How do you harvest your ideas?

in #busy6 years ago

I've been exceptionally busy this weekend and thanks to the (dis)organisation of the M1 motorway (freeway), spent an unproductive and therefore, wasted 2 hours parked, along with thousands of others, on a 70MPH stretch.

Let me explain. One little classic Triumph broke down and the new innovation of 'Smart' motorways stopped the whole thing - completely shut it down. Yeah, real 'smart'.

Back to the subject in question. How do you harvest your ideas?

image.png
Image from Google

I woke up a couple of times on Friday night / Saturday morning after a really vivid and comprehensive dream. I wrote them both down but I think I'll only be able to use one of the ideas.

Of course, part of the first dream included the compulsory running through molasses when trying to escape someone intent on doing harm. I remember running down the stairs, trying to get away, and turned around to run back up the stairs because the bad guy almost caught me.

As always, trying to grasp the dream and then explain it is nigh-on impossible, the facts and strategic points of the dream flit through your mind and resist every attempt to catch hold and study them. Like plaiting fog.

image.png
Image from Google

Then, if you don't write it down immediately, a few hours after you wake up and go about your day, you've forgotten it - ALL of it!

It's odd that the simple act of writing down a few points from the dream enables you to remember it later.

Funny thing, the mind.

So, how do you harvest your ideas?

Dream On! :)

Sort:  

I get inspiration from music, people or even specific situations. I can walk down the street and see something that will inspire me.
It's a shame that sometimes ideas arise at the most inopportune moment. I do not have time to write them down and afterwards they are forgotten.

I had that problem a few too many times, hence the notebook situation ;)

I do write down stuff, and I kept a dream diary for a few years, but I don't worry about remembering ideas. If you forget them, were they really important? Ideas are cheap, there will be others.

Certain obsessions, things that I'd rather not publish, stay in my mind until I forget whether I wrote anything down.

In general, notes in text files on the computer are easier to find back than notes on paper. But I still have to do something with OneNote on my pc in order to import the articles I wrote in OneNote on my phone on the plane back from Lissabon.

Making notes has never been so easy... but I find it's also easy to lose them too. I must get more organised :)

About your intro: here in NL, the government has a theory that slowing down traffic on the highway to half the speed limit will help avoid traffic jams when it's busy. But there's always someone who slows down late and hits the brakes. Then everyone comes to a stop, and it's hard to get moving in sync. So I often end up in artificially created traffic jams, that magically dissolve after twenty minutes.

I understand the theory of slowing down traffic in a 'rolling roadbloack' in order to repair potholes (that strategy isn't employed already) but one friend last week posted that his break-down situation- a flat tyre - caused a complete stop until his car was recovered, and the same thing yesterday. How on earth can it be productive to halt all that traffic for one vehicle? Close off a lane, or maybe two, by all means, but the whole road? Not productive.

As for the theory of slowing everything down to avoid traffic jams - I have an alternate theory - speed everything up to get them off the road faster ;)

I write mine down. Sometimes I jot them into notes on the computer and other times I record them, if I happen to be driving.

I also find that if I verbalise the idea, I retain it easier and longer. In other words, I talk my passenger's ears off about it if I'm driving ;)

It just comes during shower and naturally becomes forgotten after stepping out lol

Ideas pop into my head so I keep a notebook with me.
My dreams are great guidance to me in many ways.

Same here! I keep notebooks littered all over the house and car!

I usually get my ideas when i isten to some music that give me good or bad vibes and inspiration for stories, i post some here but most on a notebook, i must translate them ^^

Yes, translate them and share them on the blockchain :)

Yes I follow your every post and I know that your all fiction by you and actually I not seen your some writing post but I seen your this post and I appreciate your every story ..
Thanks a lot for sharing your valuable post.
Keep it up my dear friend.@michelle.gent

Upvote and resteemit done..
I will wait for your next post..

@michelle.gent
The information you gave me loved me and your thoughts are very good. Do you remember such a post everyday?

Three-by-five cards, the kind with lines. They also keep track of my To Do items. If they ever find me without 3X5 cards in my pocket, it's a pretty safe bet I'm dead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69