The First Annual Mother-Daughter Fiasco

in #camping6 years ago

20180424_174423.jpg

As my mother embarks into her 70s and I complete my 40s, spending time together rises in priority. We have always had a close relationship, full of unconditional love, open ended dialogue, and laughable mishaps. My mother plunges through life's difficulties with her "grin and bear it" attitude when I tend to cry, and I share with her my emotional intelligence when she forgets self care. We have such radically different temperaments--instead of being her mini me, I am her complement.

20180424_174804.jpg Mom raises her hat on the trail.

I am so happy that we carved out time to ditch our respective households and meet up in the desert for a midweek camping trip. It was more like a retreat, really, with some of our typically ridiculous scrapes and recoveries.

20180425_061237.jpg Our little getaway in the Culp Valley Campground, Anza-Borrego State Park.

Of course, our adventure began with miscommunication about our meeting point. Our hard heads got stuck on opposite ends of San Felipe Road, with me tapping my foot up at its junction with Hwy 79, while she patiently parked down at the 78. Luckily her flip phone received my call, and we joined up for the drive down Montezuma Highway to the poorly marked primitive campground.

20180425_061331.jpg Mom relaxes under the shade monster.

Our arrival was uneventful, considering that I was also towing her empty horsetrailer back after @mattlovell rebuilt its wind-sheared door for her. I navigated the narrow, twisty dirt road to the western side of the campground without incident, trailer rookie as I was.

Mom exclaimed at the quantity of gear Matt and I have assembled, when in actuality, it is a pretty streamlined system with our kitchen inside one rolling bin, and our bedroom in another.

Together, we struggled to pop up the shade structure. It is neither the namebrand "EZ Up", nor could it be described that way, but we managed to wrestle the lock buttons into place and extend the sticky leg bars to standing position. Whew. As I fetched the stakes and hammer....

WOOSH! Our shade structure transformed into a pterodactyl, and wafted skyward, then landed upside down on top of yucca bushes and a spiny acacia tree.

I put my head in my hands, the curse of shade ruination heavy in my conscience.

Mom cheerfully called me out of my collapse, and we managed to rally the shade monster back onto its feet. One accordion eave bent and snapped, the tarp perforated and lightly tattered, yet the structure remained functional to sustain life in the high UV clime.

Mom and I hugged and high-fived, and I cracked open a bottle of chardonnay.

20180424_185813.jpg Sausages and pasta on the ol' white gas stove.

Matt had only just taught me how to pump up the trusty cookstove handed down by my cousins in Montana. So I felt proud to show off to my mother how awesome this twin burner could sizzle up a glamping dinner.

I counted out my 30 pumps, turned the turncock up to light, down to burn, waited for the generator to warm, and the gas ring to transform into the bluest eye.

A pathetic orange flame barely melted the butter.

What was I doing wrong???

I continued to apply persistance to the problem, forcing more pumps even though the resistance felt strangely high from the get go.

Why don't I do something really groundbreaking?!

I read the directions printed on the open lid. "Turn pump handle to the left to open. Pump. Turn pump handle to the right to close. Light."

Oh. Yeah.

20180425_081054.jpg In the morning, mom tried her hand at it, and cooked up some bacon and potatoes breakfast skillet. Mmmm!

Dawn woke us in our little tent, its rosy light streaking the huge sky above Imperial Valley.

20180425_061158.jpg

Full of optimism, we decided to switch the hitches so that her rig would be ready to drive home the next day. I wanted to take her on a little motor tour of the sights and features of beautiful Anza-Borrego.

Of course, I tried to back the trailer into position before putting my tailgate up. Crunch! The plastic top squashed into the metal of the trailer hitch unit. Husband, I've been a bad driver. (Luckily, Matt already wanted to replace that part with a more bicycle-friendly one. Disaster downgraded to opportunity!)

Tailgate repositioned, I trundled back out the way we entered, assuming it would be as effortless to exit onto the wide staging area as it was to get to our site the day before. But the boulders had a different plan for me.

One that was round on the entrance had a protrusion on the exiting direction, and I managed to gouge a big gaping wound out of the sidewall of one of her trailer tires.

I watched the tire gasp and deflate as we switched the hitches to her truck. I wanted the earth to swallow me up so I would not have to face the responsibility of my driver's error.

Fortunately, my mother's plucky attitude had me pulling out Matt's toolkit and compressor to see what we could do to limp the trailer to a repair shop.

At that moment, a father-son anti-fiasco contingent dawned on our scene. They quickly found the Jiffy Ramp lift, spare tire, and lug wrench tucked inside the trailer tack compartment, and changed the tire for us in 10 minutes!

We returned to our camp, breathed heavy sighs and determined to just remain in Culp Valley rather than venturing into more potential chaos motor touring.

We ate some lunch, and walked down the little trail to Pena Springs.

20180424_174412.jpg The trailhead next to our campsite.

20180424_180603.jpg View to the west, towards Los Coyotes Indian Reservation.

Cottonwood trees and Mulefat shrubs mark the spot where Pena Springs bubble up out of the dry canyon. Suddenly, the ground is thick with green grass and covered with blooms (water plantain?)

20180424_180434.jpg

20180424_180502.jpg

I could hear running water, so we pushed through the overgrown trail.

20180424_181521.jpg

There is a spigot piping spring water right out of the ground!

20180424_181223.jpg A place for Bighorn Sheep and many other creatures of the desert to get a critical drink of water!

20180425_164506.jpg We stretched out on the grass in the cool shade and dozed off. Birds filled the air.

20180424_181708.jpg View east, towards the desert basin and the town of Borrego Springs.

Precipitation was extremely low this year, so we missed out on a carpet of flowers. Hardy herbs like Yerba Santa still flourishes, however.

20180424_181950.jpg

Sometimes you have to scrutinize the ground to find beauty underfoot.

20180424_183058~2.jpg

We were slightly ahead of the cactus color show, too. Only bulging buds on the tips taunted us.

20180424_182032.jpg

We finished the evening by taking down the shade monster so we wouldn't have to struggle with it under the searing sun the next day.

Our night in the tent was blissfully silent compared to the flapping awning from the night before...with one exception.

Before we settled in, we heard a BAAAAHHHHH distress call from out of the darkness. Did a Bighorn succumb to a Mountain Lion? It was too dark to tell, but I reassured my mother that at least the predator would be too full to stalk US!

In the morning, we quickly tore down our campsite, and made a pact.

The Mother-Daughter Fiasco will now be our treasured annual retreat!

Thank you so much for joining me on my early mother's day camping trip. It means a lot to me that you came along. May all your fiascoes prove to be hidden exercises in heartwarming!

Love,Cat
@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

aww sounds like you had an amazing time! i really love the sunrise photo. cant wait to see it for myself someday!

Camping out in the desert is pretty much the only time I ever see the dawn. I like to say the sun is a giant campfire in the sky!!!

Its a gorgeous time of day, seeing the sun rise over the mountains at the farm is one thing I miss.

Hooray for bonding in the great outdoors!

Indeed! Far from all the worries of home. We even left the dogs behind. Just Mommy and Me 😊

Hwy 78-79, flying shade, chardonnay and Mom!
How awesome and beautiful your write up and
photographs @creationofcare! ❤
Sharp rocks, sights and sounds, hope the bighorn
is ok! 2 full to want us huh lol that cracked me up!!

Like you, your Mom is a beautiful and wonderful
looking lady! Make as many cherished moments
as you can, looked like a fantastic time❣

Much love to you, @shasta. I left out the part where I stayed up late drinking whisky and wandered to the spring in the dark. Luckily I didn't see any mountain lions then!

My mom has always seemed unbreakable my whole life, but now she is so tiny and thin! She made a funny remark about role reversal as she relaxed and I struggled with pumping the stove...me, trying to adult in front of her. Magical moments for sure. 💖

To answer your question, Nope... It's Yerba Mansa. Culp Valley is one of my favorite spots to camp in late spring. Stays much cooler up on that ridge but the wind can be a real booger...
https://steemit.com/nature/@dawg-boy/wildflowers-of-california-yerba-mansa-anemopsis-californica

Thanks for larnin' me that! Haha now I know where to go next time I find myself with a case of candida. 🤡

I also thought they were plantain, until I saw that incredible flower...

Yes, upon reading your article I realized they are like an echinacea

Quite a powerful plant. I wonder if the ones in my posting were able to clean up the sewage and residential run-off they are thriving in...

That would be wonderful! I've read about how well Borage cleans up metals from the soil. Just don't make a salad out of it

OMG. A father son non fiasco team? So funny. Haha. :)

They were awesome! They were headed for a hike, and asked if we needed a hand. @mattlovell loves to rescue folks stuck in the desert, and I have had the honor of joining him in pulling cars out of the sand. These guys had a similar helping energy, super brisk and cheerful. 💪 Times like that fill me with love for Humanity!

Yay to knights on white horses! Or even just gentlemen in the desert sand! :)

This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!! Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

socal nobear.jpg

This is such a great post, chronicling your adventure with your Mom! It's so inspiring to see! My Mom is not the camping type, but I hope to get some quality time with her cery soon. It is challenging since we live in different states. I love this "Mom and I hugged and high-fived, and I cracked open a bottle of chardonnay." So glad you prevailed and won against "the shade monster." 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48