Black & White Photocontest ~ Colour Splash Theme

in #bwphotocontest6 years ago (edited)

Here is my first entry for the black & white photo contest hosted by @daveks. The theme for this week is Colour Splash and the guest judge is @kunschj. Please see this post for full details on the contest.

Nikon D750, 1/1250s f/6.0 ISO2000 360mm
j0jrk5kama.jpg

I was walking in the woods when I saw these red leaves still clinging to a branch long after all the other leaves had fallen. The leaves reminded me of hearts. Two hearts in the autumn of their lives, still going strong. Please click for a full-screen view.


The original full colour version is not very different. I'll post it below.

gk73koeza6.jpg

Thanks very much for taking a look.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks very much @pixresteemer!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you very much @esteemapp!

Immediately upon seeing this image before reading your post, my thoughts were “hearts”!

Stunningly beautiful....I love red!

Thank you @thistle-rock! I always refer to this shot as "the hearts". This was the first photo I ever sold at an art show, and the lady who bought it sent me an email saying something to the effect of "I purchased this because of something that happened in my life today." I loved that comment because I think it meant she met someone or became engaged or something else along those lines. Thanks so much for your comment! :-)

I am a firm believer that the art will find the right owner..... it was meant to be.... and she picked a wonderful image, it is indeed beautiful!

So wonderful you sold your first photo in an art show, that speaks volumes of your work!

Thank you. That was the first, and there have been several others but I have to say I've probably lost money on art shows. Photography is not an easy thing to sell these days.

From my experience and where I live, no art form is easy to sell unless you spend an awful lot of time marketing 🙁

The love of a mother and child. Feel free to use my title for your work of art :)

Thank you very much, that does seem to fit. :)

This is such a beautiful shot, Keith! I could look upon this, forever and a day!! You have an amazing eye for composition and artistic qualities.

Good luck in the contest!

!tip

Thanks so much, Denise! Honestly, the original looks better though, right? I think so anyway. Thank you for the tip :)

Honestly, the original looks better. Yes. :)))

🎁 Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Doesn’t matter if in black and white or in color they look wonderfully delicate and special. Great job my friend as usual!!

Most definitely professional stock quality.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you, I'm so glad you like it!

Howdy sir Keith! Very cool and interesting photo! Everyone in Canada complains about how long the winters are up there, are they as long where you are? I'm guessing not.

Thank you very much. Winter always seems to last too long. The temperature here in Victoria has stayed between 40 and 50, but it feels colder because it is damp. We just had a week of sunshine but now we're heading back into the rain again for days to come. That gets tiresome, so while there are still flowers blooming, our version of winter does indeed last too long. By the way, for Canada, that's as good as it gets. Other places have snow and it's way colder. But it's not like when I was a kid growing up in Toronto. Fifty years ago we had real winter in Toronto, but these days it's nothing like that. My kids live in Toronto and they have to drive way north to find some decent snow. Some years are different but overall I have seen the climate change big-time in my lifetime.

howdy tonight sir Keith! I'm trying to keep my voting strength above 85% so I had to stop voting tonight but I'll get back to you tomorrow. I'm just starting the auto voting thing and having to adjust things.
Anyway, that weather sounds depressing.

The rain is depressing. Ask someone from Seattle, it's 90 miles away as the crow flies. People go nuts from all the rain. Don't worry about voting, it doesn't matter. The conversation is more important anyway. There are only a handful of people now with a vote that means anything. After those few people, there is still esteem and the ocd bot. That's the only place to make any money at this point.

it's so true about the votes, the bots are the only way to make anything, and esteem. ocd is amazing. I can handle alot of weather but I don't like weeks on end of clouds and rain. But I guess you get used to anything.

Photographic poetry! I’d hang this on my wall. :D

Thank you very much. This is, in fact, my best selling image - the original, not the colour-splash version - so it is on a few walls, and it did even better as a greeting card. :-)

Congratulations! The color-splash version would make a wonderful Valentine’s Day image for a card.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67212.95
ETH 2616.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68