Tomorrow's an island.

in #busy6 years ago

The sun's rays sliced down the front of my face like a butcher knife carving open a coconut. My once pure white sheets, kicked lazily to the edge of the bed, were now salt stained and sweat soaked. Dingy.

I'd told my fiance just a few short month's ago that life was going to be good.


Source: Pixabay.com

Don't worry. I got this.

Now one blue eye stared despairingly behind auburn locks, a single beaded drop of sweat narrowly avoiding the red lines that criss crossed around the sclera.

The bed was on fire.

I guess it had been about a month since the electricity got turned off. I'd asked my mom for a loan but she had shrieked like a banshee. How could you let this happen?!?

As if I'd wanted to lose my cushy job.

No worries. It's under control.

I didn't know at first if the ringing in my ears was from stress, or something worse, but I swung my legs over the bed, narrowly avoiding our frustrated chihuahua, to reach for the phone. I'd lied to you too, huh Snoopy?

Kill me now. he said throatily, tongue hanging out towards the floor.

It was the headhunter.

My job application had been denied once again. No new interviews this week.

No new interviews ever. I'd never find another job making easy money like I had before. I would never again sit in a comfortable chair with a team behind me, doing all the work.

What had gone wrong? What had I done?

I placed the phone down gently on the receiver and smiled at Priscilla.

Any prospects this week? she said softly, licking dry lips.

Several actually. I replied.

Don't worry. I got this.

Sort:  

I don't think he has heard about makesteem8again.

Seriously though, excellent short. I could feel the heat of the sun, the despair hanging in the air like mold. (I would have used cotton, but cotton isn't nasty enough for the scene you created)

I appreciate you saying that. I don't think this guy has any Steem.

No steem? Poor guy... :( Maybe a "whale" will save him one day lol

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

How do you come with these ideas? you just sit down and start writing and something happens? I really wonder how some people can be this creative lol:) a good short story as always @jeezzle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47