The Soup Of The Day: Cream of Cannabis

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

I can’t wait until soup containing cannabis, is a common offering on menus around the world.

D26CBB52-5810-40DB-A1CB-D6DCFDBBEC05.jpeg

I think that cooking with cannabis is going to take the experience of dining out (at an upscale restaurant or as an invited house guest) to a whole new level. Rebecca Ryan

I think that both the skilled chef and the enthusiastic cook have 2 main options:

  • either, work with the flavours in the buds, just as you would any other dried herb

  • or, bury the flavours with dogged determination and hope that the other herbs and spices used to cloak the skunk-ass will all work together.

One way is not better. Both options are viable. Both require some risk taking.

Ultimately, all any of us can do is try.

If we are interested enough, we’ll learn from the outcome and (if we aren’t dicks about it) we’ll share that knowledge to make the whole process a little easier for others.

You’ll need the following ingredients:

  • 3 litres of chicken broth (vegetable broth can be substituted)
  • 2 litres of water
  • 2 400 ml cans of the highest fat coconut milk you can find.
  • 4 + 3 tbsp of coconut oil (for sautéing the mushrooms and onions)
  • 1 medium onion (roughly chopped)
  • 1/2 a large cauliflower (cut into small pieces)
  • 3 ribs of celery (cut into small pieces)
  • 4 medium size carrots (cut into small pieces)
  • 4 medium size yams (cut into small pieces)
  • 2 cups of raw turnip (cut into small pieces)
  • 2 cups of sliced mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup of fresh lime juice
  • 2 tbsp of hot cayenne pepper sauce
  • 2 tbsp of ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp of ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp of fresh ginger (finely chopped)
  • 1 tsp of fresh garlic (finely chopped)
  • 1 avocado (cut in small pieces to garnish
  • 3 tbsp of decarboxylated and then ground cannabis

Obviously you’re going to need a big pot to hold 6 litres of liquid (more or less). Plus, all the vegetables and a little pot ...(of the Indica or Sativa kind).

A 10 litre (or larger) stock pot and 10 grams of citrus flavoured buds will get the job done, nicely.
Do give thought to the effects you want to achieve.
If you’re making it to eat for lunch and you still need to focus after that, use a strain that is known to enhance focus. (Instead of one that will make you feel so relaxed that you want to take a nap.)

If I am serving this as part of an evening meal with no commitments afterwards, I’ll use a strain known for being very relaxing and calming.

You know a strain that produces the type of body stone that gives you a warm hug on the inside, not unlike how you’d feel if you drank 3 glasses of nice wine.

If a strain, containing about 15% THC is used, that’s what this soup can deliver. Expect a 2 hour lag after it’s slurped and enjoy your flight for about 6-8 hours....without a hangover, I might add.

Directions

  • Resurrect a baking dish with a lid. (You’re looking for something that will withstand high heat without melting and if you ask your Mother she’d likely call it a casserole dish.)

  • Pre-heat the oven to 240 degrees F.

  • Sauté the mushrooms in 4 tbsp of coconut oil.

  • Then, sauté the onions in 3 tbsp of coconut oil.

DD534612-FA65-423A-9965-D8DB91C249C9.jpeg

  • Add the mushrooms and onions to the stock pot containing the broth and water. Set the flame to simmer.

91E9A8B6-BADA-4C88-925E-4DBBFB12BA7F.jpeg

  • Lay your buds spaced out on the bottom of your baking dish, a single layer deep.

60D0F4E9-2429-4521-BBEA-92CB6B735339.jpeg

  • Put the lid on the baking dish and bake the buds for an hour. (Yeah,one whole hour and no, cooking in the soup will not activate the THC as well as it could be. As a result, your soup won’t be as potent as it should be or has the potential to be.) (Remember to set a timer, so you’ll know when to take your buds out of the oven.)

Once your buds have baked in the oven for an hour, remove them from the oven but keep the baking dish covered until it cools enough to be comfortably handled. This will give any volatile compounds a chance to settle back down on the buds before they are ground.

  • Add the garlic.

C638C5F5-4A2A-48D6-A320-BE6ECCE2B99D.jpeg

  • Add the ginger.

E64BB649-CCC3-40FC-B3BE-CDCD8447A66B.jpeg

  • Add the hot-sauce.

52D19BCE-B0EF-4026-B3EF-A70CA12ABF4F.jpeg

  • Add the lime juice.

53447530-063A-43A5-8CFD-C7483CBE3D7B.jpeg

  • Add the coconut milk.

2C2ABC8C-99FE-4CAC-B26B-FFA0B8EBEB35.jpeg

  • Add the cinnamon and nutmeg.

  • Stir the pot to make sure that all the ingredients added (so far) are well blended. Cover the pot with its lid and remember to stir it every time you add another ingredient.

  • Cube the yams and add them to the brew.

FFF03D84-6B74-4D94-98CE-BBBBA4FC51FE.jpeg

  • Do the same with the cauliflower.

07531AE3-19F0-40A7-8F20-2D958DDDE82A.jpeg

  • Next, chop the carrots and add them as well.

7B43360B-91C1-44FC-89A1-6FA0217595D8.jpeg

  • Do the same with the turnip.

D2EEB2A9-3478-4410-B18F-EBFA5BC5E3F0.jpeg

  • Add the celery.

D18046EE-9D42-46B4-801E-A5C4B8D11FF9.jpeg

  • Finish by grinding the cooled decarbed cannabis and add all of it (in loose) to the soup. In this recipe we are using it as a herb and as such, it will be enjoyed for the citrus flavour it adds without being strained out of the soup.

89DEEB3F-8480-44D4-8EBF-DE727236FE5A.jpeg

If your buds look golden brown, you’ve achieved a decent oven decarboxylation.

ED03F918-36F6-495B-B030-0F50A8DAF164.jpeg

The bud on top (with the broken leaf beside it) is one of the buds that I decarbed, the other is still in its raw state. Notice the colour difference.

  • Simmer on low for 3 hours, stirring every 20 minutes or so.

8C576315-78FF-4F03-9B3B-1249221043D3.jpeg

Don’t forget to Stir The Pot

  • put the finished soup in a serving bowl.

1A952E58-ABE7-460A-A989-0AF050D6306D.jpeg

  • Garnish with roughly cubed avocado.

307E7A67-2CC1-48B8-B980-0CC56BBF9AC9.jpeg

Lets take a closer look...

FD075D4D-EF96-4C61-9194-C88F26B301D7.jpeg

A soup with a Thai flair. A little bit of heat, coconut and lime, tamed with creamy avocado and filled with vegetables and total relaxation.

(That’s how I’d write the soup’s menu description.LOL!)

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey....not even soup is safe from cannabis lacing. ;)

FDBB05F6-E9A6-45ED-AD99-B2C9F5EE509D.jpeg

~ Rebecca
PS: Check out the Smoke Network
https://smoke.network
Https://smoke.io

Sort:  

"If we are interested enough, we’ll learn from the outcome and (if we aren’t dicks about it) we’ll share that knowledge to make the whole process a little easier for others."

I love it!

Hi @bluelightbandit!
Thank you. You know I spend most of my waking hours, just generally trying not to be a dick.
Some days, I do better than others. LOL!
C'est la vie, mon ami. (That's life, my friend.)

@rebeccaryan I can only imagine people becoming hungry for more of this soup. Very interesting recipe. What types of benefits will people gain from ingesting it in this form?

10 times the strength of every effects that strain used to infuse it offers. I made this soup with an heirloom strain (seed straight from the mountainous area of Negril, Jamaica ). Full of love, it’s happy, it’s pain relieving and you sleep like the dead.
One bowl (600 ml), 8 hours.

I sent it to my friend that uses marijuana for medical purposes. Maybe they will sleep less lightly. 10 times is quite a concentration! Good to know it works for sleep too!

I can see that you take your cooking seriously.
That is a lot of doing to have cannabis soup.
I can't imagine what the price would be if we were buying it in a retail location. It would not be cheap. Ha
You have shown us how to make it now.
All that most of us lack is the cannabis. Ugh on that.
Thank you. That is a lot of good information that you have given to us.
Oh for the day...................................

Francis

Haha! Francis I really enjoy cooking. This is because I can do it at my own pace and it is relaxing for me...I think that it's important to show that cannabis edibles don't always have to be in the form of a sweet.
Oh for the day....when it's legal in your State, I will come and help you. ;)

Wow, looks so tasty :)
We just passed legalization in Canada, we are just waiting for it to actually kick in...

Can't wait until the time comes where you can eat in Cannabis cafe/restaurants all over. I am a cook for work and would love to work with cannabis is professional kitchens.

I think we will see this in Canada soon enough. I'm in Ontario...what province are you in?

I'm in B.C.
:)
Yeah as soon as they figure out all the details with legalization we will have restaurant s quickly after.

I would order that every other day if I could !

Only takes one bowl. It's happy soup. ;D

Smoke soup everyday! :)

Hahaha! I like your thinking @clayboyn! I'm sure there will be a few hard core smokers who will just cry when they see that I threw 10 grams in soup.
It worked awesome.

I am sure it is delicious! Are you enjoying a bowl for the holiday??
Hope you have a great day @rebeccaryan! Cheers

Hey @jeffjagoe!
I made this soup on Sunday and we finished the last bowl Wednesday night.
Each bowl was about 600 ml and the effects lasted 8 hours. Pretty efficient use of 10 grams split between two people. :)

Hi dear! Today I need this hot soup to feel warm in this cold weather! Here in Mauritius the climate start changing, and become cold! I like all kind of soup!!

Hi @creativewoman!!!
This one has all the makings of a warming soup because of the influences of cinnamon, nutmeg and cayenne together.
Your seasons are exactly opposite to ours...we are hopefully just starting to warm up in Canada...Got more snow a few days ago, but it is melting now...stay warm, my friend.

Awesome recipe, thanks for sharing. I love to make vegetable soups, especially with ingredients like this however I have never included cannabis but I look forward to trying it.

I appreciate the near vegan nature of the ingredients. Vegetable Broth can easily be made from the inedible parts of onions, turnips, cauliflower and celery as well as basically any vegetable.

Hi @california.txt!
Thanks for taking a minute to read and comment.
I'm a work in progress when it comes to my eating lifestyle...pairing ingredients for the benefits that they bring to the table and then to the human body. Working on eliminating nightshades to lower my lectin exposure. This is a low-lectin soup.

That's really interesting. I have never considered the lectin content of my food. Perhaps these tomatoes, eggplants and potatoes are trying to tell us they're sick of always being eaten through this compound called lectin.

I personally eat plenty of these high-pectin nightshade vegetables, even spicy peppers that cause hot burning pain when they are inside of my mouth.

This is interesting when I consider that I imagine my neighbors chickens would make no attempt to hurt me if I were to steal their daily ovulations for my eating pleasure.

I find now find beans and legumes a better source of protein than animal sources although before 2018 I would eat animals caught from the sea and before that I would eat the farmed animals of north america who lived and died under human dominion.

Bread and other grains with gluten have been something I've had distaste for more recently.

Yes, I can relate to the evolution of personal eating lifestyles.
I’ve been following Dr. Steven Gundry’s work.
Here’s a good interview...this is what I started with:

Wow...mmmmmm....
Another yammy post by @rebeccaryan mam....
Wel done and perfect work mam...
Cheers~~~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47