B-52 GROW ~ FINALLY ABLE TO SHARE WITH YOU ALL

in #cannabis6 years ago

IMG_1733.jpg

From my last grow

What up my fellow 420 loving Steemians?! I hope you all had a joyous and blissful day yesterday! I've been active on here for a long while under a different username, but have never shared anything to do with one of my greatest loves and passions, Cannabis. Mainly because the area I reside in holds the position of wanting to throw me in a cage for deciding what I put into my own body. So I have decided to start this blog under an alias so I can share with you and not risk getting locked up.

This was specifically spurred by @slickwilly's post over a week ago stating that he wanted to see more quality MJ content, and now I am happy to oblige. You can check his post out here if you like.

For a little background, I have been enjoying this wonderful plant for the past 13 years. I started growing in college and have come a long way since then. Now that I own my own house, I am free to do as I please and growing has made a comeback into my life and I couldn't be happier about it. It is truly a great passion and hobby of mine.

So without further ado, I introduce you to my B-52 grow. Some quick info on B-52...

B-52 is a 75/25 indica-dominant cross between Skunk and Big Bud. This hybrid by Nirvana Seeds is a sweet mix of skunky flavors that have remarkable cerebral effects for a strain that leans towards the indica end of the spectrum. It is a great strain for commercial production but its unique heady effects are enjoyed by connoisseurs and those with an affinity towards the Skunk family tree. A great strain for the relaxing while watching a movie, B-52 will leave you giggling and flying high.

source

IMG_1727.jpeg

I'm not in this to make money. I do this because I genuinely love to grow anything, Cannabis just so happens to be something I also love to consume. Is there truly anything better than smoking your own herb? I don't think so.

This is my 3rd go around with these lovely ladies. All of these are clones from the females I had prior. I was also growing Papaya which is Sativa dominant, but it would just grow to tall for my space, so I have decided to stick with the B-52 here on out.

IMG_1728.jpg

Got my net set up to spread out the top colas and let the underneath branches receive more light. Once they start stretching a little more because I just switched them to 12/12, I can spread them farther apart on the netting.

IMG_1730.jpg

I had this lady sitting in my tent vegging for what seemed like forever. I experimented on her a little bit by trying some things I have never done before, and it worked out how I had hoped. She now has two main colas. It'll be interesting to see how she blooms compared to the others.

IMG_1729.jpeg

I know not everyone prefers having a strong breeze directly on their plants, rather just having good airflow. But I do, for the sole purpose of having the stalks bulk up to carry all the weight in the upcoming weeks. If you'll look at the girl with two colas, she has a much skinnier stalk because the air flow in the tent wasn't nearly as strong as the airflow on the other girls. Once they start flowering pretty good, I ease up on the direct air flow.

As for equipment, I am running (2) 400W hybrid ballasts which allow me to run MH during veg and HPS during flower. I plan on switching out the MH bulbs for the HPS in about a week. These ballasts are also adjustable which is really sweet. I can choose from 200W, 300W, or full power at 400W. It's nice because at the beginning when they are just starting they don't need all 400W. It also keeps it cooler and saves on electricity costs.

IMG_1731.jpeg

In the past, I didn't have the best luck cloning my females for future grows. That all changed when I ordered this bad boy! No more worries. 100% success so far and it's super easy and zero stress. Just PH the water, plug it in and add the cutting. 10-14 days later you've got roots! It has allowed me to keep my runs going smooth.

IMG_1732.jpg

Lastly I am using Fox Farm Ocean Forest soil and Fox Farm nutes...grow big, big bloom, and tiger bloom. This combination really makes everything so simple. The soil can start a little hot sometimes depending on the cutting, but that's about the only negative I can really say about it.

Hope you enjoyed my grow and I plan on keeping you all updated in the near future.

Be sure to follow me for more great Cannabis content!

Sort:  

Hi @socratrees! Welcome and congratulations on making your first post!!

Awesome, will do! Thanks man!

Hello @socratrees! Belated 420 to you!

Hmmm... If only I could right now. I miss her already. :D

What's a cola?

Looking forward to more weed from you.

Peace!

@johannrandall

Sup man? The cola is the top nug which runs down main stalk. The one I was referring to had 2 main colas, if you look again at the picture about half way up the stalk you can see it split into two separate branches.

I'll be posting often.

Thanks and Peace.

Gotcha. I was looking at the wrong picture. Is that term specific to cannabis?

Looking forward to it.

You're welcome. Have a great day!

I'm not certain if it used in other types of plants or not, tbh. I just know it's called that for cannabis.

Yeah, I just looked it up, it's a cannabis term. The technical term for it is "terminal bud."

Nice, good to know! Thanks!

I think Fox Farm soils are too hot for cannabis in general and they work only until they don't, but if you get good results so far, then just stay on top of things I guess.

Yeah, if you put a cutting directly into Ocean Forest, it'll burn em. So I start them off in Happy Frog, which is still Fox Farm but not near the potency of OF. Then once they grow a little more I transplant to a bigger pot with OF.

It's been working great so far and I've learned I don't need to go so heavy on the nutes because the soil is so rich.

Yes exactly, you should rather look for ways to minimise their use. I mean I've been growing LOS style for 15 yrs and my main objective now is to have the soil as poor or void of nutrients as it's possible :)

LOS style? I'm not sure if I've heard that term before??

Living Organic Soil, a niche in a niche :)

Ah yes! I have heard that, just don't hear it all too often with indoor growing because so many people just use bagged stuff.

Are you all outdoor then?

Indoor/outdoor

Upvoted!
Looking for more post from you. I knew someone with the name "socratrees" wouldn't dissapoint. ^^

Haha, thanks so much! I hope to bring lots of good MJ content here in the future :)

Nice man! I wish I had used a net but never have, should do though very soon, combining LST and SeaOfGreen together, that must be epic! If you still have that papaya somewhere, you can grow it horizonatly by training it , keeping it to the height for your space there :) Nice to meet you, happy days!

This one should definitely be my best run so far. I'm learning more and more about this strain with each run so I have changed things each time to optimize my weight.

I still have a few papaya in veg in the tent that I'm going to move outdoors when the time is right. See how big they get then :)

Thanks for swinging by!


Welcome to Steemit @socratrees!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Congratulations @socratrees! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46