the Federal government dispensed marijuana to a handful of glaucoma patients, they KNOW it is a better therapy, yet my father had access ONLY to the beta blocker eye drops that helped kill him. All the addict deaths in the world are not an excuse to deny people access to medicine. This is just over 8 minutes, I consider it one of the best videos ever made, I hope you will watch with open heart and mind!

Excellent response! I will reference this with pleasure in my forthcoming post! UPvoted! =)

i get your point my friend. and i'm sorry for your loss - i really do - it breaks my heart. I am also against the idea that anyone can own us - all i'm saying is everything has its negative and positive use. as i have mentioned in the first comment, it's not the law that's guilty, it's the corrupt authority who uses the law for their own benefit. they use their positions and power to deprive us of what we deserve. Law doesn't prevent us from getting what we deserve, it's the corrupted evil jerks who think their position gives them the right over people's lives.

You're wrong about laws. Government is nothing more than gang warfare and protection rackets. It's not a mistake that corrupt, evil people gain power in governments. It's the purpose of government to enable the shield of noble rhetoric to conceal tyranny and enslavement.

Every law you agree with, you can follow, because it's what you want to do. No one needs to force you to obey it with guns. Laws that are evil, or twisted by corruption, are crimes against humanity.

In both cases, the law isn't necessary, and in most cases, it's horribly harmful - particularly to your family.

You point out that a family member became an addict, and that harmed your family. You should note that drugs are illegal, and yet available, and a constant barrage of lies about them is trumpeted by authorities. This causes people who recognize the lies to rebel against them, and to seek the actual truth - which they can only discover by using drugs.

The laws against them, coupled with the corrupt enforcement - by the very forces profiting from the black markets in drugs - and propaganda of lies, drive people into addiction.

Your family was harmed BY the laws against drugs, not by the drugs.

I'm sorry your family has been victimized by criminal tyrants and profiteers. In a free society you'd have a better chance at avoiding that kind of harm.

Thanks!

Marijuana isn't addictive you can't be addicted to it.

my real-life experience says otherwise :)

My real life experience proves it is not. I have used cannabis most of my life, on and off.

I rarely use it now, and suffer no withdrawals when I do not. I never have suffered withdrawal, even when I stopped using it daily cold turkey.

I have been addicted to other drugs, and know very well what withdrawal is. Benzodiazepines are terribly addictive, and the withdrawal is life threatening.

You do NOT know the difference between an addict and someone who just doesn't want to obey you when you tell them to stop using.

I do.

Cannabis is not addictive, and even the US DEA has confirmed in legal rulings that there is no known harmful dose, speculating that a harmful dose would crush the user to death under the weight of most of a ton of flowers.

Cannabis is the very oldest proved agricultural crop, a stash of seeds of cannabis was found and dated to 12,000 years ago. In all those millenia of use of cannabis, not one person has suffered an overdose, or medical harm from it.

Don't just believe the lies black market profiteers tell you to convince you to obey them, and to help them profit from their crimes. Do research and find out the actual truth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44