Sort:  

There are not many compared to the thousands of French words.

Excuse me, but:

Anglo / Saxon is part of the germanic languages to begin with; Most English words share a common origin with German words. Also I would say that half of the words most people identify as 'French' are originally Latin ....

Anyways ... I agree, I like how they integrated some German words, especially in the states, especially words that Jewish immigrants brought with them. ( Spiel for example )

In spite English originates from Germanic language so many words look like French words and only a few like German. Learning English you always can relay on French vocabulary.

In Germanic.
spite French ( Originally Latin )
English Germanic / Roman Latin
originates Latin
from Germanic
language French ( Originally Latin )
so Germanic ( literally German)
many Germanic
words Germanic
look Germanic
and Germanic

... I think I have proven my point.
French language only made it into the British kitchen really :P

It really triggers me, when people see 'french origins' to a word, when really it is a common origin in Latin ( Italian ) language they recognize.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86