🌸 Desert.plants.passion / Cacti Flowering for the First Time (1)

in #cactus6 years ago (edited)


image.jpg
Matucana aureiflora


I bought this Matucana under the name Matucana ritteri. For many years I have been waiting for her first flowering and this spring has made me happy with her first hairy buds. And there is lots of buds! And when the first bud opened, I was totally surprised. I was expecting a zigomorphic red flower of M. ritteri, but it was not like that at all. The flower is yellow in color, completely opened. It is not zygomorphyc like most of the flowers of Matucana species. It could only be Matucana aureiflora. If any of you readers know better what's the right ID write me, I'd appreciate it.


image.jpg
Matucana aureiflora



image.jpg
Lobivia KK788


image.jpg
Lobivia KK788


One more surprise is this Lobivia flowering for the first time also. I bought it under the name Lobivia wrightiana KK788. Well, I have L. wrightiana with standard pink flowers, but I bought several more specimens with field numbers just out of curiosity.
And look what happened! Flowers are totally different, not only in color, than in shape also!
What is this?


In a Cactus and Succulent Field Number, for the KK788 stands:
‘’Field number : KK 788
Collector : Karel Kníže
Species : Lobivia wrightiana
Locality : Perú : (Huancavelica,Acobamba,2800m)‘’
That means on the part of the Earth where seeds of this Lobivia is collected really grows L. wrightiana. But looking at the specimen, that has grown from the seeds collected on KK788, it does not correspond to the description of wrightiana.
So what happened? Probably natural hybridization.
Any other suggestions?


image.jpg
Lobivia wrightiana (not flowering for the first time, this is just to see how wrightiana should look like)



image.jpg
Gymnocalycium neuhuberi LF10/ 2014.


This Gymno is just like it should G. neuhuberi be! It is one of my seedlings. 😊 I’m particularly pleased to see flowers of my seedlings for the first time. It is special Gymno just because of the flower color. My plant is still small so the flower is small too, but how the body will grow, the flower will grow bigger also.



image.jpg
Sulcorebutia verticillacantha var. verticillacantha


image.jpg
Sulcorebutia hertusii KK2005


image.jpg
Sulcorebutia polymorpha HS226


I have few Sulcorebutias flowering for the first time this year. S. hertusii, S. polymorpha and S. canigueralii are still small, sharing the same pot. Well I have one big S. canigueralii and was expecting a bit different flower from this small one, but they are the same. Most Sulcorebutias have magenta colored flowers, canigueralii and pasopayana are some of the exceptions.


image.jpg
Sulcorebutia canigueralii


image.jpg
Sulcorebutia pasopayana



For the end here is one to which flower I look forward with excitement! It is one true candy cacti named Pelecyphora aseliformis that I’m growing for many years on it’s own roots! It is very slow growing and sensitive cactus. In a few days I will see it’s flower finally!!


image.jpg
Pelecyphora aseliformis



Thank you for your attention!



Some of my other cacti & other succulents stories:


Echinocereus scheeri
Amazing Mediolobivia
Spring flowers (5)
Spring flowers (4)
Rebutia hybrid


If you are interested in reading about desert plants from my own growing experience fell free to follow and enjoy!


@andrijana

Sort:  

I don't know much about cacti but I suspect that the situation is similar to what we see with the native succulents in my country: species are highly variable, depending on locality

Thank you for your opinion. Yes, many cacti are highly variable in habitat. Probably I should read some articles about Lobivias in Peru to understand this interesting situation.

I am a cactus noob so will not help you will the names or why's. I will just sit here and admire :D
Even though Matucana aureiflora is different than should be it is stunning! Love the colour and the shape.
And then Sulcorebutia canigueralii and Sulcorebutia pasopayana... just wow!

Please show the Pelecyphora aseliformis bloom :) Those cacti look like the are covered in worms :p

I will :) ...if I manage to catch the flower. I have some feeling that it will be opened for very short time. I will fly around it all the time ;)

Congratulations @andrijana! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Beautiful cacti!
From my favorites!
I want a cactus like your Pelecyphora aseliformis !!!
I found on the Internet how it blossoms, I attach photos.
I will wait for a photo of your cactus bloom. It will be interesting to compare!

Pelecyphora aselliformis.jpg

Pelecyphora aselliformis - 2.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93