Let me tell you about my keeper...

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

Every grower settles on something with time for personal reasons. Some like to see their plants yield big time, some like to have a one hit wonder on their hand or whatever comes close, while others prefer short flowering time, great terpene profile, perfect structure or even pest resistance. This plant is usually dubbed "a keeper".

Every grower also has a history of how they got their keeper, and it's usually a good one. I got my own from my buddy Mel, a SoCal or Santa Clarita Valley resident, who created it on a whim when he got some seeds from his friend Soma (a well-known breeder) in 2014.

The cross was Chemdawg '91/NYCD, but the only plant he got from the bag was a male, which he saw as an exemplary stud ("He looked like a female", he told me later). He grew him, harvested the pollen, and dusted some of his favourite clones among which there was a strain he called Aurora Ultra.

This was a hybrid he came up with for his own needs around 2002 by crossing 90's OG Kush with MK Ultra and then adding Aurora Indica (Afghani plant) to the mix, which let him get some purple genotypes as it was purple craze in Cali back then, and everybody was adding Purple Urkle or Mendo Purps to the mix.

Well, F1 seeds were dropped by the mailman few months later at my doorstep, and cause there were only 12 of them I germinated them all, and planted outdoor in my favourite spot. After careful consideration I chopped two OG looking males in early flowering and left only one, which had great sativa structure resembling female much more than a male and powerful piney scent.

He also brixed up with no problems as I got a reading of 19, which is a pretty good one, and this convinced me it was a good idea to use him to inbreed the strain. Then I chopped most of the branches and left only two or three to release the pollen (some of it was used to create two other strains, and the rest was frozen), so chosen females got pollinated.

Buds were ready by the end of September and although heavily pollinated they smoked great! High was rather strong, zippy, often confusing and long-lasting, leaning more on the sativa or indica side depending on the genotype. However, there was no stability as I got 5 different female phenos (Boom, Chem, Dog, OG and Freaky pheno), which I've been hoping to fix with time by farther inbreeding.

As was expected there was no quality slide in F2, where the same genotypes popped up again with the same terpenes in different configurations together with new ones that showed traits I haven't seen in F1. Although still unstable most of the plants have had uniform flowering time, finishing by the first week of October.

As far as terpenes are concerned four main groups were established: lemon/chemical carried, pine/hashy/chemical, fruity/chemical and bubblegum/fruity/blueberry. They were dubbed eventually: OG, Boom, Chem and Bubblegum pheno for the simplicity.

The strain, which was named Ultra Dog, became a staple in my grows for very high pest and mould resistance, lack of high nutrient demands, stocky structure, reasonable flowering time and powerful, euphoric, but still quite balanced high. It has actually become a keeper since for a few friends of mine too, cause the strain proved to be perfect indoor choice as well.

And cause you got through my babbling, I'm gonna treat you to some pics of Ultra Dog grown organically in NorItal!

Boom pheno (F1)
ud_boom_f1.jpg
ud_boom_f1_zoom.jpg

Dog or Bubblegum pheno (F1)
ud_bubblegum_f1.jpg

OG Pheno (F1)
ud_og_f1.jpg

Chem pheno (F1)
ud_chem_f1.jpg
ud_chem_f1_zoom.jpg

Chem pheno (F2)
ud_chem_f2.JPG
ud_chem_f2_bud_zoom.JPG
ud_chem_f2_bud.JPG

OG Pheno (F2)
ud_og_f2_group.JPG
ud_og_f2.JPG
ud_og_f2_zoom.JPG

Ultra Dog F2 bud
ud_f2_buds.JPG
ud_f2_buds_zoom.JPG
ud_f2_buds_zoom_2.JPG

That's it folks! Toke it easy :)

Sort:  

That plant is impressive. Very nice size on her.

This is extremely unstable line, so actually there is a lot of them :D Hmmm BTW this article was written like 3 months ago, so your upvote is much appreciated... but basically useless. You can easily take it off though and upvote one of my fresh posts! THX!

When you're suffering from prohibition you do what you can!

Without guerilla growers the weed game would be 5% of what it is today!

I remember when I could only grow outdoors...

I actually started indoor, but with time switched to outdoor which I always liked better :) Then indoor again LOL It was kinda zigzag. And now I have to go back to indoor again, cause I almost got busted last season :D

I think it’s the best place to learn & start

It is. Your plants are way smaller, so you can wrap your arms around cannabis growth habit easily and understand how container gardening looks. What really makes a difference is when you stop using pots and switch to direct soil growing though. That is a different world :)

You're right about that, man :) Without us the art of outdoor growing would die a painful death.

& the genetics & techniques used by indoor growers would be 30 years behind at least

Yeah that too. No-till, LOS/TLO, #highbrix, hugenkultur, they all come from outdoor agriculture.

Very nice plants! Very detailed post as well! Thanks for sharing. For me i just starting growing and I have a tahoo og x og. It’s a low yeilder but it is some damn fire! I’ve come to the conclusion I’m after quality rather then quantity so i definitely got a keeper! Looks like you know your stuff, I’m doing a journal on here hoping to inspire people to jump into growing themselves, but also hoping to get some valuable input along the way. Stop by if you get a chance👍

Hi man and thx for dropping by! Cross of two OGs cannot go wrong. I grew some from S1 seed that I got from my buddy and it was some top notch bud. However I didn't like the heavy comedown that much as I loved the psychedelic first hour. But these days you smoke OG in almost everything including my Ultra Dog featured here, which is definitely more balanced though :)

You know, you might like your strain and you might not, but you can always move into sth else as your own needs start taking shape.

Good luck in your grow, man :)

I would upvote this comment but I’m running low on steem power lol. You definitely got a follower from me bro👍

That's ok, I just figured I keep upvoting too much when I'm stoned and only add to the number :) U live u learn :D

Yeah i have a bad habit of upvoting everything. I actually have been not been able to do anything on here since my bandwidth is to low. I even tried to convert my steem dollars to steem power but couldn’t even do that. Still learning this platform. But i love it!

Yeah I'm kinda floating here so far trying to learn the ropes, but it looks cooler and cooler every day!

I went to %100 power up so I could break 100 steem power. Just to delegate it out. Nearly got 200 total now! But just as long as you keep working.... It gets better. I'm loving being here and blazing!

Yes I figured the same, so this post is running 100% on Steem Power :)

Fucking love it!

Breed for quality not feminized or auto seeds!

Excellent walk through. I'm a fan!

I have to side with you on that one, man. Although I think that autos have their place and their potential is big :)

The thing that interest me about autos is putting 18 hours of light on that sucker. But with my grow it’s a defiant no for me.

You can even keep them on 24/0, it doesn't matter. Actually they need more light, cause otherwise they produce shit at least in soil.

Im not even sure if i had any auto bud before. Is it really shit bud?

Actually no. I mean I grew one auto in my life around 2010, so it was first generation and was more like street potency weed. It yielded shit. But I have buddies who say they really came quite close, cause some of these new varieties bred mostly in Spain - cause this is where the auto breeding action takes place now - deliver a good product.

I actually got some promo packs I won, so I'm stocked up, and I'm gonna throw out couple of them on spring outdoor.

Hmm currently I have Auto Gorilla OG, Auto Pounder, and THC Bomb Auto on hand.

Thank you for the indepth walk thru on how you select your keepers right now I only blow glass but soon hopefully i will be growing

If you need any advice how to start, just hit me up anytime.

Yes how nice it is to bury a plant in the ground with some good soil and watch it get huge with a nice yield

That's how it is, man :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46