APRIL LETTERING CHALLENGE: "DIY CUTE DECOR"

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

###Dear friends,


I enjoyed doing the challenge by @korinkrafting which is the lettering challenge. So far, I did it for 4 days because I wasn't comfortable with my letterings according to what I've seen from friend @junebride. She is very pro in calligraphy that I am challenged to, but I'm pretty sure her works are better than mine and she's my inspiration for it. This challenge had just started in March this year but this participation is only for April. I really enjoy doing the challenge because it's like I'm going back to school and you know, during my school days, I invariably opted to write the lessons on board to my notebook than to print the copies from the book because I love writing more than depending it to the Xerox machine. For many years after school, I mostly use the laptop. I am very thankful to Korin for initiating this idea because it makes me feel like I become independent from the computer keyboard. So, below are my letter writings.

###Outlining and Materials

Before anything else, I used color pens for lettering, but it looked so messy because it has no ballpoint, so I switched black sign pens. I don't have calligraphy pens so pardon me for the result. To look happy, I added a few doodles and clip arts. I used highlighters to color the drawings. I also used a color pencil.

To write the letters, I used a ruler so my writings have the same sizes and are straight. After the letter writing, I erased the pencil traces to avoid messes.

###31 Words Challenge in April:
April Fool's day
Easter
hunt
bunny
decorate
Pastel
basket
Welcoming New Life
birth
hatch
circle of life
longer days
sunnier
April showers bring May flowers
springtime
bouquet of spring
tulip
lily
butterfly
hyacinth
daisies
alyssum
grassy
rejuvenating
memories
spring clean
flower viewing
breeze
picnic
beauty in bloom
sun-kissed days

###My Rules and Styles


Breeze- The shades have many sides depending on the letters. It can be an octagon, heptagon, and hexagon. It is dimensional. Above the shades are the lines horizontally and vertically.

Flower viewing- The strokes at the end of the letters look rooty. The letters are written miserably with a shadow.

Sun-kissed days- In this style, the strokes are falling apart. Letter "a" should be written in a typewriter font. Letter point of the letter "i" above is replaced by a heart.

Grassy- This is a curly typewriter font. Small letter "y" has a long stroke with side and shading in its right side.


Hyacinth- The strokes are always connected with each other. They don't separate and they fly in a slanting position. The letters are balanced as we see from the left and right sides. To look elegant, strokes shouldn't be shaded. This font is very feminine.


Bunny- The letters are separated. In this typewriter font, the letters are all shaded.


Bouquet of Spring- This is a handwritten kind of font in which the letters are separated without dimension, shadings, curling, and stroking too much.


Memories- The font is close to each other and sometimes separated. It is dimensional with strokes. The sides are not shaded so it appears relaxing and transparent.


Picnic- This is a tree-collection kind of font that is very simple to write. It is simple but stunning.


April Fool's Day- The font is curly with longer strokes that are connected with each other. It has no shades. It is shadowy.


April Shows May Bring Flower- It has short strokes that are separated from each other. Letters have no shadings and sides. It is written in a slanting position a little.

Spring Clean- It has dimension without shadings outside. Strokes are inside the shapes that are written freely.


Tulip- It is dimensional and cylindrical. Lines inside the box are written diagonally to add some characters.


Decorate- In this type of font, stroke is always connected unless we write the letter small "r." Small r's stroke should not connect to the next letter. The letters should have shadings to create sides on every left side and every horizontal line is all shaded. A letter with a shape should be in an oblong size such as letter "d" and "o."


Sunnier- The strokes are short and pointed. Letters are dimensional. Shades are applied inside the boxes. To create sides, lines are written trimmed so its dimensions look imaginary.


Hunt- The letters are pointed, strokes are closed to one another, and each side is shaded.


Lily- The curly strokes are separated. The letters are shaded except its strokes.


Welcoming New Life- strokes are separated from each other but long and curly at the end. The double curly stroke should be done when writing a small letter "g." Every part of the letter is shaded but strokes are shaded thinly.


Longer Days- Letters with shape should be formed like a pentagon to create five sides and can be quadrilateral excluding the strokes. Strokes create their own sides. Every end of the stroke is pointed. Every box of the letter is shaded. Short strokes should be shaded minimally.


Easter- The font is curly, strokes are sometimes separated from one another, the left side is shaded. Horizontal line and stroke are not shaded.


**Butterfly- **Strokes are sometimes separated. The distance between the letters is not very near. It has no shadings and dimensions.

My Finished Product

After I wrote these stylings, I had two choices in my head whether I'd put it in my DIY frame to decor my room or make it a scrapbook cover. Because I used light colors, of course, I should use dark colored paper in which I'd paste the letters and black was what I imagined to be cute looking.


In this idea, I recycled my shoe cover box to make my own frame. It is perfect for my room.


We can also make it as our scrapbook cover. How about you, what are your DIY decoration ideas? I'm open to any suggestions.


DISCLAIMER: The content is original. Illustrations also owned by the author unless credited.

Join STEEMIT ACHIEVERS in Discord: https://discord.gg/ZtGXRcb

Please support the Smart Media Token @teardrop project by Sir @surpassinggoogle and follow https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens on Facebook.

Facebook. Please also support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
Sort:  

sobrang idol ko dn si sis @junebride pagdting sa calligraphy pero hindi ka ngpatalo sis!! ang ganda din nung sayooo ang galing mooo 😍❤

We recommended this post here, here and here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts and to be recommended, reply with STOP.

Hindi ako mahilig sa mga ganyan napilitan lang ako magganyan nong high school 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71