What is Your Writing Process?

in #busy5 years ago

Something that has been at the top of my mind lately are my writing habits. Writing has been a habit of mine that I have consistently come back to over the past several years.

My first start at writing outside of assignments for school was when I was about 14 years old. At this time in my life, I became a fanatic for podcasts and for both physical and audio books.

Naturally, I took a lot of notes from all the various pieces of content that I was consuming. Over time, I found myself extending my notes and writing beyond what was on the page or coming through my headphones.

As time went on, I slowly began to realize that I actually enjoyed writing. Coming from a D- student, this was quite the surprise as I hated writing assignments in school.


Originally Posted on My Blog. Click Here to Read This Post on My Website!

Foo


It turns out that when I write about things that I actually have some sort of passion and curiosity for, I enjoy the slow grind and the consistent process of it.

To write well means to show up daily and consistently. It means consistently sitting down with nothing but your own thoughts.

Today I was listening to the Joe Rogan podcast episode with Neal Brennan. At about the 2hr mark, they began to talk about writing comedy.

For those who don’t know, stand-up comedy is as much about writing as it is about performing the comedy itself. In fact, from Joe’s description, it’s more so about the writing and less about the performing itself.

The time you take to patiently and consistently write is what prepares you to then go on stage and see if what you’ve written holds up in front of a live audience.

Writing means something different to everyone.

To me, writing is both a release and an adventure. It is an adventure into the depths of my mind and my subconscious. Sometimes I write about a topic and find myself riffing in a way that I never even knew possible.

I somehow dig up certain thoughts that I had no idea even existed in my mind. Simultaneously, I gain a deep clarity into what I actually think about a particular subject.

Re-reading my own writing is sometimes like reading other peoples’ writing. I look back at the page and wonder how I even made those thoughts appear.

My Writing Process

I’ve found that the only way for me to write well is to write consistently. I have to show up every day and just force myself to sit down and write.

If I don’t make it a daily habit to sit down and write, then I’ll go weeks without writing anything of great substance.

Some days are better than others but I always tend to get something down on the page each day.

The best days are often when I least expect it. They are the days when I start out staring at a blank page and then all of the sudden fall into some dark rabbit hole of my mind and shine some light on some ideas that were hanging out in there.

My specific process is simple:

I sit down with a cup of green tea or coffee (depending on the time of day). I open Evernote on my laptop and start a new note for the day. Then I just start writing. Sometimes I have a subject already picked out and other times I have nothing to start with.

I also keep a note filled with bulleted ideas and subjects that have piqued my curiosity in the past. If I get really stuck with no substantial subject, then I’ll read through the hundreds of ideas I’ve stored over the years but have never written about in depth.

What is Your Writing Process?

Since joining Steem, I have noticed that there are a lot of great writers here and I figured it would be interesting to see what kind of process you all have when it comes to pushing out a great blog post.

Posted From My Personal Blog. Click Here to Read This Post on My Website, Khaleelkazi.com

Sort:  

My writing process is quite funny.. The past few months have been a struggle for me to retain my inspiration, but I'll try to discipline myself and stay consistent from now on.

I don't plan a topic or subject often, and if I do, it's not on the day I have to write about it. Usually, I pick a pen, stare at blank spaces for long minutes.. Then I pen down a word, and at that point, I can't control the current of words coming in. I mostly have to coin a topic after writing down everything, lol..

You have receive an upvote. Thanks for playing moonSTEEM

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi, @khaleelkazi!

You just got a 13.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I am very novice writer. I have had lots of little tryouts and ideas but never to the extent I am trying now on Steem. I enjoy the process and (I never get tired of repeating myself in this) the community makes it even more enjoyable. It’s easier to get noticed here because it’s like a micro cosmos on its own, and the support and engagement motivates. Lots of people call writing a personal therapy session, but not many of them admit that they need the validation from readers to conclude the therapy session.

My writing process can simply be summed up with draft-refine-refine-refine mantra. I haven’t really figured out the best tool to use yet, but it will come. I do tend to write down ideas and a few billet points as they come for future. I do not have set time nor place to get my creative juices flowing. I suppose I do write when I get a free moment.

Posted using Partiko iOS

When writing, two important thing must be present which are your passion for writing and the inspiration you get towards what you are writing at, when this two thing are present, your writing becomes easy

Well, to start with I have ADD so most of what I do looks and feels very disorganized and disconnected to others. I have office 365 - this is an important point that I'll get back to.
The first computer that I ever actually bought was my laptop that I used in college. By that time I was married, and my husband is an IT guy. He installed some version or other of Office for me which I happily used until my computer broke about 6 months ago. Up until then, I stockpiled physical composition notebooks or journals. The itch in my brain to constantly give way to distraction seems soothed by the tactile nature of writing by hand. To keep notes of new ideas as they popped in my head throughout the day, I had a memo app on my phone. The problem was that there was a disconnect between my memo app, and the notes I made in my journals, or on random pieces of paper. I lost a lot of writing, and writing ideas to my disorganization.
When I was forced to buy a new computer a few months back, I opted for Office 365. It's a really long story. Now, I've grown comfortable with the ease of access 365 gives me. As long as I'm logged in, I can access my sticky notes, one note, and random writings from my phone or computer. Because of this, whenever an idea pops into my head, I can either make a note of it and continue with my day, or sit to write.
My writing method basically boils down to distractions. If I go days without writing, the itch gets too unbearable, so writing is my outlet. It allows me to manage having ADD.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60030.46
ETH 2413.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43