What happens when you feel the desire to leave, enter your car and just start driving.

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

37335621_10217008069099788_6115882293899821056_o.jpg

I don't know if you guys knew already, but a couple of month ago I went back home to Germany, to live close to where I grew up and stay there. It has been 5 years that I haven't been living there. First I went living in Mexico, then I travelled for one year and last I lived in France for 8 month.

So I thought maybe finally it's time to go home and built a regular life again. You know with my friends around, family, job, perspective, plans etc... The last couple of years I had trouble to feel home anywhere anymore, home was where I am, no fix place, no fix people...so this was kind of a big step for me.

The first month I did pretty well, even though it was a bit difficult because of some family issues. I started to do sports again, got fit, met with my friends, got a great job, even built my own travel business with Airbnb and Tours... I went discovering the region where I grew up, went hiking, swimming in the lakes, even kite surfing.

It surprised myself but it seemed like finally I was being well, feeling home, happy, satisfied great...!!

Wrong Once a nomad always a nomad!! It all started Sunday.. the first snow in Munich fell down and it was fuckn cold outside!! The time change didn't help.. making that everyday it gets dark already at 17:00 now... So it happened again.. yesterday morning I woke up with this famous feeling, I knew I just had to leave.... I don't have to work until Saturday, I have a car, so I just jumped in and started driving..

More than a primitive function, walking has evolved, and has become a simple way to combine entertainment and physical exertion. To explore while having fun: it is from this common objective that the contemporaries of the walk and the hike are born like the trekking, the challenge hike, the orienteering ...

An evolution from which new benefits are born, thanks to its slow rhythm and its environment, the march transmits new information to our brain. It gives birth to a real sensory influx, which brings us out of this hibernation.

The smell of an undergrowth, the sound of waves, the beauty of an architectural landscape ... The walk puts all our senses on the alert, reminds us of the extent of our capabilities, commits us to a new ecology of self . It is always the call of the distant who motivates us, this curiosity that exists in us, the discovery of places other than those of everyday life.

No sooner is an expedition over than the next one puts us in suspense and stimulates in us the desire to leave.

Meet new people, understand a new culture, discover new landscapes, test new culinary flavors, get out of your comfort zone, recharge your batteries, go on an adventure with strangers, learn to relax, see the beauty of nature, understand humanity, observe the changes of the planet, live the present moment.

The thirst for new horizons, adventures and encounters makes curiosity a necessity and this is why our association has become a very popular tool in the organization of these events. It also feeds our exchanges during our meetings, the most funny moments are reviewed and commented, the analyzed attitudes, the evaluated places and the errors highlighted.

So I drove and drove with great music on, feeling the excitement, the freedom of being on the road again .. at first I went without plan, but soon enough I decided to drive to Paris, to practice my french, have some pain au chocolates and crepe and just escape for one day. Also I still had to pick up some stuff there so it all fit together.

It was a nine hours drive, but it was only 11am so I figured I can do it, or if not make some stops in between, maybe stay in Strasbourg for one night etc. But I wanted to try no matter what.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-11-22 um 19.44.58.png

The first few hours went by fast. I had a great time just enjoying the feeling, listening to good music.

46508890_277881226265199_3525050474971529216_n.jpg

After 4 hours I finally saw the first sign showing me my final destination. I took a break, put some gasoline and drank a coffee to stay awake and get on the road again.

46514669_753491251659752_6787810015890636800_n.jpg

I thought that at some point I would get tired, but I didn't. Crossing the border to France took some time because of border control. Later I had some traffic, but still all good. I thought once I am in France I can not speed anymore, but honestly French people speed way more than Germans haha so I went further fast.

Is was until it got dark that it became more heavy to drive. Before I could still enjoy the landscape around me but from then on everything was just super dark and I started chasing the other cars instead.

At my last stop I was already close to Paris, I had two hours more to go and was super excited to be back, and also driving in Paris!!! I had never been there by car before. - Of course I adapted the music to the city ;)

46502032_2212205888995321_3544458113627193344_n.jpg

And then it was time! - I finally arrived :) After a spontaneous 10 hours trip I was back in Paris. Incredible!

Of course I had to take a walk through the city and take some pics. First I went to the Boulangerie to get some Pain au Chocolate.

46471932_415441242325211_7784164195733340160_n.jpg

Then I just went walking along the grands avenues, enjoying the architecture, little different fancy shops and street art.

46648850_352003472230399_6845306055887421440_n.jpg

46520682_2121711094811338_8081632724416200704_n.jpg

46514059_215329186025519_6008476264317321216_n.jpg

46516502_305003466893515_5356891148117868544_n.jpg

46512268_516450225539292_5369268466475859968_n.jpg

46518744_717006168679114_7186584041263464448_n.jpg

46677579_360680761158955_3590383528908423168_n.jpg

46793865_336421297169280_5030336125948919808_n.jpg

My walk ended at Place de la Republique. A place where I have been many times at my time living here.

46501374_561426684318308_452333255396425728_n.jpg

On my way back I grabbed a Crepe to celebrate my day and met up with a friend to have some wine. So in the end it was totally worth it, even though tomorrow I have to drive all the way back hahaa. But now I will be ok for the next 5 weeks I think.

46512342_352329445324544_4608594427953283072_n.jpg

And then I already meet up with my bestie @martibis @world-travel-pro @luzcypher @nomadicsoul @teamsteem @daveonarrival @travellits @connecteconomy and a few others in Thailand to celebrate Steemit New years! If you wanna join, come find us at the discord group to organize everything: https://discord.gg/v6qJm2

Cheers,
Liz

Click the map to discover my other adventures!

Sort:  

Hättest ja wenigstens deine Räder vorher ausladen können :-) ?

hahaha ja, hätte ich :D Aber ich dachte, vllt brauch ich sie ja noch :D

Wow, so much details really, the map, the road route, the setting and the beauty of the sunlight, I could've said you're a born photographer look at the food and the beauty behind the creativity, wow and travel with the best kind of detailing content I've seen on steemit, well done, this is brilliantly written my friend Liz

Thanks my friend. Nice that you like it ;)

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Das ist ja ein voll Bock machender manisch-phantastisch-mitreißender Roadtripbericht!
Ich fühle mir Dir, aber ich bin für noch radikalere Lösungen für kalt-und-grau-und-früh-dunkel: wieso Räder, wenn man Flügel buchen kann. Und wieso zurückfahren? :D

Flügel hab ich ja schon gebucht, aber für nach Weihnachten. Auserdem musste ich ja heute schon wieder zurück sein.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @jpphotography and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Wow thanks a lot!! I appreciate it :) Keep up the good work! - Many travellers are living from these kind of upvotes so its super important that they get some support to keep up discovering the world for us ;) Thanks

We travelers have to work together. We really hope to make that dream come true, providing a decent income to our community.

That would be awesome! I like your travelcontent by the way, have seen some more since I joined steemitworldmap ;)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lizanomadsoul
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=what-happens-when-you-feel-the-desire-to-leave-enter-your-car-and-just-start-driving


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Yeah, Kitesurfing! :D Where did you do it? Do you have your own Equipement? I think it's pretty expensive to rent some in Germany....

I love your driving video!

There are controls at the german-french border?! Wow...

What a great article (and I'm only half through it - but commenting, for not forgetting what I want so say)!
I also love Paris and reading your article it really isn't too far away - perhaps I'll do the same in some weeks, because I'd really like to be in Paris again ;)

I'm curious if that's really ok now for the next 5 weeks :D

Hey, I went kitesurfing in the south of france. But I saw that a lot of people are doing it here at the lakes too at Walchensee for example. No, I didnt get my own equipment yet. Yes they were making the street small and looking at everybody driving through, just as at the Austrian border. They didnt stop us, but the one road thing caused some traffic jam. Let me know if you go to paris and need some recommendations on where to go ;) I lived there for some while. Well, next week im heading to paris again and then I will just be looking forward to the Thailand trip ;)

Hi Liz,
another great report and many personal insights that were so far not so clear to me. You live a life many people dream of, but don't dare to.
A très bientôt.

Hey, thanks for stopping by :) When is the next munich meetup? I need sth to look forward to here haha :) Yeah the cold and the dark is killing me. So what can I do? :D

Next Munich meetup is on Wednesday December 12 . Looking forward to see you again.
Keep being in motion to fight the cold and use a strong flashlight to enlighten the dark! ;)

I will I will :) Thanks :)

Toll! Yes my first weeks back in Germany were quite pleasant, too. But only the first weeks 😄 Once a nomad always a nomad... true!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, thats why you left to Thailand?? Looking forward to our meetup, eather on new years at the beach or later on in Chiang Mai, I definitly will come visit there too! - Would be fun if we manage to be all together at some island on new years though.

Oh New Years is not gonna be in Chiang Mai? I’m not uptodate 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol, no, most of us want to party at the beach! Are you still in?

Not sure, keep me posted on the details and I’ll decide later.
Oh I guess I should check the discord, right... 😉

Hi @lizanomadsoul - ich schicke dir thanksgiving Grüße damit ich 2 Steem Gewinne. Kannst du auch, indem du 5 Freunden eine Nachricht schreibst ;-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44