My Stance on Cannabis and How It Changed

in #cannabis7 years ago

I am sharing this because of a post I read from @surfyogi, which made me want to share my own story and how my opinion changed.

I grew up in a household that reeked of pot 24 hours a day. My mother and her friends all smoked a ridiculous amount. (Seriously, I tell people how much I witnessed personally and they don't believe it)
A minimum of 15 joints a day, all while she was working full time. Suffice it to say, I grew up with a pretty strong bias against it.

It wasn't until my oldest daughter developed a rare form of bone cancer (periosteal osteosarcoma) when she was 12 that I relaxed my stance on it after her doctor told me that he wanted to give her cannabis capsules as part of her treatment (She wasn't taking the chemo well). As a terrified parent, I was willing to allow damn near anything to ease her suffering.

The change in her was massive. Her pain level had decreased significantly, and I did a 180 on my thought process. I immediately became a "legalize it" kind of guy.

Now, in life's greatest form of irony, I am on disability for knee injuries (patellofemoral pain syndrome) and my case nurse recommended it to me. I figure if it can ease the pain in a child with cancer, then it is well worth a try for.

My first bottle of cannabis oil arrives next week. I will gladly share the results here with all of you.

Steem-Punk-HORIZONTAL-SIGNATURE.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing!

15 joints a day geez! Haha, man that would have me unresponsive for at least 24 hours. I wish you the best with the oil, I've heard great things about its effects on helping pain and a ton of other ailments. Good news about the change in your daughter too. I've been thinking about ordering some to help me with sleeplessness.

lol it was insane to watch. She lived about 45 minutes out of town, so one or two on the way to work, one on her lunch break, another couple on the way home, and then the rest over the course of the night.

I look forward to the oils, I really hope they do for me what they did for my daughter.

According to the documents I have, the higher THC compound is good for insomnia and sleeplesness. I have the CBD compound coming in, which is supposed to be better for pain, help with alertness - all round a better 'daytime' one.

I'll share updates as I test it out :)

Yeah just for the pain management benefits alone it is an amazing drug, as effective as opioids without the risk of strong physical dependency/addiction - and there may be actual anti-cancer properties as well... at least some governments around the world have pulled their heads out of their asses and allow medical research on marijuana - it is really unconscionable that the official federal stance in the US is still that marijuana has ZERO medical applications.

This is where I can be glad to be Canadian. The federal government is pushing to fully legalize by July 1, 2018. So far, the provinces are struggling to come to agreements on control. Oh well. I have mt "green card" now, so I can get mine online legally.

I had migraines a lot in my 20s, so I try very hard to stay away from any opioids nowadays - I used to live on all kinds of pain killers and fear for what they have done to my stomach already.

Not the only reason to be glad to be Canadian! I am often envious of you lucky northern bastards when looking around at the scene here in the US

I'll agree with you there. My oldest daughter now lives in California, so I follow along rather closely.
Mind you, I prefer to think that, while I am a very proud Canadian, we are all just people. And if we can't all just get along, we are all doomed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59736.86
ETH 2416.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43