Bud Bugs! Mutha @#$%^&

in #cannabis6 years ago

Greedy little grubs. With little info to be found. These buggers started showing up noticeably around 10-15 years ago🤔. This year is bad! hearing back from people all over.
I believe Eggs are planted by the parent flying insect in the spring...the eggs hatch into little flourecent orange or yellow grubs, feasting their way through the stem. Emurging through the dying rotten bud at the end of the season.
I dont know what happens from there?. I guess if left through the winter. The grub will transform to the flying insect by next spring?.
Also I have heard something like this was a major problem with corn crops until mass GMO was introduced.?

This is what the bud looks like when you crack it open and look inside.. the grub is buried in their killing part of the bud.
20180917_211957.jpg
The bud before you pinch the tip off. The tip is clearly brown and dead but the trest of the bud is fine. Makes trimming extra suck! This perticular spot was hard hit say 1 in 20 buds have the bug. 😲
20180917_211801.jpg
A affected node I found a few weeks ago. Look at it start to burrow through the stem.
20180907_143750.jpg
20180907_143353.jpg
A bud I removed 2 weeks ago. Second pic opened up bud the bright orange grub is trying to escape. Sorry No Mercy for little parasites.
20180917_212433.jpg
20180917_210538.jpg
You can see where it was layed. Close to my middle finger. See it left its refuse "tiny brown grainy substance". then worked its way the xylem. Living in the next node when found.
20180907_145404.jpg
It damages xylem and phloem as the grub eats it's way through the centre of the stem. Reducing water nutrient and sugar uptake.
Cutting it off effectively removing from the plant is the best remedy if noticed late. You can pinch the lump and squish the grub also but at this stage of flower. The plant has less thime to heal...
Also the node below will continue to grow just fine.
Or leave it and the grub will continue to hinder development. Working its way through and coming out a bud!☹ killing part of the bud in the process

Pics below Nice Kush nugs hardening packing weight. Was not hit at all. close to harvest
20180917_212720.jpg
20180917_212649.jpg
.

Thanks for stopping by. Have a good 1. Keep Steemin and growing everything!🌱

Sort:  

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner2.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Little buggers must be so stoned.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for sharing this info with all of us @billmega!
It’s a very valuable resource.
Haven’t seen it yet, but will be checking regularly now that I know this is a thing.

https://entomology.ca.uky.edu/ef209 @billmega, you think your bugger is this? We have the white cabbage moth, and I have found a few little green catapillers on my top buds, got it right away, I can hear them!! Little f8ckers! Hope they didn't get too much...

Excellent! Thanks. You may be 100% right I have seen those. You are definately on the right track. I wish You would have pointed me in the right direction during mid summer. Would have saved me lots of effort and asking around. Ha! Im recently 100% convinced It is a "moth" species between Codling moth and Cane moth but very close to both. And causes the same damage. maybe they bread and made the MJ Moth. New species just to dick me around! New discovery. 🤣 but no joke!
My worst hit patch the mofo's was in a lil over 20% of the stems and buds😡. .Ok so, .theyll get washed out in the bubble hash not too bad. But its a bitch to trim through and inspect. And hinders the plants production.
Other patches didnt get hit at all. Overall Everything turned out much better than expected. We had amazing weather. Way, way better than the norm!.
now I am positive on what im fighting and how to deal with them next year. Oh its frigging game on!
those mj moths are going down.
Thanks again garden goddess. 😚

Found several more green caterpillars @billmega. Started toping yesterday. When I come up for air after this cray cray trim season... I'll put some posts up... this is the Afgoo, second pick... Blue Diesel... so flipping pretty this year, smaller but best crop ever! Now for the slow cure. nom nom nom!

@kimmysomelove42

@kimmysomelove42

Wow, good job! @kimmysomelove42 looks very nummy... Im happy you had excellent results, . I feel ya, and I would love to sit and share some of your best, believe that!...pucker up garden goddess 😙

I’ve had caterpillars in my buds but never grubs. Something I’ve noticed is you can smell the difference in buds when there is a caterpillar larvae in there. They may look exactly the same, but the smell is just not the same

Always something lol. I checked your post. Those are pretty common but I havent had a problem with them this year. Depending on the year they can be bad. Was two years ago those inch worms were dropping from trees everywhere around here. Walk in the bush and you were covered in their silk! All over the face your eyes and mouth. Sucked. Anyways...They turn into geometer moths later and are are very hungry!

My 10% CBD hemp looks like your 2 last photos. Haven’t seen any grubs on my outdoor plants

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice information about these bugs. Thanks. I really consider these things on my garden.

Hey bro. No problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99