b&w photography - jellyfish - entry 1 for #bwphotocontest with theme "Macro"

I've taken photographs on and off throughout my life, but it wasn't until 2010 or so that I became more interested in photography as a hobby. I had a small Canon PowerShot that I took with me on my walks on the beach (at the San Francisco coast). That's when I learned to look for details and interesting objects. One day I saw a little glistering thing on the beach sand and when I bend down I saw what looked like a water drop. Luckily my camera had a macro setting so I took a picture and noticed that it was actually a tiny jellyfish shaped like a basket ball. The photo clearly shows the kernels of sand on the beach which gives a sense of scale. I don't think it was longer than a quarter inch.
120107_IMG_0476.jpg

This photo is my first entry for theme Macro in the B&W Photo Contest, #bwphotocontest, by @daveks with guest judge @mweich.

Camera: Canon PowerShot SX230 HS

Unfortunately, this camera was far from dust proof and the sandy conditions of the beach pretty soon interfered with its functioning. But the good thing was that my interest in photography had been rekindled sufficiently that it let me to buy a series of better cameras over time.


Overview of current photography contests


« Referral links »
Buy my art on Etsy.
View my steemit posts on busy.org.
Join me in the SteemEngine community.
Receive Universal Basic Income from mannabase.


divider-web-sites.png

spacerbanner kagalakan.comspacerbanner insharedoneness.comspacer

quote-formulate-desire.png

spacerbuy prints on etsyspacer


#epvm #epvm-blog #epvm-photography
Photography, art work and text by @edward.maesen
Requests to print any of my photographs are welcome.

Sort:  

How crystal! This is amazing!

Thanks! Yes indeed it looks like a tiny crystal :)

Your B&w photography - jellyfish Photography are really beautiful,,, thanks for sharing with your hobby,I really impressed that your post thanks for sharing with us

Interesting and cool photo! It's probably a good thing you didn't step on it! I've never actually seen jellyfish in person, but they look fascinating.

I don't know if these sting, but I doubt that stepping on them causes any trouble, they are very tiny. Actually they are hard to avoid because they can not be seen easily when you walk around on the beach. Most of the year they are not present - I've only seen them during a few weeks in January and February when it's too cold to walk barefoot anyway :)

This photo is just awesome, weldone friend

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-22T20:54:36
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1396.21/1600.00
Total Photos: 104
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 18
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94