bwphotocontest - Call Me Peace Wolf

in #bwphotocontest6 years ago (edited)

Is it crazy to be happy when your life is just so damn sad?

She saw my camera and came over to talk to me. I cringed a little inside because I knew what would come next. Begging for change, a cigarette, anything...

My name is Peace Wolf and I'm a Double-Gypsy.

Now I figured for sure she was crazy... but she started to ask about my camera. Her son was a photographer she said. Had been a photographer. He was dead now. His work had been featured in art shows and in print.

She didn't ask for anything, she only wanted to talk. She was lucid, calm and clean, with perhaps just a hint of madness in her eyes. She told me about her life as a homeless person, and about the death of her son from an overdose.

This contest is about Happiness, I know

DSC_2322.jpg

We talked for a long while and I thought I'd better give her some money, but just then she said: "Don't you want to take my picture?" She walked a pace or two away, turned, and struck the pose you see here. I took a couple of shots and she waved, turned around and left. "I'll see you later" she called out over her shoulder.

Just this moment I've noticed some odd looking stuff at the top of the photo. We are both standing under the Wishing Tree in the square. People write little things they wish for on bits of paper and hang them from the tree... do you see them? I don't know what she wished for if anything. She was defiant, and happy.

Happiness is: Looking life full in the face, then spitting right in its eye!

This is my third entry for the #bwphotocontest by @daveks. The theme for this week is Happiness, and the guest judge is @countrygirl. Please click for a full-screen view. Thanks for taking a look!

Nikon D750, 50mm, 1/200 second, f/1.6, ISO 10,000
Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

Shot that really make one's think... Super

You never know who you'll meet. She seemed to have a message for you. You are catching some great moments for this happiness contest:)

Thank you! I don't really know if this one fits... supposed to go by the photo I'm sure. Is it a happy photo? Is it a happy story??? It's kind of a happy memory for me though. July 9th, 2016.

It is a story with meaning.

Thank you, it feels that way to me :)

Love this article. The image is brilliant.

Beautiful post! Everyone with his happiness (or unhappiness).

It was a real pleasure to read it!

Loved reading this. Makes ya think

Thanks very much Chelsea!

I think that is the happiest of photos! What can be better than surviving with a smile on your face!

I'm glad you think so Melinda, thanks very much!

Reading what you have written about this very interesting lady makes me want to know more of her story Keith. Some casual meetings leave quite an impact don't they? A great capture my friend and perfect for this 'happiness' theme. (U & R )

Very much appreciated Trudee! Speaking to her did make quite an impact on me, it's true.

That’s awesome. Every day people can teach us so much if we will just pause and listen. 🌹

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54357.85
ETH 2282.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31