B&W Photo Contest ~ Metal ~ Midway After Dark

in #bwphotocontest6 years ago

Here's my second entry for the #bwphotcontest by @daveks. The current theme is Metal and the guest judge is @raybrockman. Please see this post to learn about the contest.

I took this photo just after closing at a small fair in Oak Bay. Most of the lights were off and the few people remaining were all heading for the exits.

Nikon D750, 1/160s f/1.4 ISO800 50mm
snfvickz6h.jpg

I was trying out a fast prime lens, 50mm f/1.4. I remember thinking the large metallic object in the background looked like some kind of monster, and I was hoping to capture that kind of vibe. In reality, that structure is supposed to represent a Zipper, which is the name of the ride.

Please click for a full-screen view, thanks for taking a look!



Just for fun, here's the original colour version of the shot.

khhzjv9dm0.jpg

Have a great weekend everyone!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

There's something about fair rides that the camera loves, especially when it's taken from a great vantage point. I usually take them in color because they have interesting lighting and shadows but I have to admit that I love how black and white came out and now you have me wanting to play with the fair shots that I have. Excellent photography, as usual.

I have to admit that I came here and was going to comment on your picture, and clicked on @pixelfan post and just got back here when I remembered your awesome photo. I'm not sure if it is because it's the weekend or that steem is that slow, but it confuses me to see a shot like this and no comments.

Upped and steemed

@tip

Thanks, Denise! I do like night shots, not necessarily black and white but that often works too. I don't know what to think about Steemit at this point. I know if the price went up, this place would be rockin! It feels like everyone has left here. I have to say Ned "phoning in sick" for his big Thursday Livestream felt pretty lame.

I don't know where everyone is now, have they all gone to Weku? I made an introduction post on Whaleshares two days ago but have yet to follow up on it much. I'm still spending my time here for now. I know many people crosspost and there are apps for that! but for me, it feels like I want to be one place or the other. I don't have enough energy to spread myself any thinner than that. I don't know what's going to happen now.

I'm dedicated to here for now. Been to Weku, but love it here! So let's get this party shaking!!!!

great photo sir! but I think I'd pass on riding that thing.

Thank you! I don't ride any of these things!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74