Headway - Counter Weight Brewing Co. - Beer Review

in #busy6 years ago

20180703-DSC_0859.jpg

Headway - Counter Weight Brewing Co.

Beer Review

Headway is a 6.5% American IPA brewed by Counter Weight Brewing Co. in Hamden, Connecticut. Counter Weight is a relatively new beer-maker that has quickly made a name for itself in the North East market. They make a variety of beers from German Pilsners and Oatmeal Stouts to bright and hoppy IPAs. Headway is a classic American IPA brewed with four different varieties of American hops.

333333.png

Check out Headway Reviews on Untappd: (Rated 4.02/5)
https://untappd.com/b/counterweight-brewing-co-headway-ipa/1985884

See what else Counter Weight Brewing Co. has to offer:
https://www.counterweightbrewing.com/

333333.png

More Beers by Counter Weight Brewing Co

Reviewed by @jeffjagoe

Counterpunch

Velocirapture

Double Inundation

333333.png

20180703-DSC_0857.jpg

The Can

The Headway is sold in a full pint can, but it can also be found on tap at many bars around the state of Connecticut. It features a white and black label with a large hop nugget centered between two strands of wheat. It's a simple, yet nice looking can design.

333333.png

20180703-DSC_0861.jpg

The Beer

I poured the Headway into a glass and noticed it's hazy, light orange color. It was extra foamy with a nice bubble head sitting on top. Headway is absolutely crushable for a IPA at 6.5%, and luckily it gets distributed to many stores and restaurants across the state. Overall, it's a delicious beer with a varietal hop profile. I look forward to trying more from Counter Weight Brewing Co. in the future.

333333.png

Happy #BeerSaturday!

What are you drinking?

Follow @detlev and learn more about the #BeerSaturday Challenge on STEEM

333333.png

Thanks For Reading!

alt text
Sign Up to Menē for $5 towards 24K Gold Jewelry
Join Airbnb and Save $40 on your first trip
Get Paid to Read Your E-Mails with Earn.com
Earn STEEM Dollars & more by completing online tasks
Convert your online activity into Gift Cards, Crypto or Paypal with GaB
Join the SWIFT Universal Basic Income Experiment
Get Paid to Get Fit with the SweatCoin App
Use Bitcoin for Amazon Purchases and Save $$$
Sign Up to Binance - A Leading Crypto Exchange

Sort:  

Hey Jeff, I have been experimenting, once a week, with the craft beers, using the info in these #beersaturday posts. The main issue is the cost. Do you find this #beersaturday challenge to be a significant way to subsidize your craft beer drinking hobby? Let's say for someone who want to session 2-3 cans of a craft beer like this one TWICE per week. Just wondering...

All I can say is beer is definitely expensive to both your wallet and your internal organs when overdone... lol

I try to keep it to a few different varietal beers each week for review purposes. And I like to think of the #beersaturday rewards as a rebate for the beer I drank.

Yeah. I am interested in beer as I in premium, loose leaf Chinese tea. I have been working with and exploring premium tea with my friend (and transcription/captioning client) at Mei Leaf Teahouse for over two years. Interestingly, there are so many parallels between tea and craft beer tasting, and so I just transfer my knowledge and skills to the beer. I usually buy 1-2 bottles of $2-$4 brew every three days when I go to the market. I also focus on pairing, specifically with cheese, but am open to other pairing. So in other words, I make a "high end" meal type of experience out of it, which is also a reward for the hard work I do on the computer. I was hoping that you would say that the #beersaturday project has a signicant offsetting effect on the cost of the beer, as that is my main issue right now. I just can't drink any more of the $1.00 beers. I need something more gourmet, for the finr palate. I'm also interested in the health effects of probiotics in bottle fermented beers. My favorite regular drinker right now is Hoegaarden. I love that one with some 2-year, aged grass fed cheddar. Any suggestions on other beers similar to Hoagaarden which you think I might want to explore? Finally, here is one of the Mei Leaf videos (which I have captioned) to give you a sense of the depth we go into in the tea realm (this one is directly related to beer, as it explored infusion tea in alcohol :

Enjoy, and thanks for your ongoing beer reviews/info.

I've never really tried a Hoagaarden before. But I agree, I would like to know more about the health effects of the 'live' beers and whether or not the bacteria can be beneficial if drank in small amounts. I've started to drink Kombucha lately and I really enjoy it.

Gotta love the fine cheeses ! Cheers @transcript-junky

I like the can art and I love the hoppy glass!! Really sweet.. Your review makes me want to try one of these bad boys out..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54045.75
ETH 2247.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30