Surviving Cancer - Join The Conversation

in #cancer6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-10-23 at 8.58.15 PM.png

Surviving Cancer

Tomorrow, I will be on my sister's show about surviving cancer. I myself am a survivor of colon cancer for 17 years now - or something like that. As it turns out, our family has a love relationship with colon cancer (NOT!!!).

My dad passed away from this stupid cancer and when I was diagnosed, I made all my siblings - all four of them - go and have themselves checked out.

My sister also had a cancer growing and we both were lucky that we found out when we did.

I will be forever grateful to a friend/customer of mine who made me go and have a colonoscopy after I had breast cancer scare that turned out to be nothing (Thank You!!) but made me meet all my deductibles.

Having a cancer scare makes you confront your fears and I had told this friend who happened to be a nurse practitioner about being with my father when he passed away from colon cancer.

She insisted on me going to get that checked - at that time, they just had found the hereditary connection of that cancer and it was the first year the insurance paid for a colonoscopy without having to meet all kinds of criteria.

I don't know if I would have done it if it had cost me another thousand or more. After all, I was living extremely healthy and had no symptoms besides being tired - something I explained away by the fact that I was working 7 days a week and often 12 hour days.

Good thing that everything fell into place for me. 2 weeks after the exam I was in the hospital and now have 1.5 feet less gut. But I am here and kicking.

We will talk about this and how surviving a disease like that shapes your life.

Screen Shot 2018-10-23 at 8.58.27 PM.png
I am not as skinny anymore 😉

Hope you can listen in or watch. It will be at 10 AM Pacific time. 19.00 European time.

There will be a replay

Here is the link

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

Images courtesy of my sister Adelheid Hoernlein

Freewrite.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mariannewest from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got voted by @votefun thanks to mariannewest. To support development, check out Rishi556. Hosted on the @cryptowithincin discord.

Cancer is such a terrible thing, it's brave of your sister to talk about it. One of my cousins had prostate cancer a few years back and while he survived that also prompted us to get tested. No one who got tested had any, but it was still quite a bit of a scare. Amazing how a diagnosis can move people into action, though, especially when it's something that might be hereditary.

My sister just lost her husband to cancer and talking about it is one way for her to grief. And yes, cancer sucks!

I so want to listen
I think that would be 1am later....
If I didn't have to wake up at 4am I would so stay up
I will listen to the replay
You look gorgeous in that pic :)

waking up at 4 sounds like punishment to me :) But here I am, well after midnight, still scheduling posts :)

hahahah
yes, it is punishment and honestly, I don't know how you do it :D

Such a horrible disease. My aunt is right in the middle of chemotherapy at the moment for (I think) ovarian cancer. I've learnt so much about it since she was diagnosed. I didn't realise that the chemo lowers your immune system so much that at times, it's dangerous to even go outside. She has young grandchildren, and at times, cannot see them, especially if they have the slightest runny nose.

She has altered her diet to help her body fight it, and is seeing a naturopath who is assisting her too. She's nearly done with the chemo, then and operation to clean out anything left over.

My heart goes out to anyone who has to go through this.

So sorry to hear about your aunt. I don't know where you live and what is legal in your area but if it is legal, pot is a really good way to deal with all the side effects of chemo.

Thank God you knew about early!
I'll try to catch the show ^_^ is it 5 and hlf hours from now?

Yes. I was very lucky!!

I had no idea you were a cancer survivor. I had a cancer scare this time last year, and have since discovered that both my maternal and paternal have a high genetic risk.

In fact, scheduling my colonoscopy is on my current to do list. I'm so happy everything fell into place for you, and you were able to discover yours early on.

Best of luck with the podcast! If I'm not around this afternoon (it airs at 1pm my time), I will definitely try to give the rebroadcast a listen.

I am glad your scare was just that. Having the genetic link doesn't mean that we get it - just need to be a little more careful.

Plus, colonoscopies are fun! I had my first one last year, even though I'm younger than is supposed to get them because of some things that concerned my primary... luckily I had nothing wrong and got to drink all that laxative! What fun they are :P

My uncle got radioactive seeds planted in him yesterday for his prostate cancer. He's looking forward to glowing.

oh yes!! the prep day!! How could I leave that out lol

Glad that yours turned out with desirable results!!

Hope all works out for your uncle!

I hope so too. All his updates are very positive, but my friend who died of cancer also always sounded positive.

Posted using Partiko Android

when you go through this, you have to stay positive - otherwise, you just give up...

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55