Do You Want a 50/50 Circle Jerk or a 25/75 Circle Jerk..?

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

The debate is... do you want a 50/50 curation/author split on reward or leave it as it is as a 25/75 rewards split.

image.png

I personally think it would be pretty interesting to see 50/50 split, but I don't think it changes anything meaningful it just changes the hoops that stakeholders have to jump through to give themselves back the highest value of their inflation.

I am for the change because maybe it will stop some stakeholder complaining but at the end of the day Steem is a very tiny community with less than 2500 accounts that hold more 5000 Steem. The debate is internal. Those who aren't here... Don't care about our Math and we don't have enough here to make enough difference to me anyway. People didn't NOT come here because of our Curation Rewards. They didn't come here, because they haven't heard about us and will likely never find us while we fight over things internally. Those that did come here left because they didn't like our tools or felt ignored by the community.

Let's make the change or not make the change, but then can we start focusing on actually attracting some people to Steem? Can we market and improve our user experience?

Tron, EOS, ETH they have apps, but they do not have a centralized place to talk to those users. We have a community, our games are more fun because we know each other. I don't want to play Steem Monsters because I've been dying for a digital card game. It's fun because we know each other and can compete. Same is true of Drugwars. There is no way I would go to Tron to play either of those games. I play because they are a part of my community.

So, go tell the guys which percentage you prefer so maybe we can move past looking at our internal struggles and look outside of Steem for new users and investors.

Use this link to read more and vote

https://busy.org/@theycallmedan/should-we-raise-curation-rewards-from-2575-to-5050

I only call it a circle jerk because this only matters to people who are already here... I'm not interested in Marketing to our 2500 stakeholders. I'm interested in Marketing to 2 billion people who use social media.

@whatsup

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

@whatsup,
I don't think it's a good time to go for a curation % debate! It's better everyone focus on Mira and SMT news and updates! Coz that's the place that we really boost up! And people will heard more about us as well!

Cheers~

Maybe it's time to forget tinkering and go full bhoona. It had been suggested before so it's not my idea but how about some kind of decaying vote strength if repeated. Eh, you vote for an author two posts running, your vote is ten percent less effective. If you leave a gap it resets by +10 % kind of thing. This would be to stop repeated circle jerking.

Something like that.

People say there would be ways round it but hey there are ways round everything.

Tinkering won't fix things. Change will fix things

I have friends that like to read and invest, not many of them but they all could easily buy 20 -50k of steem. None are interested in blogging. Guess i can tell them to sell votes and read stuff for free. Edit: 50/50 circle for me. P.S sent you SBD not interested in helping bot curators, They didn't help me find this post lol

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

People didn't NOT come here because of our Curation Rewards.

This is true, but people didn't come here to post something and receive 0 votes... So, you can look at this from different angles... If I am a newbee, I even don't know how rewards functioning, but I first thing that I can see on the platform is upvotes and value that I see under my post (number of votes, value, etc)
Just my 2c...
Cheers...

I wish to be circle jerked at 25/75 please.

@demotruk has an interesting proposition regarding reward splits:
a custom reward split slider

Posted using Partiko Android

I couldn't care less about the fundamentals of rewards like you said it only matters to the people who are here. Its a case of thinking that steem/steemit will remain like this forever which if it does I think most of us would leave.

Focusing on rewards is spending time and energy focusing on the minutia. I'd rather focus on improving the user experience, acquisition and retention with less focus on the money to begin with and not make that the be all and end-all of why everyone is here.

The only focus is to get more users not just on steemit but any dapp that uses it. STEEM is ot steemit and this debate has gotten old and it was pointless from the begining. Just my 2 steem on the subject

Hear hear

Posted using Partiko iOS

but I don't think it changes anything meaningful it just changes

Upvote for this :)

Steem(it) mindset = economy of redistribution = everyone become equal = equally poor

This cycle has repeated countless times.

Until those few realize that they need to attract real money and let the best authors thrive, there is nothing that can help.
(Note: the best authors are not even registered to Steemit...)

The greatest blunt, RT joined Steemit, and Steemit is not capable to make a buzz out of it?!

I mean, censor-free platform for independent media, recognized by one of the most influential .... with XXX... viewers in YYY countries.

Is it so difficult to make a clear message for media (for example) and a decent landing page?

Well I only half agree. We don't need great authors. Social Media is about networking and friends.

There are NO successful models of Authors Sites.

It is about connecting people with people.

We agree on every other point.

Hmm, Patreon, Youtube, Twitch, these are all super successful "author sites". It's obviously not what they're called, but at the end of the day, that's what they are.

It's a bit different from social media ie Facebook or Twitter, but of these two types, Steem is more the former. Best example is, we make posts on Steem, but hang out on discord. A Status update or tweet style post is generally referred to as a shit post here. It's all about the UI/UX. I think Steem COULD do this, but we haven't really yet :/ I think it would work best with an SMT to be honest though, so that the faucet sites aren't full of "tweets" They aren't really designed for that.

We don't need Authors. We need networkers and creators. :)

Is Angela Lansbury still kicking? Murder Shteem Wrote anyone ?

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol even if JK Rowling exclusively published her next Harry Potter book or EL James published 50 shades on steemit it wouldn’t do tits to move the needle! We’re a well kept secret for a reason! Poor marketing and poor user experience! I am hoping the steem alliance will make this the first point of order

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’ve expressed similar sentiments since i arrived. Well kept secret is a very very kind way to put it. All this talk of tens of thousands of daily users yet I feel like an elite steemian if I earn a dollar, and for good reason. That’s quite a minority, even rarer a wild homesteader
that organically became a minnow in just a few months. That’s seriously one in a million, and his model cannot be followed as it’s a niche market. However this does show potential to develop communities. We shall see where the alliance takes the torch...

Posted using Partiko iOS

what's with that inage anyway, I don't get it. They're not 50 I think. haha

Posted using Partiko Android

It is becoming boring this subject of 50%/50%...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05