Where have 3 years gone? Third Anniversary

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

image.png

It's my third anniversary of signing up for Steem. When I originally signed up I didn't have huge expectations. Learn about crypto and earn a bit of Steem. I didn't expect to get emotionally involved.

In the early days: I landed on Steem in the middle of the trending page with barely any crypto knowledge beyond having heard of Bitcoin, I had a lot to learn. It was August of 2016 and Steem was ranked 6th on the CoinMarketCap.

During my early days of Steem we talked a lot about the social experiment of Steem. We don't talk about that much anymore, but everyone recognized we had more questions than answers about how it all would work.

Love is a verb, which means you end up bonded and loving those things that you put sweat and tears into.

It took me a long time to build my account at the peak price of Steem it was once worth $94.000 (briefly and on paper)

I'm not going to say watching it slide back down to where it sits today wasn't hard.

I don't know anymore whether Steem is an investment or a hobby, but my posts still earn more here than they do on other sites.

Here are some gains I got from Steem:

Hours of exposure to Cryptocurrencies and now they work.
Which lead to many crypto investments and knowledge on how to buy, sell and use crypto, I do not take this lightly, it is a difficult task for those who first consider it.
The realization I will never write a novel.
Many great contacts who will also remain in cryptocurrency
My illusions of Freedom have been adjusted to be more realistic
A place to think through and talk about ideas.

I don't have a lot of expectations at this time of what Steem will and will not be in the future.

If you are new check your expectations! There are many who have big dreams, but at some point there has to also be some evidence. That is no reason to avoid Steem, just keep reasonable expectations.

Steem is more about Networking than Content. No one is going to shower you will rewards for showing up. You nearly have to pry Steem out of the system. Make friends, find a nitch, support all things Steem. Seek a peer circle rather than Dolphin and Whale votes as the numbers do not support seeking big votes.

Make friends and grow with them. In the long run, it pays off. There are plenty of paths to success find someone you consider successful and emulate them.

I think there is a decent chance I will be making a post next year too.

I just keep on posting...

@whatsup

Edited to add that I forgot to mention I met @zekepickleman! Whoot! :)
(I do enjoy Zeke!)

Sort:  

Sure was a lot going on in those 3 years

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, well it wouldn't be the same if I didn't leave a comment on your 3 year.

Been a wild ride my friend, and I'm looking forward to another 3 + more.

I'll save the sobby stuff for the discord room lol

One of my first contacts on Steem! I just can't imagine it without you.

@whatsup,
I think STEEM will rank at top 10 again! Hope the current updates might help us to get that boost again!
$trdo

Cheers~

Congratulations @theguruasia, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @whatsup!
@whatsup got 6 TRDO & @theguruasia got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Token distribution bot developed by @ali-h

And me! You met me!!

You would have never met me if it were not for the blockchain. Then where would you be! Better or worse?

The blockchain makes our lives better. Maybe it will end up making our portfolio better? Better than it is now and that ms good for me for the time being.

Congrats to one of the folks who I connected with before legions of others.

You are the blockchain for me.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Holy crap, you are right! Edited to reflect that truth!

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @whatsup, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Do you already know our BEER Crowdfunding

3 years already huh? Happy steem anniversary sis! Good to have you around

Congratulations fellow August 2016 account. We've probably written a few novels worth of text but yeah, that masterpiece certainly isn't happening over here.

All the cool kids are using #steemiversary btw - sadly, no tokens for that one though :D

haha dang it! I missed being a cool kid again! Some things stay the same. :)

happy 3 whatsup

No matter what happens it continues to exist so the concept of becoming stronger when not dying is encouraging to consider! I still cannot find something else better to do which I enjoy the same so I am also here to stay!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, even when I am a little grumpy about it... I keep showing up. :)

wow 3 years of committing to steem lol you really are one of the OGs and I'm sure you've seen all sorts of dramas here. All the best for year 4 and beyond

Wooot! Congratulations on your anniversary. To me you have been 'the voice of reason' of Steemit since first I joined, though these past many months you have really grown into your place here. A worthy leader and one I hold in high esteem lol....On to year 4!!!

On to four! And thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59471.57
ETH 2618.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40