SeanyTravels (Japan) #25 Evening Stroll around Akihabara 秋葉原 and Curry Rice Dinner at Ikebukuro!

in #busy6 years ago

After we spent an afternoon in Asakusa on the first day of our trip, we headed to Akihabara, the amazing electric city famous for gadgets, toys, maids, machines, and anything wacky.

20151229_171822.jpg

Akihabara is really an iconic sight. I remember the first time I visited this place in 2011. I watch alot of anime then and this was really Heaven for me. There's just so much to do! This is also one of the reasons I chose to stay in Akihabara at the end of last year, 2017. You can pretty much find anything you need, shop, eat all in one location.

20151229_171545.jpg

I can't remember a time I did not visit Akihabara when I was around Tokyo, and one of the places I would pass by, and do a cursory check, would be whether the Gundam Cafe and AKB48 cafe are still there. As of 2017 December, it definitely still was!

20151229_172321.jpg

There is an area at the back of Don Quixote and BIC Camera, where you would be able to find a small premium grocery store, and there are trees with decorations around it. I am not sure if it just so happened that the decorations were similar at this time of the year. But I do have one almost replica photo of this for 2017. i'll dig it out in another post!

20151229_172848.jpg

I think this was a miniature model of the showa era town setting I happened to see in Don Quixote. I'm not sure if Matcha soft serve is historically accurate HAHA.

20151229_180002.jpg

I think most people that pass by this area would see this Skewer Yakitori stall. It smells good, and attracts a fair amount of queue. We were curious as well and a little peckish, so we bought some to try.

My personal review is that it doesn't taste that good. I think the meat is too fatty for me, I prefer leaner meat that doesn't make me chew until my gums hurt. Looks good, doesn't taste that good. I believe the shop is still there though!

20151229_191356.jpg

It was underwhelming, so we had to find something good for dinner to make up for it. We went back 'home' to Ikebukuro, where we went to a Gogo Curry for dinner!

20151229_205903.jpg

Can you even see the rice?

20151229_204217.jpg

If there's one thing that can't go wrong, its Curry Rice.

!steemitworldmap 35.700850 lat 139.771772 long Akihabara 2015 d3scr

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 35.700850 lat 139.771772 long Akihabara 2015 d3scr)

Previous Post in this Series: SeanyTravels (Japan) #24 Tenkaippin Ramen Lunch and Visit to Asakusa Kaminarimon 浅草雷門 !

image.png

Support this Awesome Project by @TeamSingapore!
#TeamSingapore Curation Trail - Promoting Quality #Singapore Content and Supporting the TeamSingapore Community

#Team.png



Thanks for Subscribing!.png


For my introduction post please check here!
Where else have I travelled to?
Check Seanytan's SteemitWorldMap!

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=seanytan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=seanytravels-japan-25-evening-stroll-around-akihabara-and-curry-rice-dinner-at-ikebukuro


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by seanytan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

We have that takoyaki miniature set. Still in packaging. Lazy to do.

HAHA as in the 'make it yourself' mini takoyaki?

Congratulations @seanytan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Haaa, I don't like curry rice! I should try one when I visit Japan though. I hope my taste bud changes its mind

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64