Why should I want Byteball Bytes?

in #byteball6 years ago (edited)

You might have heard about Official Byteball Airdrop to Steemians by now and if you are little bit skeptic about cryptocurrencies that do massive airdrops to large amount of people, you might ask: "Why would I want to go through this airdrop process by downloading yet another wallet software and is there any value in something that is given away for free?"

First, little bit of information about Byteball. Byteball is not a Bitcoin clone nor Ethereum token. Byteball is very different from most of the cryptocurrencies because it's using DAG instead of blockchain and it doesn't have a Proof of Work as mining, so it needs to come up with different ways how to get the Bytes (native currency of Byteball) to large amount of people. It's not a first airdrop for Byteball either and there are various ongoing distribution methods still going on right now.

So, the main questions now are: "Why would I want yet another cryptocurrency?", "What can I do with it?" and "Should I just sell them to get more Bitcoin?".

Here are some reasons why you should keep your Bytes:

  • Byteball has feature-complete wallet, which means that while there are still improvements that can be made, most of the stuff mentioned in Byteball Whitepaper is already done. Multi-device and multi-signature wallets - checked, user issued tokens for ICOs - checked, privacy with private coins and TOR support - checked, simple human-readable smart-contracts - checked, extendable bot platform - checked.
  • Byteball is undervalued and most people discard it because of its price. It's because Bytes are listed on exchanges as GigaBytes (GByte), which makes the total supply ~20 smaller than Bitcoin and the price much higher than most cryptocurrencies out there. If Byteball Bytes would be listed as MegaBytes (MByte) then total supply would be ~5 times bigger than Bitcoin and the price would be under the dollar per MByte. Combination of feature-complete wallet and high price makes most cryptocurrency newcomers think that it is overvalued and it has nowhere to grow, which is quite opposite.
  • Byteball is just getting started ... with mass adoption. Airdrop to Steemians is a great example of reaching large number of existing cryptocurrency users, but there are many ideas where to move next from here, which means there will be many more distribution methods to come until the distribution fund is finally depleted.
  • You get your own alias for your Byteball address, so other Steemians can send you Bytes without needing to know your long Byteball address, they could just instert steem/username as an address and Bytes will be sent to the address that you attested.
  • The most important reason - you can actually use Byteball Bytes with other people already now. Obviously, you could use the airdropped Bytes to pay fees for other attestations (like Real Name Attestation with Jumio) and acquire more Bytes with rewards, but some of those Bytes will be locked for one year. So, the real use that many of the existing Byte owners do is P2P sports betting. Sports betting with the Byteball platform is like betting with friends you trust using cash (there is no need for an intermediary to hold funds). The difference is that you can bet with anybody and you don't have to trust them to follow through on the bet because the funds are locked with a smart contract. Right at this moment, one of the biggest thing in sports betting is FIFA World Cup and you can see the odds (without installing Byteball wallet) for the next 2 soccer matches on BB Odds. Best part, if you think that these odds are ridiculous, you can become a bet maker too and provide your own odds that other Byteball users can take.

wc-semi-finals.png


Disclaimer: BB Odds website was built by me using existing Byteball betting bot API, which was built by another Byteball community member. Same way, that Betting bot was built using another existing bot, which was built by Byteball developers. More about evolution of sports betting on Byteball can be read from Byteball blog.

Sort:  

hi @tarmo888

Hope you don't mind me contacting you here regarding the airdrop.

You replied to my comment on the original post saying it could go on for months but I'm not able to reply there as there as so many comments the page won't load.

Is there any way to know when the development fund is starting to get low?

I downloaded the wallet to my phone yesterday and 2 different people sent "money" but neither showed up in my transactions so I was going to try again and use my laptop instead.

If I'm going to start again I might as well wait until my reputation is 60 but, obviousy I wouldn't want to miss it.

Is there a way to delete the wallet from my phone do you know as it doesn't appear to be working.

Thank you for your help. 😊

One way how to look up how much of the distribution fund is still left is via CoinMarketCap. The total supply is 1,000,000 GBYTE, but circulating supply is 645,946 GBYTE
https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/byteball/

You can use my tool to calculate how much is the reward for Steem attestation, so reputation 60 will get you $80, which is 0.683293475 GByte at the moment. So, it would take 518,158 Steemians like you to distribute all these funds, but I don't know what is the average reputation, so maybe even more. If the price of GByte raises then it will take even longer.

Make sure that you give those other user the address from Receive tab, not the address that the bot gives because the payment to bot needs to come from your address. When you will try it on laptop, make sure to start with the light wallet (not full), phone is automatically light wallet.

Uninstalling from the phone should make it clean, but I am not sure. Deleting from the laptop is more complicated.

You can find the number of steemiams at each level on the daily reports here by @arcange. It's a graph so you need to estimate, but it gives a good indication.

https://steemit.com/statistics/@arcange/steemit-statistics-20180715-en

arcange reps july17 2018.PNG

I found you from twitter and added you to my list of steemit peeps over there. I have my byteball wallet and funds. Thank you very much!

Nice, this is really interesting graph, seems like most people have low 30s and then 40s.

Yes that is true. He has more graphs on his post with daily info.

You can get to 50 fairly quickly but after that it is much slower. I've been here a year posting daily, I was at 60 in December. Now I am at 63. You increase when people bigger than you upvote your posts for the most part.

Seems so, I got quickly to 37 and then jumped to 47 because very generous upvotes and tips. I have posted punch of comments after that, but no change any more. Now writing my next post about most common Byteball questions. Huge respect to those who write original content.

Thanks for your help @tarmo888. I appreciate it.

I definitely gave them the address from the receive tab. One got back to me and said it had been confirmed his end but it isn't showing up in my transactions.

I don't really understand the numbers. I'm new to all this and struggle a bit with that side of things. I would say that 60 is a relatively high reputation though. There will be a lot more in the 40s I would guess.

With regard when reputation kicks in, since I've already downloaded a wallet and connected via steem connect would my current reputation be locked in.

Or, if I wait until it is 60 and then pay then will it do the calculations on the 60 rep?

If it's already locked in at 59 I might as well try the desktop version now. 😊

That "not received" bytes issue is odd and I cannot explain it, but I can help you out with that if you send me your address.

I have not tried the bot yet because I am new on Steemit with default reputation score, but I looked at the source code and it seems that it fetches the score before asking for the payment, so if it already said "Your steem username is ..." then it already has your current score at 59 too. Not 100% sure, but I seems that you could try to use steemconnect on other device once you have 60 score, not before. Probably the bot will be more stable then also than it is now with high traffic.

This is my address 5CG2VAZM3U2JWCSWS3RKHKOADECXXGXY

It has already said "Your steem username is ..." so won't i just recognise that, even if my reps gone up when if I try another device?

are you going to be posting on Steemit more generally or are you here just for the air drop? There are quite a few betting things going on I think. 😊

That is very odd, because the explorer shows that you have more than enough Bytes. I would not delete the account before sending these to other account because you could use them to pay for the fee once you get access to them. Maybe it will resolve later by itself.

It seems that on your current device, it will not update the reputation score anymore, but on some other device it will if you have not signed any messages yet (I think it asks it after you choose whether you want your username to be public or private).

I created Steemit account back in May because wanted to write about one other cryptocurrency project that I have not yet released. I do not need the airdrop because I have acquired plenty of Bytes since September, but I just want to try it out once I hit at least 30. Because it would be nice if people could sent funds directly to my username, not the long address. But I have no hurry with that.

I think I will keep posting about cryptocurrencies here once I have something more to say.

It is odd as you say @tarmo888. I won't delete the account and will see if it resolves itself. It's till showing no transactions on my phone right now.

If they never come through on my phone is there any other way to access them?

it might take too long to get to 60. it gets harder and harder as you start to overtake your followers. 😁

One thing it might be worth you checking out is @dustsweeper. If posts or comments don't reach 0.02 at payout they are turned into dust and you don't get paid.

Dust Sweeper is an account that automatically upvotes them to an amount so you don't loose your less then 0.02 payouts.

thank you again for all your help. 😊

Thanks for the advice about the dust. There is luckly no dust problems on Byteball, the app can spend from many inputs without extra cost.

You should always backup the seed words from settings, so you could restore that wallet on other device. Not sure if that will make the bot remember you too or not. Maybe you will need to transfer them again to another wallet once you recover them somewhere else (most easily can be done by having multiple OS accounts on same computer).

Once you eventually successfully attest your steem username then you should also do Full backup, which backups all the data in your wallet (no need to do it if you don't have any private tokens or attestations yet).

I just read from the official Byteball Slack that there are many issues right now with bots and transfers, but the Explorer shows that your transfers were all confirmed already before the latest issues.

Good news is that there is new iOS version that should work when the bots get up working again - it is not the only bot down at the moment.

Thank you again about the dust thingy, it is working great.

I am really baffled why more poeple aren't talking about BB. It is imo, the most exciting crypto out there atm. I only wish I had more knowledge about the space to write an actually useful and convicning article about it lol. I'm gonna try..

Yeah, I was also kind of dismissive about it last year and didn't bought much back then.
But I am glad I got in before the FOMO in December, many who bought it in December got burned a lot, but now it feels like a great time to evaluate what will be the next big things and Byteball is just so many endless possibilities. Now I just try everything what can be done and it is crazy cheap to do it compared to Ethereum.

This was my first blog post here and as you can see, it is half shorter than follow-up posts, so it is kind of difficult to convince somebody, much easier to just explain how things works and that knowledge comes quite quickly if when trying to develop something on it and when using the wallet every day.

Hi. @tarmo888 congrats for opening BB Odds. Good luck. But don't forget to add your great comments on crowdin. I'm always waiting your awesome reply :)

Thanks, I am glad that these were helpful, but did you noticed that there is one bot that has not been translated yet on Crowdin and another bot that needs to be translated again because many source strings changed? A lot can be recovered from Crowdin translation memory, but some string got longer.

Maybe if you have time to take look at it then I could add it to bot before re-launch of the bot.

of course. but the current top priority is byteball app korean translation. It needs to take proofreading in many context. After I has finished it, I'll check other resources.

Great write-up of the BB Odds site you created!

Thanks for sharing, upvoted!

I'm still trying to explore the bots/chats inside Byteball but had to stop cause of the maintenance, will check these things out when the wallets are back up and running.

Btw, had troubles getting referral bonuses (they didn't use my link but I sent them the bytes), but it's okay I think. Wish it worked though.

I hope lots of developers get more stuff in the wallet, it would be fun.

What link? There is no link for referral. It is still possible that you will get referral bonuses if they have not received the reward either.

There could be many reasons why the referral bonuses have not arrived:

  • They haven't completed the attestation yet and not received the reward either.
  • They did the attestation, but they didn't have at least 30 reputation.
  • Somebody sent them the Bytes before you. Use explorer to see if they already have enough Bytes. Original blog post with the 0.0006 GByte fee is outdated, current fee was reduced to 49 000 Bytes, but sending a transaction costs them around 500 Bytes, so they would need 50 000 Bytes to be able to do the attestation. Also, if you are sending 50 000 Bytes to somebody, you actually need around 50 400 - 51 000 Bytes in total to send them.
  • They were trying to attest same Steem user again.
  • They were trying to attest different user on same device and account. They can attest many Steem users, but not on same account, device need to have multiple accounts then too.
  • They gave you bot address, not their own address. The payment to bot needs to come from them, not from you.
  • Network is slow and haven't caught up with the rewards yet.

The bot replied referral links. It said people had 3 ways to get referral bonuses. 1 by sending bytes, 2 by using the link that opens the bot (wallet installed), 3 by using the link to download the wallet.

I was right beside them when they were doing the process so I'm sure everything was done right (all those bullets you mentioned).

Some users were also reporting the referrals were not working.

I see, you are right, it seems there are indeed more referral options added to the bot, one of them tracking the user with the cookie.

I looked into the code and there could be one more thing: bot first looks from the previous incoming funds to see if there are any attested users who sent the funds for the fee. If there are then it makes them as referral, if there isn't then it uses the cookie that was set when user visited the site via the referring link.

Were you the only one who sent them the fee and did you sent it from the address that you attested already before? Or you sent them Bytes from somewhere else?

They created the wallets by downloading directly from the site or app store, and I was the only one who sent them bytes. Would there be a difference if I send them bytes first then they talk to the attestation bot vs they were already doing the attestation through the bot (eg: alreadyt on payment request) then I send them bytes?

Also, should receipt of bytes be confirmed before they start talking to the attestation bot?

I think that's where we could've got issues with, cause if bot already scans at the very beginning of the chat then if they don't have bytes yet or bytes are still unconfirmed then it would look like no one referred them.

Cause receiving bytes would actually be Step 2. :D I really think this is where we've gone wrong.

These are really good questions, but it should not matter how far they were with the attestation and it seems to me, referral is picked after they have made the successfully attested, at the same time when they got the reward.

I was thinking about those unconfirmed bytes too, but I don't understand that part of the code.

What link? There is no link for referral.

There is, the download wallet ref link.

You are right, my mistake, referrals used to be without links, but it seems it has additional referral method that saves the cookie in the browser.

No problem - do you think using them is mandatory to receive the reward?

Could you possibly send me some bytes to get verified? I have an addresse but no bytes.

My address is
WR422KVD6KZXOJ7T2RWFRB6MA2DUBAZJ

I can send you some once the network issues will be solved, but there is currently no point to do it right now because that would make the DAG database even more complicated mess than it is right now.

Thanks. I didn't know there were problems going on.

No fixtures currently available says the odd website. What does that mean?

The betting bot is down at the moment, so the website can't access the bets at the moment :(

Hi, hope you don't mind me contacting you here. I would love to have your discord name so as to chat you better regarding my issue with byteball btc exchange issue.

Hope to hear from you soon.

@stevenmosoes

I am not using Discord, but there is official Byteball Slack and #helpdesk channel.

Thank you for the quick response.

Bittrex GBYTE wallet is out of maintenance and it's possible to deposit/withdraw again.

Noted. Thank you for the info.

@tarmo888, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97