A Lovely Mess

in #bycolemancontest6 years ago (edited)

Not so long ago, I have involved myself in a mess, as my mother funnily calls it. But it was not as comic as it seemed. By a twist of fate, my happy, contented life was put on the spotlight. You know, that stuff when your parents tactically interrogate you as if you have done something heinous which you badly want to keep it a secret and that you'll just feel guilty of being guilty.

rain-791893_960_720.jpg
Photo Credit

True, secrets would not be forever kept. I promised to be open about it but I was just looking for the proper timing. But I guess 'proper timing' went out as a bad idea. Well, thanks to my oh-so-concerned friend who decided to meddle in my personal life and talked to my parents about it. It came out that I was put on a bad light.

I know I was being a little defensive. The "mess" I have been in had and was never bad. Unless you would say that being human and simply being happy is bad.

What was this "mess?", you ask.

To simply put: I fell in love with a beautiful stranger.

Is it really debatable whether or not a person is right for you? Turned out, I was being debated since the person I chose to fall in love is not right for me. I heard them, alright. Yet, I saw no wrong in him. They told me that it was because I was being blinded by my so-called love.

With all the opinions they were putting then, everything seemed complicated.

Like everyone else, I simply want to be happy -- that's all.

But wait! Maybe it was me who was too selfish that all I ever think of was myself and that I never realize that we are living in a society where other people's feelings and views also matter. And still maybe, was I just being the great pretender pretending to know everything about life, pretending to be so good, so perfect? Or maybe I never thought of anything but just my happiness.

I am glad though, that my parents were there -- supported me through their guidance and constant reminders. I was made aware of the consequences of my actions. I was made aware of several paths and I was allowed to chose which direction I wanted to lead my life.

I was made aware of the thorns and thistles so I did not have to fall and stumble along the way.

woman-3047651_960_720.jpg
Photo Credit

I wisely chose to heed their advice. I trust the values my parents have implanted in me. I know them. By heart. It is only for my own good.

"If the love you have for each other is real," they say, "it would come as no trouble at the proper time."

That happened about ten years ago.

Heart-melting indeed since that true love they say which would come at the proper time, well it did! Yey!

Right now, I am happy I wisely heed their advice. and I am happy I chose to fight for that "mess". I am glad that the values were etched inside me by my parents who have been so patient with me. I am happy that they have been there to support me, and when they understood my reasons, they willingly accepted the lovely mess I had been in.

Turned out, the "mess" I had been in is responsible for this beautiful life I am living in today.

boardwalk-1783843_960_720.jpg
Photo Credit

This is my entry for the #bycolemancontest writing contest. You can read about this contest HERE.

You can check my other posts_ (1).jpg

You can check my recent posts:
Monomad Thursday: Day-off for these Gamecocks
5-Minute Freewrite: Cinnamon Made Me Laugh
Steemit Poetry Contest #16: Imagination at Work
My Steemit Journey: The Day of Small Beginnings

27661506_1763309150359627_952583358_n.jpg

Brother Terry a.k.a. @surpassinggoogle has been a supportive and kind person. So I give my support to him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

You can do the same by voting him HERE Type in "steemgigs" at the first search box. Or you can give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, by typing in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

I also support his project @teardrops SMT.

Sort:  

I feel you sis..

But I guess 'proper timing' went out as a bad idea.

Hmmm... nakakaintriga naman yan sis. Hehe. Pero, Alam ko naman pinagpipray mo yan kay Jah. Stay put lang.

You got a 1.77% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @atongis!

Thank you for collaborating with me to promote this post as explained at https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/10-ways-to-fund-a-steem-growth-project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61378.33
ETH 2960.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49