Why I Use Busy.org and Steemit.com

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Busy.org loads rocket-fast compared to steemit.com these days. Steemit is often displaying a status of "Establishing secure connection" which delays my page loading, creating a lag and delay in my ability to do things on the steem blockchain. It feels like my time is being wasted, like I was on a slow computer waiting for what I want to appear.

busy-steemit.jpg

Account Info on Busy.org

Busy also shows you your aquatic lifeform level, like me being a 'Dolphin', as well as your current vote power level, vote value at 100%, and when you joined, right on your main blog page (or anyone else's page for that matter):

I use busy.org for my posting and commenting. I use steemit.com for looking for new posts to curate, because it has a nice compact view.

Compacted View of Posts on Steemit.com

I don't like the big type view of large pictures on busy.org, as it takes up more space on the screen and makes it slower for me to peruse a page. I like to be able to scan the page for data when I look for posts listed. Seeing 1-2 posts on a page is too limiting for me to look at. I wish busy.org added an option for compact displays of posts like on steemit.com. Steemit.com does have an option to switch between a compacted list view, and the expanded larger view.

Post Views on Steemit.com

Steemit has (or had) views though, but only views from steemit.com. Today I noticed they were not on posts any longer. So that's one thing gone from steemit that gave it a plus ;)

Vote Value Slider on Busy.org

Busy.org has a kick-ass slider, allowing you to see how much value you are adding to a post's rewards. Is 10% what I want to give? Is 30%? How much USD does that translate into? Busy.org give you all that information in real time per cost or comment you want to upvote. It's great!

Downvote Slider Missing on Busy.org

But on busy.org the flag feature has no slider for power, meaning you flag at 100% (I made that mistake of clicking the downvote thumb and saw a -100% vote taken... youch). Steemit.com has the power slider for flags too, so you can do a 1% flag for spam instead of 100%.

Activity Page on Busy.org

One thing I don't use much on busy.org is the Activity section, but it has loads of data you can filter on. One thing I see that is missing (which I went there to specifically look at one day) is the "Mentions". This would be a nice feature to add as well, in addition the power bar for downvotes and the compacted view option.


Which front-end to the steem blockchain do you use? One or both? For what reasons?


Thank you for your time and attention. I appreciate the knowledge reaching more people. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page; or just click on the upvote button if I am in the top 50.

Sort:  

Busy has more features but since I am constantly surfing my feed or tags I use steemit more, because of the "compact view" you mentioned.

Besides, in steemit I had the steemit more info chrome extension that adds good extra and useful information (although for me it doesn't load the extension every time)

I do use busy for saving the drafts of my posts, but the lack of a compact view is a killer for me, I need the compact view in the feeds @busy.org

I was just asking questions in another post a few moments ago about Busy. Is there somewhere I can read something comprehensive about them? I am assuming they are something set up by a person/group not officially tied to the creation of Steem and I am wary of turning my passwords over if that is the case.

There is the site steemprojects.com which is officially supported in the top-right drop down menu under "Apps Built on Steem" on steemit.com. It has a link on the Steem interfaces with Busy listed. That has a page about the project: https://busy.org/@busy.org/busy-your-next-gen-social-network-platform-based-on-steem-blockchain. Busy.org is supported by @ned, the CEO of Steemit.

Thank you, will check that site out shortly.

Busy uses steemconnect which is, as far as I'm aware, a secure login method.

I have been wary of Steemconnect as well, not knowing who they are to trust them with my passwords. I am cautious by nature, and the recent hack on Binance that appears to have been from trusting passwords to bots raised my caution levels through the roof. I am still new to so much of this (blockchain/higher security awareness). I will look into Steemconnect, thank you.

I think that you can feel relatively safe with Steemconnect. Have a look at steemconnect.com... it's a project between Steemit Inc and Busy. Its also open source and you can review the code on GitHub. Just make sure you are always going to "steemconnect" when giving your key.

And after knowing all about these uses it has many more ..some of i want to list are

  • You get better search option.
  • Scrolling is better and smooth.
  • wallet shows true value in $'s
  • you get notifications about comments, mentions , follows,transfers.
  • interface is cool afterall
    But i see one disadvantage that it cant transfer money ...

Yeah busy.org has many useful features which steemit is lacking! Most of the time I am using steemit but when I needed other features like using slider I switch to busy.org. :)

i use FB near about 7 years.....busy.org as like looking FB interface ...steemit loading time annoying me all the time i login in steemit ...thanks...i just like busy.org

sir @krnel, I am a beginner at steemit. I don't know much about it. And the busy is totally unknown for me. sir thank you for these information. I must try busy. Than i can compare. You are great sir. I am a fan of your blog sir.

Sure earning from busy...

Busy.org is popular for steemians.There are many advantages using it.

steemit is very good project,,,,

Wow I never knew of busy.org.. Thanks for the info

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75